Showing 1-24 of 35 items found in History
Woodbine Glass Museum and Gift Shop
Museum displays 4,020 pieces of hand-blown glass, including contemporary and antique work from many countries. Gift shop.
Winslow Historical Society Museum
Discover the history of Winslow. Featuring displays relating to discovery of cream cheese, which had its beginnings in Winslow and later made famous as Philadelphia Cream Cheese. Also see the history of Doc Carver's Wild West Show. Each open date will also feature a brat stand and a farmers market. Open: April thru October: Second Saturday of each month: 10 am 3 pm.
Tutty Baker Monument
This monument honors William "Tutty" Baker, the founder of Freeport. Tutty came to this area, which was home to the Winnebago Indians, in 1835 and built a trading post along the banks of the Pecatonica River, offering travelers free ferry rides.
The Standish House Bed & Breakfast
The Standish House B&B is owned and operated by a direct descendent of Miles Standish and is filled with antiques and collections of Early American history. You’ll enjoy canopy beds, sumptuous breakfasts and more. We’re only minutes from Lake Carroll and are located on a quiet residential street in the quaint community of Lanark.
Swamp Bottom Railroad
This is an outdoor railroad using 1/2 inch scale G Gauge with over 1,000 feet of track in a 45 by 60 foot outdoor garden. We run trains modeled from the late 1800's to the present time with both freight and passenger trains. We concentrate on rail cars hauling coal, grain, alcohol, ballast, and various commodities. At any given running, you can see steam and diesel trains depending on the era we are running that day on the inner and outer tracks of this Garden. The engines have digital sound boards for realism.
Stockton Heritage Museum
Stockton Heritage Museum is a not-for-profit entity dedicated to the preservation and teaching of Stockton area history. Discover exhibits on the Chicago Great Western Railroad, model trains, history of Kraft Foods, and Stockton-area history exhibits.
Stephenson County Historical Museum
The museum complex is situated on a 3-acre arboretum and includes: 1) An 1857 Italianate home built by Oscar Taylor. This home was the social center of early Freeport and may have been a stop on the Underground Railroad. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. 2) The Millerburg schoolhouse, furnished to depict rural school life circa 1920. 3) The Industry Museum which highlights the rich manufacturing heritage of Stephenson County including the Henney Company, Stover, W.T. Rawleigh and more. 4) The Arcade Toy Museum which showcases the world’s largest exhibit of Arcade cast-iron toys made in Freeport by Arcade Manufacturing as well as other toys manufactured in Freeport including Structo and Realistic. 5) An authentic 1840s log cabin homestead built by Irish immigrants. Open Wednesday thru Sunday, Noon to 4pm. Guided Tours only; last tour starts at 3pm. Group tours may be scheduled by appointment. Adults $8 Children 6 and above $4
The Civil War Soldiers Monument, on the southwest corner of the Stephenson County Courthouse, is inscribed with the names of those soldiers from Stephenson County who lost their lives in the Civil War. On the southeast corner is the Stephenson County Vietnam Era Veterans Memorial, which is a bronze statue of a full-sized M-16 with a bayonet stuck in the ground and a helmet on top.
This museum, operated by the Stephenson County Antique Engine Club, which also operates the Silver Creek and Stephenson Railroad, offers 20 rooms of early Americana. Exhibts include 500 pieces of crockery, dolls, a recreated schoolroom and kitchen, art exhibits, quilts, tools and agricultural equipment, and many other historical exhibits. Also on the grounds is a display of antique machinery and an exhibit of Henny Motor Company vehicles which were manufactured in Freeport. Plus visitors can view the operating Cooper-Corliss engine, a giant 130-ton steam engine with a 25 foot flywheel which originally operated a rolling mill in a zinc plant. Special exhibits and events are featured throughout the year. Open: May thru October on selected holidays and weekends: 11 am - 4 pm.
Silver Creek and Stephenson Railroad Antique Steam Train
All aboard, as a 36-ton, 1912 Heisler steam locomotive pulls three cabooses, including an antique red caboose reported to be the oldest in the state, for a four-mile ride through farmlands. Purchase your ticket at the Silver Creek Depot, a turn-of-the-century replica filled with railroad artifacts, and browse the Freight House Gift Shop and visit the Silvercreek Museum across the street. Open: May thru October on selected holiday and weekends; 1 am - 4 pm. Train departs on the hour.
Savanna Museum and Cultural Center
This 3 story historic building contains artifacts telling the story of this Mississippi River community. Noteworthy displays include over 80 mannequins dressed in authentic Civil War uniforms, native son & famous big-band musician Wayne King memorabilia, railroad artifacts and running model RR layout Savanna Ordnance Depot artifacts and much more.
Featuring local and Illinois made gifts, foods, and specialties. Enjoy specialty coffees, muffins, desserts and other goodies in their historic building built in 1906 which boasts the original art deco soda fountain from the 30's.
Rock Run Country Historical Society Museum
Open: Wednesday: 1 pm to 3 pm; or by appointment This museum, in an 1870's building, features artifacts from the Rock City area including pictures, clothing, articles and more.
Raven's Grin Inn
At this real haunted house, built in 1870, you'll hear about the inn's spooky history on a tour that takes you through the twists and turns of this creepy building.
Old River School Historic District
This residential district includes original Freeport and the city's first street, Monterey, and was later known as the "Gold Coast". Points of interest include Freeport's oldest house (built in 1838), the childhood home of famed Hollywood gossip columnist Louella Parsons, a monument honoring Freeport's founder, William "Tutty" Baker, and the Van Buren Bridge, built in 1885 of wrought iron.
Mt. Carroll Walking Tour
Take a self-guided walking tour through Mt. Carroll's historic district, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
McConnell Area Historical Society & Museum
Items on display in this local town museum include a mill stone, ox yoke, McConnell telephone switchboard, and other items relating to the history of McConnell and Waddams Township. There is a large collection of family histories, obituaries, and genealogical materials. Special activities and exhibits are planned for each of the open dates.
Market Street Commons at the Kraft Building
Market Street Commons is located in the heart of the Mt. Carroll historic district, in the old Kraft Building. The Kraft Building houses the community Welcome Center and Chamber of Commerce, along with shops.
Little White Church on the Hill Celebration Chapel
This restored 1894 country church boasts stained glass, original pews, pine flooring and authentic lighting. The outdoor chapel includes a cobblestone walk and wedding dove benches.
Lincoln-Douglas Debate Square
Experience the history of the second of the famous debates between Abraham Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas. It was at this site on August 27, 1858 that the Freeport Doctrine, an important statement regarding slavery and state's rights, was proclaimed by Douglas. The site is self-interpretative through a series of waysides that tell of the events and ideas which led up to the debates, as well as the life-size statues "Lincoln and Douglas in Debate."
Lincoln-Douglas Debate Square
Experience the history of the second of the famous debates between Abraham Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas. It was at this site on August 27, 1858 that the Freeport Doctrine, an import statement regarding slavery and state's rights, was proclaimed by Douglas. The site is self-interpretative through a series of waysides that tell of the events and ideas which led up to the debates, and also includes the life-size statues "Lincoln and Douglas in Debate" by artist Lily Tolpo. The park-like setting is complete with benches, lighting and spacious walks.
Lincoln The Debater Statue
This famous statue was designed by Leonard Crunelle of Chicago, and was presented to Freeport at the 71st anniversary of the Lincoln-Douglas Debate on August 27, 1929, by local industrialist W. T. Rawleigh. It is located in Taylor Park.
Lena Water Tower
Built in 1896, the 100-foot-tall tower is believed to be one of only three in Illinois of similar construction, and has become the symbol of the Village of Lena.
Lena Area Historical Museum
The Lena Historical Museum tells the history of Lena and the surrounding area, with galleries focusing on various historical topics. Highlights include a Civil War regimental flag and an extensive clothing collection. Also on the grounds are a summer kitchen, the first log schoolhouse built in Lena, an Illinois Central Railroad caboose, a general store, a recreated chapel, and a barn filled with antique vehicles and farm tools. Open: Saturday: 1 pm - 4 pm; or by appointment.