Showing 1-24 of 31 items found in Arts & Culture
Westside Cinema has been entertaining Litchfield and surrounding communities with first run movies for over 30 years.
The Litchfield Carnegie Library building is originally funded by, industrialist and notable philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie, in 1904. The library is located in downtown Litchfield in the original building designed by architect Paul Moratz in the Classical Revival style.
The Sky View Drive In opened in the spring of 1951 and has been in seasonal operation since. It is the last remaining original operating drive-in theatre on Route 66 in Illinois.
The marquee dates back to the 1920s, but the audio-visual equipment is state-of-the-art. Three screens show first run movies on the ground floor, with a coffee shop and bistro upstairs.
Items on display are from the Civil War, WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam, and Desert Storm along with flags from 45 countries.
Historic home with five rooms plus a garden area crafts, used furniture, candles, nick knacks, flavored coffees, old plows, wheel barrel and more. "Five rooms to browse".
The gallery uses exhibit space in the Fayette County Museum. Special exhibits are scheduled through the year.
Originally built as a private residence in the 1870s, the house now holds an extensive collection of Civil War memorabilia, World War I bond posters, Native American artifacts, domestic arts, and items from local manufacturers.
The Music Theatre Company explores the musical in the interest of expanding the canon of musical theatre through fully-staged productions, commissions of new works and musical experiments.
The 60-seat facility is complete with a restored 1928 Barton 12-rank theatre pipe organ. It was originally built to perform popular music and to accompany the silent movies of the 1920s. Group tours available.
This museum is a living monument to the more than 72 one-story schools throughout the nation that served to educate children and host community gatherings.
Piano bar and entertainment lounge. Dinner and cocktails, wine dinners, tastings and live music.
Bring your children and show them a glimpse into education before the 20th century. Located on the Jr. High grounds, this schoolhouse was restored by the Bond County Retired Teachers Association.
The museum, located in the original college building on the campus of historic Greenville College, features hundreds of sculptural pieces by Richard Bock, best known for his work with famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright.
The National Road Interpretive Center in Vandalia, Illinois tells the story of the surveyors, laborers and travelers of the National Road, sometimes called the Cumberland Road or National Pike. The Interpretive Center is a museum with hands-on activities for children including a Conestoga wagon that the youngsters can load for its journey. Abraham Lincoln’s connection to Illinois National Road towns is also spotlighted. One of the largest artifacts is an original National Road timber dating to the 1830s. Visitors will develop a better understanding of the importance of this road to Illinois and American history as well as an appreciation for the people that were involved in its construction.
The Showcase performs at the historic Avon Theatre. Call for a schedule of plays.
This historic train depot features a preserved facade and a renovated interior that houses specialty shops.
Hard Road Theatre Productions is a non-profit community theater organization committed to providing the Highland area with high-quality, affordable, live theater productions.
Ten Talents Gallery features handmade, individual, and unique items by Illinois artists. We offer such items as jewelry, watercolors, ceramics, wood carvings, and much more.
Located behind the Statehouse in a century-old church, this museum is full of Lincoln-era memorabilia, including his letter cabinet and an axe carved with his initials.
This building was the former home of Judge Sidney Breese, who came to Illinois from New York. He studied law here and became Assistant Secretary of the State of Illinois.
In the park next to Hamel School, this building was built between 1820 and 1852 and moved to Hamel in 1980. Artifacts from the period are displayed inside.