Showing 97-192 of 313 items found in History
Located on the campus of the only college named for Lincoln in his lifetime, the Lincoln Heritage Museum exhibits a rare and valuable collection of artifacts that tell the story of the life and times of Abraham Lincoln. The museum houses many rare Lincoln artifacts, including an 1860 campaign poster, a lock of his hair, Mary Lincoln's jewelry and Tad Lincoln's rocking chair. Also includes 9/11exhibit and other presidential artifacts.
A Tudor revival building constructed in 1931 by William Sprague to house a service station, restaurant and garage, it is the largest of three remaining two-story fuel station buildings on US 66, originally housing a café and service station on the main floor plus two second-floor apartments for the owner and the station attendant.
Rock Springs Center is the largest park in the Macon County Conservation District properties with a total of 1,343 acres in the southwest area of Decatur, IL. The Sangamon River runs through Rock Springs and several small ponds dot the landscape. A wide range of terrain including forest, wetland, grassland, and restored Illinois prairie make Rock Springs a destination for nature lovers. Rock Springs is also home to a large nature center, a museum, a restored farmhouse, nearly nine miles of hiking trails, and a paved bike trail. Rock Springs is a favorite for families all year round. Rooms and pavilions are available for rent for meetings and events.
Six log cabins recreate life as it had been in Illinois back in 1812. Visit the homestead belonging to the Hutson family before a fatal Indian attack killed Isaac Hutson's entire family.
Postville Courthouse is the original seat of County Government in Logan County. The Courthouse site is a reproduction of the original courthouse where Abraham Lincoln practiced law. They offer a wonderful guided tour for all visitors. They also have Mary Todd's Medicinal Garden that is highlighted during the summer months.
25 tons of granite memorialize 1300 veterans from at least twenty-seven states with the message, "Freedom is not Free." Fifty Flags of Freedom fly the following holidays: Memorial Day, Flag Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Patriots Day, Veterans Day, and Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day.
Built in 1874, this Italianate mansion was the home of Richard J. Oglesby, a U.S. senator and three-time governor of Illinois. Oglesby was also a Union general in the Civil War and a close friend of Abraham Lincoln.
The Sky View Drive-In Theatre in Litchfield opened in the Spring of 1950 and has been in operation each season since then. We are a seasonal operation and run from the first or second weekend in April until the end of September. Open on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only.
Located next to the Atlanta Public Library and Museum the clock tower was added in the 70s. The clock itself is the original 1909 hand-would clock from the Atlanta High School.
This museum honors American poet Edgar Lee Masters, author of "The Spoon River Anthology." Memorabilia of his life and works are displayed in the house where he lived as a young boy.
Located at the Atlanta Museum, these three exhibits and 20 other prints depict a variety of Lincoln and Logan County events. It is located at the site of an early political rally during Abraham Lincoln's campaign for President.
The Vermilion County Museum was built as a replica of the 1833 county courthouse where President Abraham Lincoln practiced law from 1841-1859. Exhibits include the Lincoln Law Office in Danville, a schoolhouse, coal mine shaft and more.
Located on Mueller Company grounds, where the accomplishments of inventor Hieronymus Mueller, Decatur's "Unsung genius" and holder of over 500 patents, are celebrated. Among the expanded facility's treasures: The seventh of only eight cars manufactured by Mueller.
This museum features a complete set of the "War of the Rebellion: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies." The records might aid in your search for a missing link in your family history.
An atmosphere of innovation at Illinois is based on a history of interdisciplinary exploration. Faculty and students pursue projects with other top scholars from around the world and across disciplines. Campus resources include the world’s largest public university library, outstanding centers for the arts, and many world-class research facilities, including the National Center for Supercomputing Applications. In 2003, Illinois’ faculty members won national and international awards including two Nobel Prizes, the Crafoord Prize in Biosciences, and two Guggenheim Fellowships. Students choose from more than 150 majors and 1100 clubs and organizations.
Honoring the extraordinary achievements of Champaign County residents who have participated in the Olympic and Paralympic Games, this granite platform inscribed with the names of the athletes and the Olympic symbol is surrounded by playing fields, gardens and a community college campus. Tribute to Olympic Athletes rises from an ordinary prairie landscape transformed by playing fields, gardens and a community college campus.
This cemetery is the final resting place for many Civil War veterans, as well as Thomas and Sarah Lincoln, Abraham Lincoln's father and stepmother.
The Lincoln courtroom in Beardstown was the site of the famous Duff Armstrong case, and now features a museum with daily tours.
The 1879 birthplace of the native Springfield poet/artist, this house remained Lindsay's only home until his death there in 1931.
Eleven different, beautifully painted murals. Main Street Lincoln was instrumental in bringing these murals to our community.
State Farm is Bloomington-Normal's largest employer and the nation's largest insurance company. Tours are offered at the Corporate Building on State Farm Plaza and the historic Fire Building.
The cemetery is the final resting place of several notable figures, including Illinois Governor Richard Oglesby and John D. Gillette (Cattle King of the World). The Memorial Arch replaced the wooden bridge over which Robert Todd Lincoln walked during the Oglesby funeral procession in 1915.
Twin Groves Wind Farm features 240 turbines across 22,000 acres of land. The wind farm generates 396 megawatts of affordable, pollution-free wind energy, which is enough to meet the annual energy needs of about 120,000 homes. Learn more about this exciting new facility with a guided tour which begins at the Twin Groves Lookout Visitor Center.
This 1885 train depot displays Illinois Central Railroad memorabilia, the largest Louis Klein collection of antique brooms and brushes in the United States, and interesting Arcola relics and keepsakes. Because Arcola is the birthplace of Raggedy Ann creator Johnny Gruelle, Raggedy Ann & Andy dolls and collectibles are also on display.
The site of an early political rally during Abraham Lincoln's campaign for President, now showcasing an interpretive sign explaining the historic significance.
Located in historic Lincoln Square Mall next to the Framer's Market, this store features all sorts of arts from paintings, sculptures, and pottery works. Stop in and just browse, or perhaps purchase one of these fine pieces of art.
This farm was established in 1824 by Michael Huffaker who built four cabins for free black families and later hid fleeing slaves there. Tours available between Memorial Day and Labor Day on Wednesdays, Saturdays, and Sundays from 1 to 4 p.m. or by appointment.
Tour this farm, which is a commercial embryo transfer station that uses donor cows.
This is the site of Abraham Lincoln's first Illinois home. Bisected by the Sangamon River, the site also features picnicking and hiking.
The Korean War State Memorial, honoring 1,748 Illinoisans killed during the 1950-1953 Korean War, was dedicated on June 16, 1996.
This museum was established in 2003 to honor those individuals who have made significant contributions to the sport of gunspinning, made famous on the silver screen and television.
The Yost house was built in 1898 by Z.F. Yost. The museum portrays the life of an upper-middle class family during the late 1800s and early 1900s.
This bronze statue was originally dedicated in 1931 to commemorate Lincoln's "Fool the People" speech.
Abraham Lincoln's aunt was buried in the Ogden County cemetery in 1876 after living a long life in Edgar County.
This unique landmark was restored in 1977, with its Korean/Vietnam War Memorial dedicated in May of 1988.
The Vermilion County War Museum, housed in a former Carnegie Library, contains over 25,000 artifacts and memorabilia ranging from the Revolutionary War to Operation Iraqi Freedom. The museum enjoys a steady stream of both U.S. and foreign visitors who appreciate the ever-increasing collections of artifacts and research materials.
The 1898 Battle of Virden, the tragic result of local coal miners fighting for worker’s rights, is memorialized on the northeast side town square by a large bronze mural created by sculptor David Seagraves of Elizabeth, IL.
Used today as a theater for live music and dance performances, as well as fine art exhibits, this 1912 church gives you a taste of "old-time religion" with its luminous stained-glass windows, curved oak pews and great acoustics.
This unique artwork is one of only a handful of sculptured tributes to the African American Civil War soldier in the entire United States. Commissioned by the City of Decatur, the work was designed and created by renowned artist, Preston Jackson. Jackson created several concepts for the statue and allowed the citizens of Decatur to vote to select the final design.
This monument honors generations of soliders who sacrificed their lives for their country.
Foellinger Auditorium is a unique facility situated at the Southern end of the U of I Quadrangle. Since its construction in 1907, Foellinger Auditorium has been a cultural and entertainment center for the campus by serving two distinctly different functions: classroom and performance.
The Effingham County Veteran's Memorial wall is dedicated to all the men and women who served from all five branches of the armed forces. The names on the walls for from past and present. Every year they add more names to the wall.
The Lincoln House Hotel, one of the grandest hotels in the state, stood in Lincoln from 1854-1870. Political luminaries who crossed its threshold included Abraham Lincoln, Stephen Douglas, David Davis and Richard Oglesby.
Located in downtown Mount Pulaski, this mural depicts a young Abraham Lincoln in front of the historic Mount Pulaski House.
This museum openin in 2005 with Bob's private collection. The building is decorated in 50's sock hop style with black and white checkered floors. The walls are lined with 50's memorabilia, chevy clocks and neon signs. A jukbox takes you back to that popular era. The museum has eight vintage cars as well as a 1993 Indy Pace Car with only 28 miles. Mr. Boarman restored most of the cars himself and has been collecting over 25 years.
Built in 1889 by Dr. C.M. Wright, this stately Renaissance Revival home holds three generations of Wright family furnishings, and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Once the original reading room of Millikin University's Gorin Library, Birks Museum maintains a montage of memories: Among them, a Belleek mirror made for Queen Victoria; a life mask of Abraham Lincoln circa 1864; and 700 paperweights.
Within this breathtaking monument lie the remains of Abraham Lincoln, his wife Mary, and three of their four sons – located in the country’s second most visited cemetery behind only Arlington National Cemetery.
This is the preserved home of Reuben Moore and his wife Matilda, who was a daughter of Sarah Bush Lincoln and stepsister of Abraham Lincoln. The frame Moore Home dates back to the late 1850s.
The Illinois Central Railroad Historical Society is dedicated to preserving historical and educational information about the Illinois Central Railroad and the many predecessor railroads that have been part of the IC system. This headquarters feature a depot, museum and library.
This museum displays old school pictures and artifacts from the town of Assumption. Open by appointment.
The historic Peterson House is a part of Peterson Park in Mattoon, and houses the Mattoon Chamber of Commerce. This beautiful building is rich in architectural history and is an key part of Mattoon's cultural story.
The genealogical and historical society encourages the preservation of Logan County's history and maintains a research center that treasures and collects Logan County family histories. They're the only research center that includes ALL of Logan County. Their research resources include historical books, maps, obituaries, cemetery records, marriages, births, family surname genealogy and more! Stop by for a visit to see the artifacts, old photographs, museum pieces, veteran's exhibit, as well as the new "Abraham Lincoln Room."
See an 1820s log house, the 1839 Christian County courthouse where Lincoln argued cases, an 1854 farmhouse and an 1856 one-room school. Also view military weapons from five wars, a collection of 1800s antiques and much more.
Farm implements, tools, tractors, and other equipment are featured that date back 100 years. The museum is open for special events including the Outhouse Festival in the fall.
The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is the proud home of one of the largest and richest public research library collections in North America. Their 24 million items, the vast majority of which are paper and book-based, include Medieval manuscripts, large collections of incunabula and early printed books, literary manuscripts, maps and atlases, prints, and all sizes and types of printed books and other paper objects. The University Library is committed to sustaining and enhancing its capacity to treat and protect its important paper-based collections, with the majority of conservation and preservation-related investments focused on the care of its rare, unique, and otherwise valuable objects.
Early trains made an "at-the-woods" stop, and in 1873 the town of Atwood was formed. Main Street today features split-rail fences, benches, grassy areas and country crafts, collectibles and antiques.
This private residence was once a historic inn where a group of counterfeiters met to hatch a plot to steal Abraham Lincoln's body from his tomb in Springfield. Walk up to view the marker only.
The world's only statue of Abe Lincoln and a pig commemorates Lincoln's bemused request for a "writ of quietus" to calm noisy pigs gathered under the courthouse floor. "The Last Stop" refers to the location on the old 8th Judicial Circuit.
Stop by this eclectic museum to explore the history of Route 66, car culture and local history. There is even a Rolls-Royce on display! The collection was brought together by a local historian with great stories to share. Located just a few doors from the Palm's Grill this museum is a must see.
The Clark County Historical Society is dedicated to the preservation and education of all things pertaining to the people and places of Clark County, Illinois. Learn about the Lincoln-Douglas debates and unique area country architecture here.
Located behind the Statehouse in a century-old church, this museum is full of Lincoln-era memorabilia, including his letter cabinet and an axe carved with his initials.
Surrounded by gardens and a reflection pool, this magnificent bell tower in Washington Park is the third largest in the world, and one of the few that is actually open to the public.
The museum houses an agricultural display that includes antique tractors (1922-1937), engines, a 1919 grain/dump truck, a replica of a 1920s farmstead kitchen, and more.
Step into a restored 1860's farmhouse and experience an era when apple butter and ham and beans cooked over open fires; candles were hand-dipped and quilts were hand stitched; dulcimer music filled the air; and fields were worked by man and beast. Located on the 1,350-acre Rock Springs Nature Center site, the Homestead offers living history programs throughout summer.
One of the last remaining markers erected in 1922 marks the 8th Judicial Circuit on which Abraham Lincoln practiced law.
Soaring nearly 200 feet into the Midwestern sky, the Cross is a landmark for the more than 19 million travelers who pass through Effingham each year along Interstates 57 and 70. Other features of the site include a visitor center, chapel and a 10 Commandments display.
The Museum of the Grand Prairie has an extensive collection interpreting 19th and early 20th century life in east-central Illinois. Two floors of exhibits present architecture, trades and occupations, decorative arts, and childhood and domestic life of the time. The Discovery Room offers hands-on opportunities for children to interact and learn about the residents of the Grand Prairie. Educational programs are offered for all ages throughout the year.
Built in 1899, the restored depot is the departure point for a weekend afternoon train ride to the Monticello Railway Museum. It also serves as a visitor center for Monticello and Piatt County.
Abe Lincoln often stayed at Deskin's Tavern when he traveled to Postville. A well where he is said to have quenched his thirst is also located on this site.
The traditional Victorian home belonged to Matthew T. Scott, a well-known agriculturalist, and his wife Julia Green, one of the founders of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
This memorial commemorates the crossing of the Lincoln Family from Indiana to Illinois in early March of 1830.
A friend of Abraham Lincoln, Samuel Parks shared a law office with the future president and served on the Eighth Judicial Circuit with him.
This monument to Vermilion County's World War I veterans was sculpted by Lorado Taft. Its base displays the names of 51 area men who died in the war, and statues representing Red Cross nurses and each branch of the Armed Services guard the base.
This museum displays hundreds of authentic items from the frontier period, including artifacts that were excavated from the hilltop site of James Latham's 1819 cabin.
The site marker describes how Abraham Lincoln once owned this lot, after it was deeded to him in recompense for a large debt.
The museum is located in the oldest commercial building in Champaign County, the beautifully restored Cattle Bank, which is on the National Register of Historic Places. Exhibits showcase more than 150 years of Champaign County's people, events, architecture and lifestyles. A feature of the museum is the 19th century dry goods store and businesses. The museum has a gift shop and publishes the Champaign County Historical Quarterly.
Rammelkamp Chapel is the home of religious life on campus as well as the site for various events ranging from weekly chapel services, mass, convocations, concerts and ceremonies.
Atlanta Inn is the only hotel located in Atlanta, Illinois. You can explore the historic town of Atlanta in central Illinois with the last great frontier of the modern world through exit No 140 off I-55 and save the memories for life. Pass through Logan County and see the rise of Abraham Lincoln from surveyor to legendary lawyer by traveling through historic Route 66 which crosses 8 states and 3 time zones.
Visit this log home village from the early 1800s, including a blacksmith shop, church and schoolhouse.
Built in the 1850's, this home welcomed Abraham Lincoln in 1860. Among the many connections Pontiac has to Abraham Lincoln, one of the most interesting revolves around Lincoln's friendship with local attorney, Jason W. Strevell. Strevell was born in New York and migrated to Illinois in 1855. He was admitted to the Illinois bar that same year, and began his practice in Pontiac. He was involved in his legal practice here for twenty-four years. He served in the Illinois House of Representatives, and also had one term as a Senator. The house is currently being restored by the Livingston County Historical Society.
Housed in an 1890 Victorian building, the Menard County Museum contains documents, records, clothing and artifacts related to Menard County.
This local museum features a Fairbury Room and exhibits that change periodically. Open Wednesday and Fridays, or by appointment.
The Stevenson family brought honor to McLean County for three generations. Buried at Evergreen Memorial Cemetery are Adlai I, Vice President to Grover Cleveland, and Adlai II, Governor of Illinois, Ambassador to the United Nations and twice Democratic candidate for the United States Presidency. Also buried here are Adlai's wife, Letitia Green Stevenson, and many other important figures from Bloomington- Normal history. A discovery walk takes place here annually to celebrate the lives of these historical figures.
Charleston's newest heritage tourism attraction. Learn more about the 1858 political debates between Abraham Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas. This site is a designated, "Looking for Lincoln" site.
This historic train depot features a preserved facade and a renovated interior that houses specialty shops.
Bryant Cottage was built in 1856 by Francis E. Bryant (1818-1889), a friend and political ally of Senator Stephen A. Douglas. According to Bryant family tradition, on the evening of July 29, 1858, Douglas and Abraham Lincoln conferred in the parlor of this house to plan the famous Lincoln-Douglas Debates. The picturesque one-story, four-room wood frame cottage has been “restored” and is interpreted as an example of a middle-class life in mid-nineteenth-century Illinois. The furniture on display is of the Renaissance Revival style, appropriate for a small-town family of the mid-nineteenth century. The cottage is accessible to persons with disabilities. The site hosts portions of a variety of locally sponsored events throughout the year.
Blacksmithing, as well as artistic and functional iron work, is performed in this smithy that was erected in 1928.
The courthouse was built in 1871 after Effingham was named the county seat. The courhouse retains a pristine exterior and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It also features a museum inside. The museum displays two rooms devoted to the military, which gets changed throughout the year. It also has a room dedicated to the railroads in Effingham County. The Effingham County Courthouse is open Tuesday and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
The Early American Museum has an extensive collection interpreting 19th and early 20th century life in east-central Illinois. Two floors of exhibits present architecture, trades and occupations, decorative arts, and childhood and domestic life of the time.
Mattoon Tourism & Arts Welcome Center is located in the historic Illinois Central Railroad Train Depot, which also still serves as the Amtrak Station for the Community. The original Railroad Depot was constructed in 1918 by the Illinois Central Railroad, and it was then remodeled in 2011. The Depot is still an active Amtrak Station with 3,000 passengers boarding and un-boarding per month. The welcome center offers a host of information: state-of-the-art schools & colleges, a growing economy, beautiful parks, lakes and sports amenities round out the more favorable quality of life found in Mattoon.
This museum follows the rich history of the oldest school for the deaf in Illinois, featuring displays in over nine rooms on two floors.
This marker tells the story of the Pig Hip Restaurant and its famous sandwiches. A fire took the museum building in 2007.
The award-winning museum features short-term exhibits about a wide range of topics pertinent to the history of Douglas County and East Central Illinois. The museum’s collections include clothing and textiles, military and medical equipment, decorative arts, archives and more! Plus, it’s also host to the Rural Life Antique Show held in March and November of each year.