Showing 1-24 of 25 items found in History
Step back in history as you tour one of Illinois' most beautiful and unique show barns, the 1912 Show Barn, or visit the artistic home studio of commercial artist Shelly Rasche. Take a pottery class, kick up your heels at a genuine barn dance, or take in a breathtaking prairie sunset.
Kibbe Hancock Museum
The majority of this large collection of historic artifacts was donated by Dr. Alice Kibbe. The collection now includes Civil War and Indian artifacts, fashion items dating from 1840 to 1920, fossils, rocks, and geodes, and other historic artifacts from around Hancock County.
The Carthage Jail was the site of the martyrdom of Joseph Smith and his brother Hyrum on June 27, 1844. Joseph and Hyrum with two companions were imprisoned here. A mob broke into the jail and killed them and injured severly one of their companions. Today the restored jail and visitors center and memorial gardens are open to visitors daily.
Kibbe Hancock Heritage Museum
The majority of this large collection of historic artifacts were donated by Dr. Alice Kibbe. The collection now includes Civil War and Indian artifacts, fashion items dating from 1840 to 1920, fossils, rocks, geodes, and other historic artifacts from around Hancock County. Recently acquired was the entire collection of the Illinois Funeral Customs Museum; part of which is on exhibit.
The Flower Shop- Java House
The Flower Shop- Java House is located on the North side of the historic Carthage Square. The Flower Shop carries a full array of flowers and gifts for any occasion. The Java House offers coffee, lattes, teas and smoothies in a homey relaxed atmosphere.
Carthage Jail & Visitor's Center
Built of native yellow limestome from 1839-1841, this was the site where Mormon leader, Joseph Smith Jr. and his brother were killed by an angry mob on June 27, 1844, resulting in the Mormons' famous trek west that led to the founding of Salt Lake City, UT.
Kibbe Hancock Heritage Museum
This impressive collection includes Civil War and Indian artifacts, fashion items circ 1840-1920, fossils, rocks, geodes and other historic Hancock County aritfacts. New to the museum are the Funeral Customs display and the "Lincoln: Making of the Man" display. The majority of the collection was generously donate by Dr. Alice Kibbe.
Ocean Farm is working to make a harmonious place where nature and agriculture complement each other. A contour strip rotation uses corn, soybeans, oats, alfalfa, and buckwheat. 56 acres are used in the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program.
Preserving Agriculture History Museum
The museum includes the agricultural machinery that you would find on a typical 80-120 acre farm in the Midwest. It also includes many of the items that would be found in a 1930s farmhouse.
World Aero Space Museum
The World Aero Space Museum displays aircraft from the Cold War era, and is the only museum in the world preserving these types of aircraft in one location. Most of the aircraft displayed are in working, flying condition.
Housed in a historic 1890s home, this museum covers everything from the history of the Mississippi River to dinosaurs, Native Americans and NASA.
John Wood Mansion, Log Cabin & Parsonage
The John Wood Mansion is the restored home of Quincy's founder and the 12th governor of Illinois. The 1835 Pioneer Log Cabin is preserved authentically, and the Parsonage displays items depicting the history of Adams County.
Dr. Richard Eells House
The Dr. Richard Eells House was a stopping point on the Underground Railroad in the 1840s, and is the oldest standing two-story brick home in Quincy.
Dollhouses Then & Now
Museum that houses over 70 vintage furnished doll houses from the 1920’s- to current. The architectural designs and fashions depict and present the evolution of homes and furnishings from then to now. The Then and Now gift shop is complete with collectable doll house furnishings for sale. Children enjoy playing the scavenger hunt and viewing the 1949 “Disney House” and the 1924 Tootsie Toy house furnished with Tootsie toy pieces. Located inside Taylor’s Furniture Store, along the square in Quincy’s downtown business district.
East End Historic District
The East End Historic District is distinquished by its grand collection of homes of every period and style since 1850. Most have been painstakingly restored with lawns of beautiful planted sugar maples, tulip trees, flowering dogwood and redbud trees. Enjoy Quincy's several historic districts through the Quincy Area Convention & Visitors Bureau's Self Guided Driving Tour, available online at www.seequincy.com.
Ancient Stone Inspirations/ Mac's Home Brew
Jewelry, books, gifts and home brew retail supply store for beer and wine making. Located in the Historic Quincy Business District. Hours are Monday-Saturday, 9am-5pm.
This 7,000 lb, 15 ft, 8-sided section of a communnications tower that supported a television broadcasting antenna and a 5lb, 1 ft piece of the antenna were located on World Trade Center Tower One when it was attacked on September 11, 2001. The antenna was designed and manufactured by Harris Corporation at its Quincy plant.
Dr. Richard Eells House
The oldest standing two-story brick house in Quincy, Dr. Eells home was a station on the Underground Railroad in the 1840's. Quincy was the first stop for fugitives this side of the Mississippi from the slave state of Missouri. Dr. Eells is credited with helping several hundred slaves make their way North to freedom.
Illinois Veterans' Home All Wars Museum and Deer Park
Dedicated in 1886, the Illinois Veterans' Home is one of our nation's largest and oldest veterans home. It has often been labeled "the city witin the city" because of its size and unique set up. It is equipped with its own post office, bank, chapel, cemetery, television station and utility system. Also on the grounds is the All Wars Museum, which has 10,000 artifacts and exhibits spanning from the American Revolution to the War on Terrorism.
John Wood Mansion
The Mansion is the restored home of Quincy's founder and the twelfth Governor of Illinois. It's one of the Midwest's finest existing examples of Greek Revival architecture. Also on the grounds are the History Museum & Visitor's Center houses a gift shop (Quincy's History Shop) & The Lincoln Gallery.
1930's Ag Museum
This privately owned museum houses forty-two John Deere farm implements manufactured in the late 1920's through 1940. Showcased is a 1936 Model B John Deere Tractor, fully restored. The Ag Museum also features an antique horse equipment collection and period farm house furnishings, as well as equipment and hand tools found on a 1930's farmstead. All free of charge, open by appointment, located on the northern edge of Quincy.
The History Museum
Quincy's original public library, now home to Quincy area artifacts, a stained glass gallery, gift shop and Mormon City of Refuge display. Open Tues-Fri. 10-4pm, Sat 10-5pm.
Phoenix Opera House
This restored 1882 opera house, now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is home to Pandora's Playhouse community theater.
Schuyler Jail Museum and Genealogical Center
Visit the Schuyler Jail Museum to view a fascinating showcase of pioneer life on the Illinois frontier. A special section displays memorabilia from the Scripps family, early Rushville citizens who became nationally known in the worlds of newspapers and philanthropy, and who in 1926 donated their family farm to the city for use as a park. Displays showcase soldier's uniforms of many wars, Native American relics, pioneer furniture, farming implements, an early barber shop, and much more!