Showing 1-14 of 14 items found in Arts & Culture
Built in 1871 as a private residence, this building now holds hundreds of artifacts from the country including a display of period wedding dresses.
The Showcase performs at the historic Avon Theatre. Call for a schedule of plays.
This former vaudeville and movie theatre has been restored to its former glory. The Playbill for the 2008 season includes Chapter 6, an acapella group that started at Milliken University in Decatur, IL and now tours worldwide and the touring company of Second City in Chicago. Don't miss the excitement.
Centerpieces of the collection are newspapers and memorabilia from the coal mining days with tributes to railroad history.
Artifacts, pictures of coal mining, railroading, business, farming in and around Centralia. A work in progress by the Centralia Area Historical Society to preserve the past of Marion County.
This building was the former home of Judge Sidney Breese, who came to Illinois from New York. He studied law here and became Assistant Secretary of the State of Illinois.
An extensive collection of genealogical materials offers visitors an opportunity to research local Mt. Vernon history.
In 1779 George Rogers Clark led his army from Kaskaskia through this area to Vincennes, Indiana, where they captured Ft. Sackville from the British. At the time, this building was named for being near the midpoint of the Vincennes-St. Louis Trail.
Movie Theatre with 8 theatres featuring special ticket pricing and traditional movie theatre concessions.
Experience the past as you walk through a pioneer village of authentic log cabins featuring a calaboose (circa 1820), the Mount Olive Church (circa 1873), a one room school house and more.
Located just outside the city of Carlyle, this historic 130-year-old bridge is one of the oldest suspension bridges in the area. The original bridge served as a crossing over the Kaskaskia River.
Constructed in 1857 as the southern division of the Illinois State Supreme Court, Abraham Lincoln successfully argued a famous tax case in 1859. In 1888, Clara Barton used the building as a hospital. Tours are available. Please call in advance.
Built in 1888, this home was occupied by Dr. Robert Poos, a local practitioner and druggist. Dr. Poos was also the staff physician at the Springs Hotel and Bath House, later known as the Okawville Original Springs Hotel.