Showing 1-24 of 46 items found in Arts & Culture
The original 1893 schoolhouse displays hundreds of original artifacts depicting immigrant turn-of-the-century life of families, businesses, and coal mines. Original items include the jailhouse iron doors, soccer trophies and bocce balls, coal mining tools, furniture and household items, old store supplies, Illinois coal reports, maps and plats, and plenty of family memories; there is something to interest everyone.
Step back into the 1950s in a representation of an original home with toys, dolls, books, clothes and furnishings of the era, in the first fully-planned post-World War II suburb.
Three floors of fun! Shop our 1st floor boutique, create in our upstairs art studio and upcycle with vintage soul re-sale in our lower level.
Park Forest Local History Collection and Archive. Documents, photographs, video, and newspapers on historic Park Forest, 1946. Some items are on the early history of the region. It is best to call ahead to speak to the archivist. Some information is available at the Park Forest Public Library.
The memorial's steel, five point star represents the branches of military service. The angle of the star reminds us of those who perished in the line of duty. The memorial also includes commemorative headstones of the first seven Oak Forest residents who died in combat.
SPAA THEATER is focused on providing quality stage plays and much need programs, such as their; CSI & Film Camps, Adult Acting, Writing & Speaking Classes, SPAA Master's Certification Classes, SPAA Children's Theater, SPAA Radio, SPAA TV and Much more! They are dedicated to providing, developing and enhancing "Edutainment" (Education & Entertainment) through programs, live productions and commitment to the surrounding communities.
Wholesome family entertainment with song, dance, and humor. Join us for lunch and dinner show packages.
Small museum with unique display areas and photographs of Frankfort memorabilia.
The Center for Performing Arts presents high-quality and affordable national touring acts, Chicago-based artists and community programs in genres from jazz to opera, dance, theatre and family favorites.
The Tinley Park Veterans Memorial features benches along a parkway and is dedicated to Village Trustee Pat Rea, a retired U.S. Army Brigadier General.
Bringing drama to the South Suburbs since 1931, The Drama Group is one of the oldest volunteer community theatres in the country. This drama group is a not-for-profit community theater.
This museum was established to preserve ethnic Slovenian heritage and honor the immigrants who settled the Joliet area.
Union Street Gallery hosts 10 art exhibits per year, classes and workshops. There are 16 artists' studios to compliment the experience. Free Admission, free tours and field trips available. First floor galleries and studios are handicapped accessible.
Freedom Hall offers a diverse series accenting dance, music, theatre, popular attractions, children's theatre and outreach activities. Join us in the intimate 280-seat Nathan Manilow Theatre.
The Manteno Historical Society Museum is headquartered in the Charles Skinner House, located in the center of Manteno. The opening of the Skinner House as a Museum took place in 1994. The first floor of the building has display areas of early 20th century living in the area. Of special interest is the medical display of items from the offices of Dr. Rouleau, Dr. Phipps, Dr. Malott, Dr. Thomas and Dr. Echevarria. Articles from Dr. Gagnon's dental office and pharmaceutical items from Hilsenhoff Drug Store have also been donated. The lower floor includes exhibit space, a kitchen and collections of archival materials. The upper floor presently houses a room commemorating Manteno war veterans featuring uniforms and memorabilia from WWI to the present.
KidsWork Children's Museum is a cultural institution that brings children, families and the community together to engage in fun, hands-on interactive play.
The Tinley Park Historical Society was established in 1974 to preserve the history of Tinley Park and the surrounding areas that have influenced its growth and development. Since 1976, the Society has been headquartered at the "Old Zion Landmark," 6727 174th Street where it maintains a museum of local history and a local research library. The Prairie Gothic style "Old Zion Landmark" church was built in 1884 for the local Zion Lutheran congregation. The Historical Society complex also includes a reproduction of the Village's second schoolhouse. The original one room schoolhouse had been built in 1880 very near to the current location to replace a smaller schoolhouse and from 1892 to 1954 the building served as the community's Village Hall. The "Landmark Chapel" and the "New Saenger Hall" meeting room are available for weddings and other meetings and special events.
This not-for-profit Gallery acts as an advocate for local and visiting artists from a variety of genres. It also offers an opportunity to people of all ages to learn about and appreciate the visual arts through our exhibits, tours, workshops, and programs offered. The Gallery is uniquely located with Provena Heritage Village senior facility, and continues to enrich the daily lives of the residents here. Admission into the gallery is free and donations are accepted.
Step back into the 1950s in an original rental townhome furnished with toys, dolls, books, clothes and home furnishings of the era, in the first fully-planned post-World War II suburb.
This mural honors the late Fey Orr, a prominent local businessman and philanthropist. The mural is painted on the Chebanse Grain & Lumber Co. building, and depicts the people and lifestyle of Beaverville.
Witness the history of the universe from its fiery birth to the formation of our own solar system on a state-of-the-art digital projector that gives a multimedia and full-dome show. Open year round, there are several shows scheduled during the week.
Check out this pioneer cabin that gives a glimpse of Illinois' earliest settlers' way of life on the frontier. It is located in a majestic park setting along the Kankakee River.
Originally called the Mount Airy School, the Little Red Schoolhouse was moved to its present location in 1983. This 1850's school house has been restored and contains period memorabilia and artifacts. (Circa 1853). Open by appointment only.