Showing 1-24 of 36 items found in History
This is an outdoor railroad using 1/2 inch scale G Gauge with over 1,000 feet of track in a 45 by 60 foot outdoor garden. We run trains modeled from the late 1800's to the present time with both freight and passenger trains. We concentrate on rail cars hauling coal, grain, alcohol, ballast, and various commodities. At any given running, you can see steam and diesel trains depending on the era we are running that day on the inner and outer tracks of this Garden. The engines have digital sound boards for realism.
This museum features exhibits of local history and antique farm tools.
This 3 story historic building contains artifacts telling the story of this Mississippi River community. Noteworthy displays include over 80 mannequins dressed in authentic Civil War uniforms, native son & famous big-band musician Wayne King memorabilia, railroad artifacts and running model RR layout Savanna Ordnance Depot artifacts and much more.
This monument honors William "Tutty" Baker, the founder of Freeport. Tutty came to this area, which was home to the Winnebago Indians, in 1835 and built a trading post along the banks of the Pecatonica River, offering travelers free ferry rides.
The Lena Historical Museum tells the history of Lena and the surrounding area, with galleries focusing on various historical topics. Highlights include a Civil War regimental flag and an extensive clothing collection. Also on the grounds are a summer kitchen, the first log schoolhouse built in Lena, an Illinois Central Railroad caboose, a general store, a recreated chapel, and a barn filled with antique vehicles and farm tools. Open: Saturday: 1 pm - 4 pm; or by appointment.
The museum gift shop is located at the rear entrance of the Taylor Mansion. It offers unique gifts including reproduction toys and games, pretzel-themed gift items, Rawleigh products, books of historical and local interest and more
This residential district includes original Freeport and the city's first street, Monterey, and was later known as the "Gold Coast". Points of interest include Freeport's oldest house (built in 1838), the childhood home of famed Hollywood gossip columnist Louella Parsons, a monument honoring Freeport's founder, William "Tutty" Baker, and the Van Buren Bridge, built in 1885 of wrought iron.
Tour the Elizabeth History Museum and view more than four thousand local history artifacts on lead mining; the Apple River Fort; Elizabeth businesses, schools and veterans.
Jane Addams, born and raised in Cedarville, was an internationally famous humanitarian and social work pioneer who founded Hull House and won the Nobel Peace Prize. She is buried in this lovely old hillside cemetery.
At this real haunted house, built in 1870, you'll hear about the inn's spooky history on a tour that takes you through the twists and turns of this creepy building.
On the Mississippi River in an old 12-acre quarry is where you will find a restored and furnished mid-1800s settlement. Paths through the wooded hillsides lead from one home site to another.
The Windmill Cultural Center houses an extensive collection of 21 European windmills representing ten European countries. Interpretive exhibits provide unique information on the products produced by windmills, country of origin, windmill specifications, and the cultural impact of windmills. The Education Area features video presentations of the windmill countries and an education area contains children's activities including coloring, puzzles, and toys promoting scientific concepts. The gift shop sells fresh stone-ground flour, Delft pottery, and souvenirs of Fulton, the Windmill Cultural Center and the windmill.
High atop a wooded hill, overlooking the Mississippi River, sits Carroll County's grandest mansion. Experience a guided tour of this six story, 63 room, hilltop home of Mr. & Mrs. Alan St. George. An amazing 2.5 hour tour featuring original art work and sculptures. Alan and Adrienne St. George spent over 30 years perfecting this castle of American Aristocracy which is now open to the public. Available for tours, weddings, events and receptions. Call for reservations.
Take a self-guided walking tour through Mt. Carroll's historic district, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Civil War Soldiers Monument, on the southwest corner of the Stephenson County Courthouse, is inscribed with the names of those soldiers from Stephenson County who lost their lives in the Civil War. On the southeast corner is the Stephenson County Vietnam Era Veterans Memorial, which is a bronze statue of a full-sized M-16 with a bayonet stuck in the ground and a helmet on top.
The Fulton Historical Society is located in this Civil War-era home donated to the city by Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Martin.
This museum, operated by the Stephenson County Antique Engine Club, which also operates the Silver Creek and Stephenson Railroad, offers 20 rooms of early Americana. Exhibts include 500 pieces of crockery, dolls, a recreated schoolroom and kitchen, art exhibits, quilts, tools and agricultural equipment, and many other historical exhibits. Also on the grounds is a display of antique machinery and an exhibit of Henny Motor Company vehicles which were manufactured in Freeport. Plus visitors can view the operating Cooper-Corliss engine, a giant 130-ton steam engine with a 25 foot flywheel which originally operated a rolling mill in a zinc plant. Special exhibits and events are featured throughout the year. Open: May thru October on selected holidays and weekends: 11 am - 4 pm.
All aboard, as a 36-ton, 1912 Heisler steam locomotive pulls three cabooses, including an antique red caboose reported to be the oldest in the state, for a four-mile ride through farmlands. Purchase your ticket at the Silver Creek Depot, a turn-of-the-century replica filled with railroad artifacts, and browse the Freight House Gift Shop and visit the Silvercreek Museum across the street. Open: May thru October on selected holiday and weekends; 1 am - 4 pm. Train departs on the hour.
Stockton Heritage Museum is a not-for-profit entity dedicated to the preservation and teaching of Stockton area history. Discover exhibits on the Chicago Great Western Railroad, model trains, history of Kraft Foods, and Stockton-area history exhibits.
Featuring local and Illinois made gifts, foods, and specialties. Enjoy specialty coffees, muffins, desserts and other goodies in their historic building built in 1906 which boasts the original art deco soda fountain from the 30's.
This famous statue was designed by Leonard Crunelle and was presented to Freeport at the 71st anniversary of the Lincoln-Douglas Debate on August 27, 1929, by local industrialist W. T. Rawleigh. It is located in Taylor Park.
Built in 1896, the 100-foot-tall tower is believed to be one of only three in Illinois of similar construction, and has become the symbol of the Village of Lena.
The 1878 Henry School, located on the Galena Trail, was used as an operating school until 1957. The Polo Historical Society has turned it back into an old country school, which includes displays on the Black Hawk War of 1832.
The Standish House B&B is owned and operated by a direct descendent of Miles Standish and is filled with antiques and collections of Early American history. You’ll enjoy canopy beds, sumptuous breakfasts and more. We’re only minutes from Lake Carroll and are located on a quiet residential street in the quaint community of Lanark.