Showing 1-20 of 20 items found in Arts & Culture
Henry County Historical Museum
This museum's detailed exhibits include a one-room schoolhouse, doctor's and dentist's offices, the war room, restored ag implements, machinery, an authentic windmill and a hog house.
Bishop Hill Arts Council
Return to the serenity of an earlier time with a visit to this restored Swedish village. See traditional craftsmen at work, explore our museums, visit our numerous and unique shops and dine in one of our Swedish-American restaurants.
Bishop Hill Prairie Arts Center
Enjoy watching the potter in an open air studio creating artwork on the potter's wheel. The center also features rug, broom, weaving and spinning artisans.
The Feathered Nest at Windy Corner Farm
A delightful artist haven offering a mix of Victorian eggs, feathered masks and wreaths, floral arrangements and intimate miniature portrait silhouettes. Windy Corner Farms and The Feathered Nest gardens and studio are an experience soon to be a cherished memory.
View local, regional and national fine art and crafts artisans in the spacious gallery amid the treetop view of Bishop Hill village park. Painters, sculptors, photographers and artisans showcase their natural art in the expansive upstairs exhibit area. Special exhibits are held throughout the year.
The Outsider Gallery is filled with whimsical, elegant, and functional items from regional artisans Steve and Marsha Carleson. Marsha makes handmade paper, 3-dimensional paper pieces, bowls, vases, bottle cap tables and other objects of whimsy. Steve makes glass ornaments, beads, and fused glass pieces with the occasional traditional Swedish tina boxes combined into the mixture.
Bishop Hill State Historic Site
Four historically significant buildings are owned by the State of Illinois and are maintained as part of the Bishop Hill State Historic Site. These architectural treasures are the two-story Colony Church (1850), the three-story Colony Hotel (1852-ca. 1860), the Boys Dormitory (ca. 1850), and the Colony Barn (mid-1850s) that has been relocated behind the Hotel. In addition, the central village park contains a reconstructed gazebo and war monuments. On the south edge of the village, stands a new brick Museum to house a comprehensive collection of paintings by colonist and self-taught artist, Olof Krans (1838-1916). Hours and days of operation change with the season. Please call to confirm your visit.
The Bishop Hill Chatquaqua
We invite you to spend the day in an enchanting village. The park is the center of this small town and will be filled with story telling and music. Join us for the historical re-enactment, a family oriented event sharing true tales of what makes us uniquely American.
Bishop Hill Steeple Building
Take a look back in history and visit the Steeple building, built in 1854. Architecturally intriguing it is a three-story stucco Greek Revival structure with a two-story tower and 66 six-over-six windows. It was built to be used as a hotel, but instead was used as a dwelling, school, administration building, and later housed a bank, telephone switchboard and apartments. The museum is home to the Bishop Hill Heritage Asssociation offices. The rooms and exhibit showcase historic artifacts and photos of early Colony days and take visitors back through time to a quaint prairie village. Group tours by appointment, small fee.
Three Sisters Park
Three sisters, Sadie, Lillian, and Goldie Cohen, expressed a wish that the 400-acres of farmland located adjacent to the city of Chillicothe, IL be dedicated as park land and a model farm for educational, recreational, and conservational purposes. While the Cohen sisters lived just off Moss Avenue in Peoria, they loved their family farm. Their vision was for the property to remain agriculturally related. The master plan envisions the creation of a living history farm, a central activity building, large festival areas, a welcome center, restaurant, agricultural equipment museum activity area, and outdoor natural amphitheater. The open fields and forested areas offer unique space for special events, concerts and festivals.
Putnam County Historical Society
Tours of the recently restored, redecorated 1844 Pulsifer House. Genealogical historical research facilities. Open Wed & Fri from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM. Agricultural Museum open by appointment.
Ryan's Round Barn
Tour this centennial barn, one of the largest in the country and one of forty-two left in the State of Illinois. It stands 80 feet high and 85 feet in diameter and features a 16-foot diameter floor to ceiling silo. A farm implement museum in on the main floor. Tours are provided by Friends of Johnson’s Park Foundation and groups of ten or more asked to call ahead. Open the first, third, and fifth Saturday beginning May through October. Hours: 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
History in the Paint Public Art Tour
In the summer of 2013, a collective of artists, called the Walldogs, came to Kewanee, IL to paint 15 historic murals depicting the long history and heritage of the city. These paintings can be found on many downtown facades, as well as at the Amtrak Station that brings new people to the area, every day. About this mural: Kewanee was founded in May of 1854, when the Military Tract Railroad was routed to the north of Wethersfield. The town founders were from Wethersfield Township to the south, Sylvester Blish, Ralph Tenney, Henry Little and Sullivan Howard, plus Nelson Lay from Wisconsin. Colonel Berrian, civil engineer who supervised the laying of the track through this area, was asked to choose a name and he decided on “Kewanee,” a Winnebago Indian word for “prairie chicken.” In 1921, Wethersfield’s 2,000 people asked to be annexed to Kewanee with its 16,000. That 18,000 would turn out to be Kewanee’s peak population.
Gallery on Second
View beautiful works of art from local and regional artists. Choose from watercolor and oil paintings, metal artwork and stained-glass.
Festival 56 is now a year-round professional theater festival, with 10 productions each year. Each season, Festival 56 assembles from across the country a team of the most creative and talented artists living and working in professional theater today. The festival presents a wide spectrum of programming, from free productions of Shakespeare to classic and world premier musicals and the masterworks of playwrights such a Steinbeck, Ibsen and Tennessee Williams. Festival 56 is committed to championing the American theater as an art form by creating a home for the artists who are its heart and soul.
Annie's Little Pots and Pottery Center
Annies Little Pots is a “must-see” shop in Princeton, Illinois. Discover many local artists along with Ann Dittmer’s beautiful hand-made pottery, created in her on-site studio. Besides Princeton's own handmade pottery, you’ll find Metal Sculpture, Home & Garden decor, soaps, candles, jewelry, and original paintings. Want to try your hand at the Pottery Wheel? Schedule a Pottery Class. The Pottery Cellar located in the basement of Annies Little Pots features a fun Paint Your Own Pottery Studio.
In 2009, Lara & Joachim (Jay) Schneider bought the Apollo. Since then there have been quite a few changes. Just recently new seats were installed and the concession area was given a make-over. We offer "Buy Nachos For One Buck Mondays" and BYOB (Bring Your Own Bucket and fill it up for only 75 cents) Tuesdays! If you never been to the Apollo or haven't been in awhile, please come and see this Princeton landmark!
B L Kassabaum Artist's Gallery
Limited edition prints, originals, conservation framing, appraisal art & photo restoration, cards.
Bureau County Historical Museum
The Bureau County Historical Society Museum is located behind the Courthouse square at the intersection of beautiful Park Avenue West and Pleasant Street in Princeton, Illinois. The museum consists of two buildings that are next door to each other: the Clark-Norris Home, a handsome Prairie Square mansion built in 1900, and the Newell-Bryant House, a stately Greek Revival house dating back to 1853. The Museum is behind the Courthouse. There is free parking on Park Avenue in front of the Museum.
Princeville Heritage Museum
The Princeville Heritage Museum opened to the public in 1999. The museum is a part of the Historical Association of Princeville (incorporated in 1987). The 15,000 square foot handicap accessible facility features antique agriculture equipment, steam powered tractors and threshers, area artifacts, a genealogy research area, and much more. In 2004 the Akron Townhouse School was moved to the museum grounds. The townhouse school allows children and adults alike to take a step back in time and participate in a day in the life of a student in the early 1900’s. With seating for 35, the conference facilities are equipped with state of the art audio visual equipment and wireless internet connection. The facility also includes a full kitchen.