Showing 865-960 of 1,048 items found in History
The Sky View Drive-In Theatre in Litchfield opened in the Spring of 1950 and has been in operation each season since then. We are a seasonal operation and run from the first or second weekend in April until the end of September. Open on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only.
Selected by Warner Bros to represent Smallville in the filming “Man of Steel”, Plano is now the home of the Smallville Museum. The museum collection contains a variety of props and other items used in the filming of the latest Superman movie.
Located on the University of Chicago Campus, the Smart Museum houses a collection of over 7,500 objects, spanning 5,000 years of artistic creation.
The Civil War Soldiers Monument, on the southwest corner of the Stephenson County Courthouse, is inscribed with the names of those soldiers from Stephenson County who lost their lives in the Civil War. On the southeast corner is the Stephenson County Vietnam Era Veterans Memorial, which is a bronze statue of a full-sized M-16 with a bayonet stuck in the ground and a helmet on top.
The Soulsby Service Station is a historic service station in Mount Olive, Illinois. The station is located along historic U.S. Route 66 and is the oldest usable service station on the highway in Illinois. It serves as an example of the house and canopy gas station design.
This beautiful Mediterranean Revival-style cultural center on the lakefront was once an exclusive 1900s country club, and now offers performances that range from classical music to African dance. The Obamas held their wedding reception here.
Visit the finest genealogical research library in the south suburbs.
Southern Illinois University Carbondale offers guided field trips of its farms, conducted by student agri-ambassadors.
This living memorial offers an insight into rural and farming life, with exhibits that include antique farm implements and a number of household items.
A museum inside the 1875 Opera House is full of Popeye merchandise and memorabilia.
The Spirits of Bloomington Historic Ghost Tours feature guides dressed as President Abraham Lincoln and Mary Todd Lincoln who reveal fascinating tales, myths and paranormal accounts of McLean County.
The Spoon River Valley Scenic Drive Associates invite you to come to Fulton County, Illinois and enjoy the natural wonders of the Spoon River Valley. Spoon River has carved a wide scenic valley through Fulton County as it flows from London Mills to the south and east where it joins the Illinois River near the southeastern corner of the county. The Spoon River became nationally known from the work of Edgar Lee Masters, author of the noted Spoon River Anthology. Come on out the first two full weekends in October. There are over one hundred miles of scenic routes on the Spoon River Valley Scenic Drive to be enjoyed on this driving tour with beautiful fall colors. There will be food, arts, crafts, entertainment and flea market. Visit 17 villages and historic sites!
A Tudor revival building constructed in 1931 by William Sprague to house a service station, restaurant and garage, it is the largest of three remaining two-story fuel station buildings on US 66, originally housing a café and service station on the main floor plus two second-floor apartments for the owner and the station attendant.
135 acres, natural history museum, handicapped-accessible trails, 1880's living history farm and pioneer cooking demos. Cost for some programs.
The Mission of the Springfield and Central Illinois African American History Museum is to identify, research, collect, catalogue, restore, house, maintain and interpret documents and artifacts relating to and chronicling the history and legacy of African Americans in Springfield and Central Illinois. The Museum will provide research opportunities, educational programming and interpretive services for historians, authors, educators, and others interested in the lives and legacies of African Americans in Central Illinois.
This temple is one of only three Sri Venkateswara Hindu temples in the United States, constructed by Native American artisans.
Rotating exhibits of St. Charles history, including Civil War artifacts, local industry and other fascinating facts. Local history research archives available by appointment. Gift shop too.
This Victorian adaptation of a Greek Revival home was built in the early 1800s. In addition to period furniture and vintage clothing, artifacts, and quilts, the museum contains an extensive research library and gift shop.
The second-oldest Episcopal church in the state of Illinois was built in 1849 of locally quarried limestone, and is a unique combination of Gothic and Greek architecture.
A producer of milk, vegetables and grains since 1977, the farm offers tours, and presents the annual Shades of Autumn festival during the month of September.
Although Odell's Standard Oil Gas Station no longer sells gasoline, it has become a welcome center for the Village of Odell. Owned by the Village of Odell, the station is open daily 11:00am to 3:00pm for tours and as a visitor center.
Seasonal waterfalls, awe-inspiring bluffs and rugged canyons dominate the storied landscape at Starved Rock. Rich with history and beauty, Starved Rock’s hiking trails meander through towering trees and scenic overlooks along the Illinois River. Outdoor activities include hiking, canoeing, paddle boat cruises, cross-country skiing, trolley rides, fishing and picnicking. Visitors can stay at the historic Starved Rock Lodge or in one of its cozy cabins.
State Farm is Bloomington-Normal's largest employer and the nation's largest insurance company. Tours are offered at the Corporate Building on State Farm Plaza and the historic Fire Building.
The museum gift shop is located at the rear entrance of the Taylor Mansion. It offers unique gifts including reproduction toys and games, pretzel-themed gift items, Rawleigh products, books of historical and local interest and more
The town of Sterling features 10 colorful murals in its downtown area that depict the history of the community.
This local museum explores the history of Sterling and Rock Falls.
The Stevenson family brought honor to McLean County for three generations. Buried at Evergreen Memorial Cemetery are Adlai I, Vice President to Grover Cleveland, and Adlai II, Governor of Illinois, Ambassador to the United Nations and twice Democratic candidate for the United States Presidency. Also buried here are Adlai's wife, Letitia Green Stevenson, and many other important figures from Bloomington- Normal history. A discovery walk takes place here annually to celebrate the lives of these historical figures.
Explore Chicago's lakefront, museums and parks on a three-hour Segway tour led by guides all year round. Steve's Segway Tours was started by a tour guide, is owned by a tour guide, and is managed by tour guides. Why is this so important? Because only a tour guide truly understands that great tour guides put their heart and soul into each tour.
Climb aboard the Trolley, sit back and relax as we bring the history of historic Petersburg Illinois and the surrounding area to you. We will take you past several points of interest along your journey back in history. Petersburg is rich in Victorian Homes, most of which were built in the 1860's and 1870's. During your journey into history, you will be entertained by points of interest along the way. We will stop for a short while in downtown Petersburg. At this time, you may choose to disembark and enjoy the downtown area on foot. There are a variety of shops and eateries to wander through. Don't worry, the trolley will return to pick you up. Your ticket includes a round trip back to Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site. The Trolley runs on an hourly schedule. Consult with your conductor as to the return pick up times as well as the time of the last trolley of the day. Charter Available.
The library was named for Civil War veteran Robert B. Stinson, who left his estate for the establishment of a library. The building was the work of Walter B. Griffin, who designed it in a Frank Lloyd Wright style.
Stockton Heritage Museum is a not-for-profit entity dedicated to the preservation and teaching of Stockton area history. Discover exhibits on the Chicago Great Western Railroad, model trains, history of Kraft Foods, and Stockton-area history exhibits.
Original log buildings in this educational village are from Illinois' early prairie years.
Built in 1856, the Stone Mill was originally used to produce flour. In 1965, the building was deeded to the Sandwich Historical Society. The building itself is a museum exhibit which includes the original beams and support posts made of 125 year old timber. The historical society first opened the museum to the public in 1969 and now includes three floors of exhibits. Among the exhibits are fire fighting equipment, antique car, furniture, signage, photos and many other items from the area's past. The museum is open every Sunday, 1-4pm during warm months (April to October).
Displays include 19th-century clothing, music room, local artifacts, and many photographs depicting Streatorland history.
A 20th century Kankakee streetcar was moved to Gardner in 1932 to serve as a diner. In 1937, the streetcar became a cottage and playhouse. It was moved behind the Riviera in 1955 and is still there today. It was restored ty the Route 66 Association of Illinois and inducted into the Route 66 Hall of Fame in 2001.
Built in the 1850's, this home welcomed Abraham Lincoln in 1860. Among the many connections Pontiac has to Abraham Lincoln, one of the most interesting revolves around Lincoln's friendship with local attorney, Jason W. Strevell. Strevell was born in New York and migrated to Illinois in 1855. He was admitted to the Illinois bar that same year, and began his practice in Pontiac. He was involved in his legal practice here for twenty-four years. He served in the Illinois House of Representatives, and also had one term as a Senator. The house is currently being restored by the Livingston County Historical Society.
The Super Museum houses the mythical caped hero from the big green planet. The museum is filled with a $2.5 billion collection spanning 60 years, honoring the most famous hero of all time.
Visit Superman Square in Metropolis to have your picture taken with the 15-foot-tall statue of the Man of Steel. A statue of Lois Lane is located nearby. Across the street is the Super Museum, showcasing rare Superman memorabilia and selling superhero souvenirs.
Unique floral designs, exquisite silk florals enhance all decors and lifestyles. Accent lamps, framed prints, decorative home accessories all beautifully displayed.
This is an outdoor railroad using 1/2 inch scale G Gauge with over 1,000 feet of track in a 45 by 60 foot outdoor garden. We run trains modeled from the late 1800's to the present time with both freight and passenger trains. We concentrate on rail cars hauling coal, grain, alcohol, ballast, and various commodities. At any given running, you can see steam and diesel trains depending on the era we are running that day on the inner and outer tracks of this Garden. The engines have digital sound boards for realism.
Located in Andersonville, a Swedish enclave in Chicago, this is a cultural and learning center with artifacts, photographs and exhibits tracing Swedish American history.
The Sycamore History Museum strives to collect, preserve, interpret, and exhibit significant materials relating to Sycamore and the surrounding area, to provide related educational services for the public knowledge of Sycamore.
Although the Sycamore Public Library did not open its doors until 1892, we can trace its roots back to 1875 when a Chautauqua Scientific Circle was formed in Sycamore. Once members had completed the course, they established the Athena Literary Society in order to form a public library. Over the course of three years they raised $700 and asked city council to appropriate money for books and that the mayor appoint a board of directors. On July 12, 1892, the Sycamore Public Library opened in Hoyt and Rogers’ Store, second floor, in the backroom. This building now is occupied by Marlyn’s Majorettes. The City Council appropriated $800 to purchase books. The Athena Literary Society assisted with funding the library for the first two years. Miss Flora Jeannette Dow, a member of Athena, was the first librarian. In 1902, Andrew Carnegie offered the City of Sycamore $10,000 for the construction of a library, provided an acceptable site could be secured and that the Sycamore City Council would annually appropriate at least 10% of his donation for maintaining the building. Mr. Frederick B. Townsend donated the property where the library stands today. Miss Dow received the honor of placing the first trowel of mortar on the cornerstone on May 24, 1905. Over the next 90 years, several renovation and remodeling projects took place and then on October 14, 1995, a new era of growth began with the groundbreaking ceremony for the library expansion. Today we are looking at ways to serve the community’s needs by providing the best possible services and programs available.
Take one-hour seasonal tours through Syngenta Seeds, a soybean processing plant.
This museum that focuses on the Tampico area features exhibits related to schools, agriculture, prominent families and businesses. Items on display include newspapers, funeral records and memorabilia.
This auditorium opened on August 23, 1914, and is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
See displays of early life in this German Catholic community, founded in 1838. The first Franciscans arrived in October 1858, and the three priests and six brothers quickly set about building a parish and friary.
Permanent exhibits here include African art collections and slave artifacts. Rotating displays have included Underground Railroad message quilts and local artwork. The museum's changing exhibits seek to portray the outstanding achievements of African American citizens.
AACGS promotes and provides resources and education on the history of the African American. Embracing all cultures, it offers genealogy workshops, museum displays, storytelling, essay and poetry contests, and the promotion of Cultural Arts.
The Annex Building, built in 1912, is at the very heart of Herrin, Illinois’ thriving downtown on Park Avenue. The former Annex Movie Theater was converted into a bakery café and opened on Halloween 2011. The Annex Coffee & Deli is committed to delivering the best coffee house & bakery café experience in a clean and stylish environment which recalls the glory days of the historic building in which it is housed.
The Barn at Allen Acres Wedding and Reception Venue sits on 3 and 1/2 acres just on the edge of town in Rock Falls IL. The property is surrounded by a cornfield and offers a serene tranquil destination for your wedding and reception. The property is less than a 5 minute drive to restaurants and hotels. The Dairy Barn was built in the 1920's and restored in 2011. It boasts a beautiful 26 foot vaulted ceiling in the upstairs haymow with some of its original architecture still intact. During the process of the restoration, reclaimed barn wood and reclaimed hardware were used whenever possible, maintaining the rustic feel of the Barn. We've added a 5 foot wide set of stairs leading to the upstairs space and a small deck with stairs, off of the back of the Barn, giving the bride a dramatic entrance down the aisle and to the alter. The upstairs haymow has a capacity of 150 people for a wedding ceremony. The downstairs area, where the dairy cows were kept, in the early years of the barn, also has a capacity for 150 people.
The Black Ensemble Theater is a dynamic organization described as a local cornerstone, a national treasure and an international success. It has launched over 100 productions and employed over 5,000 artists since its inception. Annually 50,000 patrons experience its musical theater and it has become one of the most prominant African-American theater companies in the nation.
This satellite facility of the international museum features contemporary art, architecture and photography from around the world.
Return to Rt. 66, circa 1947, when you overnight at The Colaw Rooming House. Where you'll experience travel on the Mother Road before Interstates and motel chains were the norm. Located just 2 blocks from Rt. 66 in quaint Atlanta, Illinois, The Colaw Rooming House offers three bedrooms, two full baths, a charming living room with fireplace, dinning room, curved front porch, and delightful yellow and red 1940's kitchen. To further enhance your step back in time, your stay includes a complimentary breakfast at The Palms Grill Cafe-Atlanta's fully restored, circa 1935 small town diner. For more information please visit our website www.thecolawhouse.com
The house, built in 1800, is an example of French and American architecture.
CITY:Prairie du Rocher
This impressive black granite piece located on the grounds of Vandalia's Tourist Information Center is a tribute to prairie farmers.
Discover Sue, the largest and most complete T. rex ever found! At the Field Museum you can also get a bug's-eye view in the Underground Adventure, descend into an Egyptian tomb, be dazzled in the Hall of Gems, come nose to nose with the infamous man-eating lions of Tsavo, and walk among dinosaurs in Evolving Planet.
The Flower Shop- Java House is located on the North side of the historic Carthage Square. The Flower Shop carries a full array of flowers and gifts for any occasion. The Java House offers coffee, lattes, teas and smoothies in a homey relaxed atmosphere.
A landmark in Lockport and along the I&M Canal since 1838, The Gaylord Building connects visitors to America's forgotten Canal Era. Come tour the site and enjoy fine dining in the Public Landing Restaurant. Then stroll or bike ride along the scenic canal trail or explore Lockport's National Register Historic District. Monday - Saturday 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM and Sunday 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Special group tours by appointment. The Gaylord Building is a historic site of the National Trust for Historic Preservation (www.preservationnation.org). The Gaylord Building played a vital role in one of the great enterprises of the 19th century: the Illinois & Michigan Canal. In this handsome limestone warehouse visitors will discover exhibitions illustrating the unique heritage of the site and the Canal Corridor. A landmark in Lockport and along the I&M Canal since 1838, The Gaylord Building connects visitors to America's forgotten Canal Era. Come tour the site and enjoy fine dining in the Public Landing Restaurant. Then stroll or bike ride along the scenic canal trail or explore Lockport's National Register Historic District. Special group tours by appointment. The Gaylord building is a historic site of the National Trust for Historic Preservation (www.preservationnation.org). Monday - Saturday 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM and Sunday 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM.
The prairie grove, covering 123 acres of ecologically diverse prairie land, is preserved and maintained as former home of the visionary horticulturist and educator Dr. John Kennicott, who brought his family from New Orleans to settle on his land in 1836. The Grove, located in Glenview, is a National Historic Landmark and is on the National Registry of Historic Places. It offers many opportunities for educational, environmental and historical enjoyment including two historic homes, the Kennicott House and the Redfield Estate; the Grove Interpretive Center, a Native American Village, a Log Cabin, a Schoolhouse, a Wetlands Greenhouse and numerous interpretive trails.
Quincy's original public library, now home to Quincy area artifacts, a stained glass gallery, gift shop and Mormon City of Refuge display. Open Tues-Fri. 10-4pm, Sat 10-5pm.
Anchored by items gifted by Col. Edd & Violet Kueker, this collection represents the settlement of the West, numerous U.S. wars and early transportation. There is even a display of items from the Stone Age retrieved during a local archaeological dig. Changing displays and Special Exhibits from the Museum collection and "on loan" items provide awesome journeys through the pages of history.
Established in 1907 by a group of Russian immigrants who lived and labored in Beneld, the group built homes and raised their families while adding their customs to the area's ever-mixing cultures.
The world's only statue of Abe Lincoln and a pig commemorates Lincoln's bemused request for a "writ of quietus" to calm noisy pigs gathered under the courthouse floor. "The Last Stop" refers to the location on the old 8th Judicial Circuit.
The Legacy Walk is a dynamic outdoor LGBT history exhibit in the "Lakeview" neighborhood of Chicago. Presently, along the half mile of the North Halsted Street Corridor, between Belmont Avenue and Grace Street, ten (10) pairs of 25'-tall decorative "Rainbow Pylons" define the nexus of Chicago's LGBT community. Affixed to the pylons are a series of bronze memorial plaques commemorating the life and work of notable lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender individuals whose achievements have helped shape the world
Historical landmark situated on 60 magnificent acres in the Village of Lake Villa. Beautifully restored and renovated for weddings, banquets and private parties. Three-season tent accommodates up to 350 guests.
The beautiful house is an example of an 1830s hotel. Charles Dickens once visited there in 1842 while researching a book he wrote on prairies in America.
Built in 1929, The Mill Restaurant was a highlight of Route 66 in Lincoln. The building sat empty and was in danger of destruction, but is now on the way to recovery. Special tours will be given upon request and appointment.
Experience Nauvoo in an original pioneer brick home. Built in 1846, the Mix house is located on historic Parley Street. With many period furnishings, this accurately restored home retains the feel of the period while providing modern comforts. The Mix House is 1.3 miles from the Temple, 1 mile from the Old Nauvoo Burial Grounds, Nauvoo State Park and the Rheinberger Museum. With farm ground on all four sides, enjoy country living within the city limits, complete with cattle and horses! In addition, Illinois’ oldest operating winery is located an easy 5 minute walk along Parley Street.
Authentic 1897 blacksmith shop with working forges. Original tools/equipment and an on-site historian. Gift shop: Galena-forged items.
Built in 1927, Old Chain of Rocks was the fifth bridge to cross the Mississippi River, which shortened the distance between St. Louis, Missouri, and Edwardsville, Illinois by 15 miles.
The Palms Grill Cafe was a well-known restaurant during the heyday of Route 66. Recently the cafe was revitalized and reopened, and is serving up delicious nostalgia from the fabled Route 66 era. The Palm’s Grill Café has been baking pies and feeding hungry travelers and residents for decades. Their pies are so delicious they've even won a few state pie competitions. Saddle up to the counter or take a seat at a table; either way, the pie and coffee with the community atmosphere is enough to make any first-timer feel like a regular. Conveniently located right across the street is the towering Bunyon’s Statue, another one of Route 66’s famous Muffler Man Statues.
Former Congressman Ken Gray's collection of over 12,000 items includes campaign memorabilia, photos and documents from former presidents and dignitaries, 1,000 original dolls, videos, four cars driven by the congressman and much more.
The site preserves surviving portions of the industrial complex developed in the early 1880s by George M. Pullman to build luxury railroad passenger cars. The plant was the centerpiece of a company-owned town planned under Pullman's direction.
Guided tours (by reservation only) of Ragdale, a nationally renowned artists' community built by noted architect Howard Van Doren Shaw, include a walk through the historic house and gardens as well as a studio visit with an artist-in-residence.
Art, architecture, and garden tours of Howard Van Doren Shaw's summer retreat. The house and gardens, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places among examples of the Arts and Crafts movement in the country. It house 12 artists at a time.
The Richard H. Driehaus Gallery of Stained Glass, located near the tip of Chicago’s Navy Pier, immerses visitors in darkened rooms bathed in the glow of 11 of Tiffany Studios’ stained glass windows, ranging from ecclesiastical to secular landscapes. Each displays the ways Tiffany Studios reinvented tradition, using embedded colors and new types of glass to create folds, ripples, and other textures that gave life to each scene.
The Richard H. Driehaus Museum immerses visitors in one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th-century Chicago, the Gilded Age home of banker Samuel Mayo Nickerson. Philanthropist Richard H. Driehaus founded the museum on April 1, 2003 with a vision to influence today’s built environment by preserving and promoting architecture and design of the past.
Contact Visit McHenry County for information on tours. A private estate located in Barrington Hills, featuring the world's finest collection of automatic music instruments, including the world's largest theater organ. Private group tours or 40 or more. Charity gala events & concerts. A summer concert series and a Christmas concert supporting the Sanfilippo Foundation open to the public with pre-purchased tickets. Concerts include time to explore the Sanfilippo Collection. See website for details and tickets.
The Standish House B&B is owned and operated by a direct descendent of Miles Standish and is filled with antiques and collections of Early American history. You’ll enjoy canopy beds, sumptuous breakfasts and more. We’re only minutes from Lake Carroll and are located on a quiet residential street in the quaint community of Lanark.
The Museum has a collection of over 52,000 objects. It houses an art collection and a collection of prehistoric, historic, and scientific objects. One of the permanent and very popular exhibits is the "W.P.A. Pioneer Dioramas", which were created by local craftsmen employed at the Museum during the Works Progress Administration, 1938-1942. It has six galleries, an archive, Museum Gift Shop, and a 100-seat auditorium.
What started as a single-screen movie house in 1940 has become a power house for live music and community theater. This gorgeous theater is one of the greatest components to Carbondale's thriving art & culture scene, as it serves as home to the Jackson County Stage Company, which presents several plays during the year, and hosts the weekly Friday Night Film series. The Varsity serves as a venue for live entertainment during the Carbondale Rocks Revival, an annual city-wide music festival in addition to accommodating local and regional musicians during the year to bring the city exceptional entertainment.
The Vault Café on the Square is located in a 100-yr-old historic 5-story building in downtown Marion, IL. The café is located on the first floor in what used to be a bank. The vault is still there, and we have seating for four inside of it! Seating is first come/first serve, but feel free to request it with the hostess!
The Windmill was built in 1896 to supply water for the Oughton estate and grounds, which later became home of the Keeley Institute, an alcohol rehab center.
Theatre Historical Society of America features archives and gallery space showcasing the history of America's theatres in photos, blueprints and artifacts.Rotating exhibits highlight the history of different theatres.
John Binder, a local mob historian and author of "The Chicago Outfit", conducts the popular There Goes the Neighbor Hood tour. Running from early spring to late fall each year, the tour showcases local gangster history through Oak Park and River Forest with visits to 15 houses that were once occupied by major mobsters. Binder sprinkles in facts about the criminal careers of the former owners, unique features of each home, and rare information about the family's time spent there.The tour lasts approximately two hours and travels by minibus with no walking required. The tour departs from (and returns to) the Oak Park Visitor Center.
This cemetery is the final resting place for many Civil War veterans, as well as Thomas and Sarah Lincoln, Abraham Lincoln's father and stepmother.
Surrounded by gardens and a reflection pool, this magnificent bell tower in Washington Park is the third largest in the world, and one of the few that is actually open to the public.
Tinker Swiss Cottage is a historic house museum located in the heart of Rockford, Illinois. The museum complex contains the historic house museum, barn, and carriage house from the Tinker family. In addition, the property is the home of the founding site of Rockford and contains a Pre-Columbian Native American conical mound. Robert surrounded his Swiss Cottage with over 27 acres of trees, vines, winding pathways, flowerbeds, and gardens. A three-story Swiss inspired barn was added to the property which housed cows, chickens, and horses. On the side of the Cottage, Robert constructed a suspension bridge crossing the Kent Creek. At the end of Robert's suspension bridge, he planted elaborate gardens deemed the Railroad Gardens where passengers could stroll as they waited for the train.
The Confluence of the Ohio and Mississippi rivers at Cairo has seen its share of American history travel past its banks. Now visitors can stop at that famous intersection and take time to learn about that history in the new Toll House Transportation and Civil War Museum. It's at the southernmost point of Cairo at Fort Defiance Park, where US 51 and US 60 split across the Ohio and Mississippi rivers.
Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present the only pay-what-you-like Chicago walking tours. These interesting and informative sightseeing tours will take you through many of the Windy City’s most famous neighborhoods. They’re one of the best things to do on your visit. They offer walking, food, architecture and bike tours. Come experience their Chicago walking tours.
Home of the Chicago Tribune newspaper offices, this Gothic-Revival landmark features flying buttresses and gargoyles This is a result of New York architects John Mead Howells and Raymond M. Hood's design that was chosen as a winner out of 263 entries from twenty-three countries during an international architectural competition to immodestly "erect the most beautiful building in the world" in 1922.
Galena's only ADA-compliant and climate-controlled trolley service! Daily narrated tours, May-October. Unique group tours, wedding transportation offered year-round.
Trolley Car #36 is a turn-of-the-century, open-air trolley, the kind your grandparents might have taken to work, except you don't have to go to work. Board the Trolley at the Trolley Station in Riverview Park (on Thursdays, board at Nicholas Conservatory), ride along Madison Street beside the scenic Rock River Recreation Path, stop for a brief visit to the Eclipse Lagoon and Gardens, travel to the Symbol, then turn around and return to the Trolley Station. Trolley Car #36 is wheelchair accessible; however, the trolley is limited to 2 wheelchairs per ride.