Showing 1-24 of 33 items found in History
Step back in time and view memorabilia that traces the history of Northern Illinois.
The second-oldest Episcopal church in the state of Illinois was built in 1849 of locally quarried limestone, and is a unique combination of Gothic and Greek architecture.
This museum features exhibits of local history and antique farm tools.
See model trains in operation, an HO-scale model of the Chesapeake & Ohio RR circa 1950s West Virginia, and running diesel and steam locomotives on a double main line.
This local museum explores the history of Sterling and Rock Falls.
This museum that focuses on the Tampico area features exhibits related to schools, agriculture, prominent families and businesses. Items on display include newspapers, funeral records and memorabilia.
This four-story, reconstructed 1847 grist mill features a four-ton waterwheel and displays of 1800s milling equipment.
A bronze statue of Ronald Reagan, astride the likeness of a palomino horse he rode nearly 60 years ago, sits at the head of the Heritage Crossing Riverfront Plaza located on River Street in downtown Dixon. The statue, created by local artist Don Reed, serves as the centerpiece of Heritage Crossing, an open-air plaza that looks out onto the Rock River.
Built in 1858, this Italian Renaissance-style home displays the history of the Dillon family and Northwestern Steel, as well as fine antiques which belonged to the Dillons.
Franklin Creek Grist Mill, 1893 Twist Road off Old Mill Road, Franklin Grove. Covered wagon tours. Interpretive Center.
This quaint apartment, featuring the bedroom where the President was born, restored and decorated to its original 1900's style, sits on the second floor at the site of the First National Bank which has also been restored. Next door is a gift store and museum of Reagan memorabilia.
The Asa Crook Home is the first frame house built in 1839 by Whiteside County's first settler. The restored home is open for tours.
Step back in time in the Loveland Museum and get a glimpse of Dixon and Lee County history. See exhibits from the life of "Father" John Dixon, the Blackhawk War, Civil War and other conflicts, local industry and attractions, the Truesdell Bridge disaster and President Ronald Reagan.
Dedicated to promoting family history and helping people in their genealogical research, the society's archives are housed in the Family Tree Center.
The town of Sterling features 10 colorful murals in its downtown area that depict the history of the community.
Built in 1876, this 19-room museum, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was the division headquarters for Illinois Central Railroad. The museum showcases local artifacts from Amboy and the surrounding area.
The Standish House B&B is owned and operated by a direct descendent of Miles Standish and is filled with antiques and collections of Early American history. You’ll enjoy canopy beds, sumptuous breakfasts and more. We’re only minutes from Lake Carroll and are located on a quiet residential street in the quaint community of Lanark.
The first brick home built in Polo is now a tourist information center and home of the local Convention and Visitors Bureau.
The 1878 Henry School, located on the Galena Trail, was used as an operating school until 1957. The Polo Historical Society has turned it back into an old country school, which includes displays on the Black Hawk War of 1832.
This memorial commemorates Lincoln's 1832 service in the Black Hawk War, and consists of a bronze figure of Lincoln as a 23-year-old captain. The statue was dedicated in 1930 during the centennial celebration of the town of Dixon.
Lincoln slept here two nights in 1856, as the guest of his friend Senator Aplington, the founder of the village of Polo. Learn about the history of Polo and view the Ogle County Military Museum, which showcases artifacts from all wars.
Abraham Lincoln, then 47, came to Sterling to speak at a rally for presidential candidate, John C. Fremont. On July 18, 1856, a twist of fate brought Mr. Lincoln to the home of Sheriff William Manahan to spend the night. He slept on a sofa with two chairs placed at its end to accommodate his long legs. In the morning he graciously thanked his host and left Sterling and the rest is history! The home has been restored and its interior, furnishings, and facade reflect the time when Lincoln visited in the late 1850s.
The Barn at Allen Acres Wedding and Reception Venue sits on 3 and 1/2 acres just on the edge of town in Rock Falls IL. The property is surrounded by a cornfield and offers a serene tranquil destination for your wedding and reception. The property is less than a 5 minute drive to restaurants and hotels. The Dairy Barn was built in the 1920's and restored in 2011. It boasts a beautiful 26 foot vaulted ceiling in the upstairs haymow with some of its original architecture still intact. During the process of the restoration, reclaimed barn wood and reclaimed hardware were used whenever possible, maintaining the rustic feel of the Barn. We've added a 5 foot wide set of stairs leading to the upstairs space and a small deck with stairs, off of the back of the Barn, giving the bride a dramatic entrance down the aisle and to the alter. The upstairs haymow has a capacity of 150 people for a wedding ceremony. The downstairs area, where the dairy cows were kept, in the early years of the barn, also has a capacity for 150 people.