Showing 1-24 of 39 items found in Arts & Culture
Historic Vaudeville Movie Theatre listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Wide variety of performances.
Travel through time and space! Walk through a replica of the I & M Canal, window shop on a turn-of-the-century street, take a virtual ride on a replica trolley, live the legend of Route 66, land on the moon in a walk-in simulator, and experience space exploration and the Apollo missions. Temporary exhibits change often in our Special Exhibition Gallery. There's always family fun in our discovery room, and remember your visit with a souvenir from our Gift Shop.
A Joliet staple for more than 30 years, this LGBT bar features dancing to live DJs on Friday and Saturday nights, Maneuvers Diva’s Den drag shows and live entertainment.
Open 7 days a week to service the traveling public. The Ottawa Visitors Center is your one stop shop for information on the Starved Rock Areas special events, lodging, and outdoor activities. Stroll our turn-of-the-century Old Town with its lush walkways, boutique shops and unique restaurants. Stop here for your "Scenic Route to the Rock."
Elegant National Historic Landmark offers unique Victorian setting for weddings/receptions. Groups and tours welcome.
Dedicated on February 12, 2009, Lincoln Landing is Lockport's newest attraction. This park, located on the original Public Landing platted as a dock area by Canal Commissioners in 1836, features a unique bronze statue of a young Abraham Lincoln created by artist David Ostro. Interpretive signage through the park highlights the history of the I&M Canal, its impact on the Lockport community, and Lincoln's connections to both. This open-air museum is self-guiding, but is enhanced by a website with school lesson plans.
One of Ottawa's greatest treasures. Built in 1858, this three story, 22-room Italianate mansion was possibly the most expensive private home in Illinois at that time. Tours available 6 days a week - 11am to 3pm. Closed Tuesdays & major holidays.
The Gladys Fox Museum is located in the beautifully restored Old Congregational Church, which is the oldest surviving building of its type in Illinois. The building was constructed in 1840 of native limestone on land donated by the Illinois & Michigan.
Enter and enjoy a 3,500 sq ft. building full of unique gifts, florals, and home décor.
Handcrafted Soap, tea, chocolate and gourmet treats, fair trade clothing & goods, yarns, knitting & crochet supplies, fairy gardens, miniature plants, garden accents, home decor, lighting and more! Classes offered too!
Located on the Jacob Henry Mansion Estate, guests are greeted with our famous family hospitality, homemade meals and heartwarming musical productions. Lunch matinees and dinner shows are complimented by itineraries that include tours of our other historic properties, or excursions into Joliet's vibrant downtown. The Jacob Henry Mansion Estate Dinner Theatre welcomes groups with onsite motorcoach parking and handicap accessibilty.
Take a self-guided walking tour of the magnificent murals, sculptures and mosaics found throughout Joliet's city center.
Incredible place to browse and shop. Glass jewelry, art and more. From Tiffany to Nedobeck.
An uptight businessman who is desperately trying to get home for Thanksgiving finds himself partnered with an easy going shower ring salesman who is on a journey of his own. The film was shot extensively in the Chicago suburbs. One of the most memorable scenes takes place when the two are forced to share a room at the Braidwood Inn (now the Sun Motel) in suburban Braidwood.
A museum established to promote and preserve the history of the Ottawa area and the colorful and proud traditions of Boy/Girl Scouting and Camp Fire. Features national traveling exhibits from museums and libraries. Open Thursday-Monday 10:00 AM-4:00 PM, Closed on Holidays.
The Feds hunt notorious American gangsters John Dillinger, Pretty Boy Floyd and Baby Face Nelson during a 1930s crime wave. The restored period exterior of Chicago’s Biograph Theater, site of Dillinger’s infamous demise, is featured in a pivotal scene in the movie.
The earliest remaining elevator along the canal that was fully operational during the canal's heyday. Built in 1862, the grain elevator allowed farmers to unload their grain locally instead of hauling it to the Chicago market by wagon.
The Mar Theatre opened for business on June 15th 1937, and today much of the original stage and decorative ceiling are intact. The lobby and ticket booth area are in the original configuration. Much of the original architectural hardware and lighting fixtures are still in use. The original auditorium comfortably seats 300 moviegoers and a new second auditorium accommodates 64 patrons. Outside the original marquee is still used to inform moviegoers of the current movies.
Incorporated in 1964, the Will County Historical Society exists to connect people and organizations to the county's rich history. The Society's museum is housed in the original headquarters of the I&M Canal. Built in 1837, the structure played a central role in the design, financing, and construction of the Canal and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972. Changing exhibits highlight the history of Will County and the Canal. The Society's extensive collection includes significant county and canal-related records, including maps, plats, land records, obituaries, photographs, newspapers, receipts, and correspondence.
The restored railroad depot, designed by Henry Ives Cobb, is now the home of the Dwight Historical Society and is still an operating Amtrak train station.
Art rubber stamps and accessories, brass stencils, ink pads, markers, books, magazines and videos. Free demonstrations.
Dating back to 1855, the chapel is Kendall County's oldest church building, adorned with stained glass windows and a restored 1899 pipe organ. The adjacent hall houses local artifacts, including photographs and clothing.
It happens the moment you turn onto the long, gravel road; it might be the charm of the converted century-old farmhouse filled with handcrafted pottery, homemade candles and other unique finds. It might be savoring the last bite of Blackberry Peach Cobbler after a delicious, freshly prepared lunch in the tearoom. Or it might be the peaceful serenity found only in the countryside. Whatever “it” is, friends young and old, male and female, have been coming back to Emerson Creek to experience it again and again.
Master architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created the ultimate minimalist masterpiece, the Farnsworth House, in pastoral Plano. The stellar structure of floor-to-ceiling glass seemingly "floats" above the rambling Fox River. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2015! Moonlight Tours: Experience Farnsworth House as the sun sets in the west. Evening tours are back by popular demand, occurring one Friday and Saturday a month from May to October. Tours begin at dusk. For more information and to book this exclusive tour, see our Moonlight Tours page of their web site.