Showing 1-24 of 31 items found in History
The Colonel Davenport House, located on Arsenal Island, is the oldest residence in the Quad Cities. Guided tours of this furnished home will reveal interesting facts about Quad Cities' history, and the tragic ending for Colonel Davenport. Open May through October on Thursday through Sunday from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m.
A must-see attraction in Kewanee is the Woodland Palace at Francis Park, the first “green” home in Illinois. This unusual home was built way ahead of its time and is filled with engineering wonders. Learn about the quirky and eccentric man who built and lived in the home. Fred Francis was an artist, poet, inventor, builder, mathematician, engineer, and a naturist. Francis started to build the home in 1890 and worked on it for the next thirty-six years. It features hand-carved molding, a water purification system, and is the first house in the state of Illinois to have air-conditioning without the aid of electricity. View the sophisticated achievements of disappearing windows, doors, and more. Visit a home where everything seems to work in harmony. Woodland Palace is open seven days a week from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. April through October 1.
Take a look back in history and visit the Steeple building, built in 1854. Architecturally intriguing it is a three-story stucco Greek Revival structure with a two-story tower and 66 six-over-six windows. It was built to be used as a hotel, but instead was used as a dwelling, school, administration building, and later housed a bank, telephone switchboard and apartments. The museum is home to the Bishop Hill Heritage Association offices. The rooms and exhibit showcase historic artifacts and photos of early Colony days and take visitors back through time to a quaint prairie village. Group tours by appointment, small fee. Open Daily 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Sunday Noon to 4 p.m.
Celebrate the 171st anniversary of the Bishop Hill Colony and the 121st year of the Old Settler’s Association. Enjoy a traditional chicken dinner, the High Society Band Concert and program featuring Bishop Hill Colony descendants’ speakers. Sunday a reunion of students and teachers from the Bishop Hill Colony School takes place and memories are shared. Hours: 11:30 am to 3 pm.
Founded in 1976, the group maintains the Kewanee Historical Society's Robert and Marcella Richards Museum, featuring numerous exhibits highlighting the colorful history of Kewanee. Open, May 1st to October 1st Thursday & Saturday, 1:30PM-4:00PM Open Everyday Labor Day Weekend
Tour this centennial barn, one of the largest in the country and one of forty-two left in the State of Illinois. It stands 80 feet high and 85 feet in diameter and features a 16-foot diameter floor to ceiling silo. A farm implement museum in on the main floor. Tours are provided by Friends of Johnson’s Park Foundation and groups of ten or more asked to call ahead. Open the first, third, and fifth Saturday beginning May through October. Hours: 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
If motorcycles are your thing, check out Reiman’s Harley Davidson. Roger Reiman, the original proprietor, is a 1998 inductee into the American Motorcycle Association’s Hall of Fame and a three-time winner of the Daytona 200. A top competitor in the AMA’s Grand National Circuit during the 1960s, Reiman cut back on his racing schedule to manage the family Harley Davidson dealership in Kewanee during the 1970s. It was during this time that he became famous as motorcycle stuntman Evel Knievel’s head mechanic. Since Reiman’s death in a racing accident in 1997, the Packee family has owned and operated the dealership. One of the top Harley Davidson dealerships in the Midwest, Reiman’s can meet every motorcycle enthusiast’s needs and desires. Stop by and visit the Racing Museum and check out the history of Roger Reiman and Evel Knievel. Axle will be there to greet you!
This museum's detailed exhibits include a one-room schoolhouse, doctor's and dentist's offices, the war room, restored ag implements, machinery, an authentic windmill and a hog house.
Built in 1911 and listed in the National Register of Historic Sites, this house is now owned by the Andover Historical Society. Was built as one of nine Woman's League Chapter Houses in the state of Illinois, features stylistic characteristics of the arts and crafts movement.
Andover's quaint chapel was endowed by the world-famous opera singer Jenny Lind. Built in 1850, this chapel is the "Mother Church" of the former Augustana Lutheran Synod of America.
The Geneseo Historical Museum features displays of local people and places in an Italianate-style home built in the mid-1800. Walk through the 27-rooms which tell the story of how people lived in the past and Geneseo’s history. See the Underground Railroad space used to hide runaway slaves. A wide variety of President Abraham Lincoln artifacts are the centerpiece of the museum. Visit the newly built carriage house home to Geneseo’s agricultural history. Explore and be delighted while learning about Geneseo’s heritage
Return to the serenity of an earlier time with a visit to this restored Swedish village. See traditional craftsmen at work, explore our museums, visit our numerous and unique shops and dine in one of our Swedish-American restaurants.
This historical society museum has diplays and entertaining stories about the people and history of Atkinson, the Hennepin Canal, Rolle Bolle and Henry County.
The Alexis Museum houses numerous fascinating displays that depict the early days of the community.
View navigation and learn about the Mississippi River past and present. Located on historical Rock Island Arsenal Island at Lock & Dam 15, you can watch barges lock through and make reservations for Lock & Dam Tours during the Summer weekend months. Call ahead for reservations for guided Lock & Dam tours.
The Karpeles Manuscript Library Museum houses the largest private holdings of important original manuscripts and documents. The archives include manuscripts from the fields of literature, science, religion, history, and art. Among the treasures are the original draft of the Bill of Rights of the United States and the "Thanksgiving Proclamation" signed by George Washington. Exhibits change throughout the year.The museum is situated in a beautiful historic church that was built in 1914. Admission is free.
Sauk and Mesquaki Indian artifacts, many directly from Black Hawk's family and tribes connected with Black Hawk. Voted one of the 7 Wonders of Illinois in 2007, this museum is situated inside Black Hawk State Historic Site - a nature reserve. Visit Black Hawk Lodge and the Fur Trading exhibit connected to the museum.
One of Illinois' finest examples of courthouse architecture, this stately structure was built in 1878. The main courtroom ceiling is decorated with murals depicting the principal communities of the county.
Scottish Rite Cathedral is on the former site of the Stillman Wheelock mansion, this Gothic Revival style cathedral was built in 1930.
This former home of August Rehnstrom was a temporary haven for Swedish immigrants in the 1860s. The lawn features the bell from the area's first two-story school and millstones from the historic Edwards River Mill.
Two historic homes, built in 1872 and 1892, were occupied by four generations of John Deere's descendants. Guided tours showcase the history of the houses, and are available by reservation only. Learn about the design and construction of these magnificent homes and the Deere family members who once lived there. Tours provide wonderful insights into the family and Deere & Company.
One of the largest collections of rocks, minerals, and fossils in the Midwest. Exhibit also includes a complete skeleton of the dinosaur Cryolophosaurus and a large fluorescent mineral exhibit. Museum is located on the campus of Augustana College in the Swenson Hall of Geosciences.
The John Hauberg Indian Museum is located in Black Hawk State Historic Site in Rock Island, Illinois and features full-size replicas of Sauk winter and summer houses. Dioramas with life-size figures depict activities of the Sauk and Meskwaki people between 1750 to1830. Artifacts, including authentic trade goods, jewelry and domestic items are displayed. In addition, a special exhibit tells the story of the Sauk and Meskwaki along with a four by eight foot scale model of the city of Saukenuk - one of the largest Native American Indian settlements in North America. This small, intimate museum is nestled in a park setting filled with wooded hiking trails and picnic areas. Guided tours of the museum are given by appointment by calling 309-788-9536.