Showing 1-24 of 26 items found in Arts & Culture
This former home of August Rehnstrom was a temporary haven for Swedish immigrants in the 1860s. The lawn features the bell from the area's first two-story school and millstones from the historic Edwards River Mill.
Annies Little Pots is a “must-see” shop in Princeton, Illinois. Discover many local artists along with Ann Dittmer’s beautiful hand-made pottery, created in her on-site studio. Besides Princeton's own handmade pottery, you’ll find Metal Sculpture, Home & Garden decor, soaps, candles, jewelry, and original paintings. Want to try your hand at the Pottery Wheel? Schedule a Pottery Class. The Pottery Cellar located in the basement of Annies Little Pots features a fun Paint Your Own Pottery Studio.
In 2009, Lara & Joachim (Jay) Schneider bought the Apollo. Since then there have been quite a few changes. Just recently new seats were installed and the concession area was given a make-over. We offer "Buy Nachos For One Buck Mondays" and BYOB (Bring Your Own Bucket and fill it up for only 75 cents) Tuesdays! If you never been to the Apollo or haven't been in awhile, please come and see this Princeton landmark!
The Asa Crook Home is the first frame house built in 1839 by Whiteside County's first settler. The restored home is open for tours.
This historical society museum has diplays and entertaining stories about the people and history of Atkinson, the Hennepin Canal, Rolle Bolle and Henry County.
Limited edition prints, originals, conservation framing, appraisal art & photo restoration, cards.
Return to the serenity of an earlier time with a visit to this restored Swedish village. See traditional craftsmen at work, explore our museums, visit our numerous and unique shops and dine in one of our Swedish-American restaurants.
Enjoy watching the potter in an open air studio creating artwork on the potter's wheel. The center also features rug, broom, weaving and spinning artisans.
Four historically significant buildings are owned by the State of Illinois and are maintained as part of the Bishop Hill State Historic Site. These architectural treasures are the two-story Colony Church (1850), the three-story Colony Hotel (1852-ca. 1860), the Boys Dormitory (ca. 1850), and the Colony Barn (mid-1850s) that has been relocated behind the Hotel. In addition, the central village park contains a reconstructed gazebo and war monuments. On the south edge of the village, stands a new brick Museum to house a comprehensive collection of paintings by colonist and self-taught artist, Olof Krans (1838-1916). Hours and days of operation change with the season. Please call to confirm your visit.
Take a look back in history and visit the Steeple building, built in 1854. Architecturally intriguing it is a three-story stucco Greek Revival structure with a two-story tower and 66 six-over-six windows. It was built to be used as a hotel, but instead was used as a dwelling, school, administration building, and later housed a bank, telephone switchboard and apartments. The museum is home to the Bishop Hill Heritage Association offices. The rooms and exhibit showcase historic artifacts and photos of early Colony days and take visitors back through time to a quaint prairie village. Group tours by appointment, small fee. Open Daily 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Sunday Noon to 4 p.m.
The Bureau County Historical Society Museum is located behind the Courthouse square at the intersection of beautiful Park Avenue West and Pleasant Street in Princeton, Illinois. The museum consists of two buildings that are next door to each other: the Clark-Norris Home, a handsome Prairie Square mansion built in 1900, and the Newell-Bryant House, a stately Greek Revival house dating back to 1853. The Museum is behind the Courthouse. There is free parking on Park Avenue in front of the Museum.
Festival 56 is now a year-round professional theater festival, with 10 productions each year. Each season, Festival 56 assembles from across the country a team of the most creative and talented artists living and working in professional theater today. The festival presents a wide spectrum of programming, from free productions of Shakespeare to classic and world premier musicals and the masterworks of playwrights such a Steinbeck, Ibsen and Tennessee Williams. Festival 56 is committed to championing the American theater as an art form by creating a home for the artists who are its heart and soul.
View beautiful works of art from local and regional artists. Choose from watercolor and oil paintings, metal artwork and stained-glass.
The Geneseo Art League fosters the arts by showcasing area artisans work's featuring one of a kind gifts including, Paintings – Wood Art – Photography – Jewelry – Sculpture – Glass – Mixed Media. A creative work space is available for viewing when classes are in session. Visitors are warmly welcomed!
The Geneseo Historical Museum features displays of local people and places in an Italianate-style home built in the mid-1800. Walk through the 27-rooms which tell the story of how people lived in the past and Geneseo’s history. See the Underground Railroad space used to hide runaway slaves. A wide variety of President Abraham Lincoln artifacts are the centerpiece of the museum. Visit the newly built carriage house home to Geneseo’s agricultural history. Explore and be delighted while learning about Geneseo’s heritage
One of Illinois' finest examples of courthouse architecture, this stately structure was built in 1878. The main courtroom ceiling is decorated with murals depicting the principal communities of the county.
This museum's detailed exhibits include a one-room schoolhouse, doctor's and dentist's offices, the war room, restored ag implements, machinery, an authentic windmill and a hog house.
In the summer of 2013, a collective of artists, called the Walldogs, came to Kewanee, IL to paint 15 historic murals depicting the long history and heritage of the city. These paintings can be found on many downtown facades, as well as at the Amtrak Station that brings new people to the area, every day. About this mural: Kewanee was founded in May of 1854, when the Military Tract Railroad was routed to the north of Wethersfield. The town founders were from Wethersfield Township to the south, Sylvester Blish, Ralph Tenney, Henry Little and Sullivan Howard, plus Nelson Lay from Wisconsin. Colonel Berrian, civil engineer who supervised the laying of the track through this area, was asked to choose a name and he decided on “Kewanee,” a Winnebago Indian word for “prairie chicken.” In 1921, Wethersfield’s 2,000 people asked to be annexed to Kewanee with its 16,000. That 18,000 would turn out to be Kewanee’s peak population.
The Outsider Gallery is filled with whimsical, elegant, and functional items from regional artisans Steve and Marsha Carleson. Marsha makes handmade paper, 3-dimensional paper pieces, bowls, vases, bottle cap tables and other objects of whimsy. Steve makes glass ornaments, beads, and fused glass pieces with the occasional traditional Swedish tina boxes combined into the mixture.
Barn is located atop the bluff in Geneseo since 1968. The group's actors, directors, backstage personnel, support staff, and audience are drawn from 60 mile radius that includes cities in Illinois and Iowa.
This quaint apartment, featuring the bedroom where the President was born, restored and decorated to its original 1900's style, sits on the second floor at the site of the First National Bank which has also been restored. Next door is a gift store and museum of Reagan memorabilia.
Tour this centennial barn, one of the largest in the country and one of forty-two left in the State of Illinois. It stands 80 feet high and 85 feet in diameter and features a 16-foot diameter floor to ceiling silo. A farm implement museum in on the main floor. Tours are provided by Friends of Johnson’s Park Foundation and groups of ten or more asked to call ahead. Open the first, third, and fifth Saturday beginning May through October. Hours: 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.