Showing 1-24 of 85 items found in Arts & Culture
Dating back to 1855, the chapel is Kendall County's oldest church building, adorned with stained glass windows and a restored 1899 pipe organ. The adjacent hall houses local artifacts, including photographs and clothing.
Dating back to 1855, and built from hand-hewn oak and walnut beams cut from woods along the nearby Fox River, this structure holds the unique distinction of being Kendall County’s oldest church building. With it’s “New England-style” charm, 1899 pipe organ, and original stained glass windows, the Chapel on the Green is one of the most architecturally and historically significant structures in the county. Nestled in the heart of the city’s north side, the Chapel on the Green is located one block west of Route 47 (Bridge Street) at the northeast corner of Church and Center Streets, adjacent to the historic Town Square Park.
Victorian Italianate structure opened in 1964 that towers proudly over the Fox River and the City of Yorkville. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Olde Courthouse Gallery graces the main hall with shows featuring the work of artists from Kendall County and beyond. Laws of Nature exhibit focuses on the natural resources of the county. Tours available.
Nestled among fragrant pines and sumptuous flower gardens stands the Chapel in the Pines, a charming Victorian-style country church.
The mission of the Midwest Museum of Natural History is to encourage an appreciation of the world's diverse natural environment and human culture through exhibits and interactive learning experiences for children and adults. Offering a kid's play area with hands-on learning fun, a gift shop, national traveling exhibits, and world-renowned celebrities Ruud Kleinpaste, Jack Hanna and Jeff Corwin.
The Joiner History Room is a cooperative effort of the DeKalb County Board, the County Judiciary, the County Clerk’s Office, the County Facilities Management Office, Sycamore Library and DeKalb County Citizens concerned with safeguarding their historical documents. The Joiner History Room is an archives that has many items of museum quality. Our historical materials date back to the hand written minutes of the first session of the County Commissioners in 1837. As there has never been a fire to destroy any of the county valuable historical files, they have been meticulously preserved to meet the needs of today’s researchers. The collection includes Civil War papers, newspaper files, old photographs and numerous boxes of manuscript materials.
The Sycamore State Theater opened as the Fargo theater on November 28, 1925. The 900 seat, single screen Fargo theater was built at a cost of $115,000 by Henry Fargo of Geneva. The theater opened to live stage performances, silent movies, and a large Geneva Pipe organ. The first sound system was added in December 1928 at a cost of $20,000. In June of 1939 the Fargo theater was one of the first buildings to have air conditioning in DeKalb County. The Fargo became the State Theater August 6, 1940. The State Theater had a long run as a movie theater until November 1972 when lack of attendance the theater closed. It operated as a church for the next 17 years. For 9 months in 1989 the State Theater was bought with the vision of holding live country music shows once again the theater was closed due to lack of attendance. The State was made a three-screen theater in 1990 by splitting the large theater in half and making the old stage a third screen. The State Theater was home to the first Sycamore Film Festival in September 2011.
A variety of classes for children and adults, including private event painting sessions for birthday parties, girls night out, corporate events, team building, bachelorette parties and baby showers.
Art Attack offers a variety of classes, hosts private events, and has an artist gallery for viewing. Art Attack is a place for empowering self-expression and freedom through art.
Blue Moon Bikes owner Rod Griffis has been an antique bicycle collector for more than a decade. He actively collects antique bikes, and Schwinn Sting-rays are his specialty. Rod's collection is world renowned for its completeness and authenticity. His extensive collection features Schwinn Sting-Rays from 1963 through the 1980's.
The Sycamore History Museum strives to collect, preserve, interpret, and exhibit significant materials relating to Sycamore and the surrounding area, to provide related educational services for the public knowledge of Sycamore.
Air Classics is an aviation museum located at Aurora Municipal Airport - ARR where the aircraft actually fly. You can climb into the pilot's seat of a UH-1 Huey helicopter. The museum's collection includes aircraft, vehicles, uniforms and other aviation memorabilia from the 1930s to the present time. General Admission: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Group Tours: Tuesdays through Fridays by appointment.
The Carving Shop features the work of Joe Dillet, Master Craftsman, and specializes in custom hand carved heirlooms for the family, church and architectural carvings. We work from your designs, or ours, to create an awesome look that only hand carving can achieve. All wood is seasoned. All work is protected with a finish that will last many years. All work is guaranteed.
The earliest remaining elevator along the canal that was fully operational during the canal's heyday. Built in 1862, the grain elevator allowed farmers to unload their grain locally instead of hauling it to the Chicago market by wagon.
Built in 1878 and restored in 1986, the Opera House today provides performing arts from classical to country, dance, student recitals, summer theatre workshops and children/senior citizen series. A new Elizabeth Holdeman visual art gallery now graces entrance hall.
A four-floor large museum located in a former stone mill, including items from the area and a room dedicated to Native America artifacts. A 24' long mural depicts the different eras of Indians and a buffalo hide nearby showing life of an Indian tribe. Built in 1859 as a steam-run flour mill named Sandwich Steam Mill. Open Sundays 1-4 pm from April to October. Tours by appointment.
Master architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created the ultimate minimalist masterpiece, the Farnsworth House, in pastoral Plano. The stellar structure of floor-to-ceiling glass seemingly "floats" above the rambling Fox River. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2015! Moonlight Tours: Experience Farnsworth House as the sun sets in the west. Evening tours are back by popular demand, occurring one Friday and Saturday a month from May to October. Tours begin at dusk. For more information and to book this exclusive tour, see our Moonlight Tours page of their web site.
Incredible place to browse and shop. Glass jewelry, art and more. From Tiffany to Nedobeck.
The largest commercial wind farm in Illinois features 63 towering windmills that are an awesome sight to see, and generate an alternative source of electric power.
Quilts, crafts, florals, pottery, jams, jellies, popcorn, seasonal items and more. Christmas walk 1st weekend Nov.
Enter and enjoy a 3,500 sq ft. building full of unique gifts, florals, and home décor.
A museum established to promote and preserve the history of the Ottawa area and the colorful and proud traditions of Boy/Girl Scouting and Camp Fire. Features national traveling exhibits from museums and libraries. Open Thursday-Monday 10:00 AM-4:00 PM, Closed on Holidays.
One of Ottawa's greatest treasures. Built in 1858, this three story, 22-room Italianate mansion was possibly the most expensive private home in Illinois at that time. Tours available 6 days a week - 11am to 3pm. Closed Tuesdays & major holidays.
Open 7 days a week to service the traveling public. The Ottawa Visitors Center is your one stop shop for information on the Starved Rock Areas special events, lodging, and outdoor activities. Stroll our turn-of-the-century Old Town with its lush walkways, boutique shops and unique restaurants. Stop here for your "Scenic Route to the Rock."