Showing 193-288 of 1,061 items found in History
Tinker Swiss Cottage Museum and Gardens
Tinker Swiss Cottage is a historic house museum located in the heart of Rockford, Illinois. The museum complex contains the historic house museum, barn, and carriage house from the Tinker family. In addition, the property is the home of the founding site of Rockford and contains a Pre-Columbian Native American conical mound. Robert Tinker's inspiration for the Cottage came during his tour of Europe in 1862, where he fell in love with the architecture of Switzerland. In 1865, Robert began building his Swiss Cottage on the limestone bluff overlooking Kent Creek.Robert surrounded his Swiss Cottage with over 27 acres of trees, vines, winding pathways, flowerbeds, and gardens. A three-story Swiss inspired barn was added to the property which housed cows, chickens, and horses.
Burpee Museum of Natural History
Come explore Burpee Museum and its award-winning exhibits such as Jane: Diary of a Dinosaur, called one of the ten most important dinosaur discoveries in the past 100 years. Burpee Museum also features Homer, a sub-adult or "teen-age" Triceratops. Four floors of exhibits include Windows to Wilderness, a woolly mammoth skeletal cast, Pennsylvanian coal forest, a Native American exhibit, Geoscience, and a viewing lab.
Ethnic Heritage Museum
Six nationalities that helped shape the cultural region are represented in this home museum, built in 1850. Located in the heart of the old water power district, the house features a room for each ethnic group it represents: African American, Irish, Italian, Lithuanian, Polish, and Hispanic. Call to confirm hours and admission fees. Visit the website for information about current exhibits.
Veterans Memorial Hall
Dedicated in 1903 in ceremonies that included a speech by Teddy Roosevelt, Memorial Hall is a tribute to Rockford citizens who have served in the Armed Forces. Large wall plaques list names of fallen veterans, and cases in the main lobby, side rooms and the lower level display Armed Services artifacts including memories of the Civil War, the World Wars and Camp Grant. The renovated second floor auditorium is used by cultural groups for shows and presentations and is accessible via the elevator.
A Change Through Time: A Photographic Exhibit of Tinker Swiss Cottage
This exhibit focuses on the changes to the Cottage and the landscape from the first recorded photographs ever taken of Robert Tinker’s property to the last photographs taken by the Tinker family. The tour focuses on the five main areas of the Tinker Estate: the main drive, the formal gardens, the working farm, and the bridge view. Captured in the timeless photographs is a remarkable visual history of the 150 years of change to the Tinker Estate.
Rock Island Arsenal Museum
The nation's second-oldest US Army museum features exhibits that highlight the history of the island, items manufactured there, and a display of firearms portraying the history of small arms development.
Black Hawk State Historic Site
Wonderful for families, friends for outdoor recreation. Additionally, the Watch Tower Lodge has hosted thousands of wedding receptions and offers a lovely setting in the beautiful historic park. This wooded, steeply rolling 208-acre tract, borders the Rock River in the city of Rock Island. Prehistoric Indians and 19th-Century settlers made homes here, but the area is most closely identified with the Sauk nation and its great warrior, Black Hawk. Voted one of the "7 Wonders of Illinois," this pristine park offers beautiful trails for hiking and walking only. Picnic areas are also available. While at the park be sure to visit the Watch Tower Lodge that houses a large reception area and the John Hauberg Indian Museum. The museum features Sauk and Meskwaki Native American Indian artifacts and displays depicting the four seasons and life of these tribes. A new exhibit tells the story of the Sauk and Meskwaki—how they came to live in the Quad City area, why they no longer live here, and, as the piece de resistance, a four-by-eight-foot scale model of the city of Saukenuk one of the largest Native American Indian settlements in the United States.
Augustana's Fryxell Geology Museum
One of the largest collections of rocks, minerals, and fossils in the Midwest. Exhibit also includes a complete skeleton of the dinosaur Cryolophosaurus and a large fluorescent mineral exhibit. Museum is located on the campus of Augustana College in the Swenson Hall of Geosciences.
Colonel Davenport House
Located on the historic Rock Island Arsenal island -- an active military munitions base -- the home offers guided tours that highlight the famous people who have visited this historic home, the history of the island through various wars, and the events that took place when the Davenport family lived in this home. Learn about the river bandits that broke into the home during the 4th of July and what happened to Colonel Davenport. IMPORTANT: Because this is an active U.S. Army facility, a current ID is required for age 16 or older to enter the island. International visitors must register one week ahead by calling 309-782-2686 Monday through Friday between the hours of 6 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. Central Time.
John Hauberg Indian Museum
Sauk and Mesquaki Indian artifacts, many directly from Black Hawk's family and tribes connected with Black Hawk. Voted one of the 7 Wonders of Illinois in 2007, this museum is situated inside Black Hawk State Historic Site - a nature reserve. Visit Black Hawk Lodge and the Fur Trading exhibit connected to the museum.
Mississippi River Visitors Center
View navigation and learn about the Mississippi River past and present. Located on historical Rock Island Arsenal Island at Lock & Dam 15, you can watch barges lock through and make reservations for Lock & Dam Tours during the Summer weekend months. Call ahead for reservations for guided Lock & Dam tours.
John Hauberg Indian Museum
The John Hauberg Indian Museum is located in Black Hawk State Historic Site in Rock Island, Illinois and features full-size replicas of Sauk winter and summer houses. Dioramas with life-size figures depict activities of the Sauk and Meskwaki people between 1750 to1830. Artifacts, including authentic trade goods, jewelry and domestic items are displayed. In addition, a special exhibit tells the story of the Sauk and Meskwaki along with a four by eight foot scale model of the city of Saukenuk - one of the largest Native American Indian settlements in North America. This small, intimate museum is nestled in a park setting filled with wooded hiking trails and picnic areas. Guided tours of the museum are given by appointment by calling 309-788-9536.
Karpeles Manuscript Library Museum
The Karpeles Manuscript Library Museum houses the largest private holdings of important original manuscripts and documents. The archives include manuscripts from the fields of literature, science, religion, history, and art. Among the treasures are the original draft of the Bill of Rights of the United States and the "Thanksgiving Proclamation" signed by George Washington. Exhibits change throughout the year.The museum is situated in a beautiful historic church that was built in 1914. Admission is free.
Labor Day Pow Wow
Each Labor Day weekend, Black Hawk State Historic Site welcomes their annual Labor Day Weekend Pow Wow hosted by hosted by MAPA, the Citizens to Preserve Black Hawk Park Foundation, Black Hawk State Historic Site and IHPA. This pow wow celebrates the Native American culture and tradition of the Sauk and Meskwaki (Fox) tribes that once resided in the Quad Cities region. The celebration features Native American dancing, music, and crafts.
The Barn at Allen Acres Wedding and Reception Venue
The Barn at Allen Acres Wedding and Reception Venue sits on 3 and 1/2 acres just on the edge of town in Rock Falls IL. The property is surrounded by a cornfield and offers a serene tranquil destination for your wedding and reception. The property is less than a 5 minute drive to restaurants and hotels. The Dairy Barn was built in the 1920's and restored in 2011. It boasts a beautiful 26 foot vaulted ceiling in the upstairs haymow with some of its original architecture still intact. During the process of the restoration, reclaimed barn wood and reclaimed hardware were used whenever possible, maintaining the rustic feel of the Barn. We've added a 5 foot wide set of stairs leading to the upstairs space and a small deck with stairs, off of the back of the Barn, giving the bride a dramatic entrance down the aisle and to the alter. The upstairs haymow has a capacity of 150 people for a wedding ceremony. The downstairs area, where the dairy cows were kept, in the early years of the barn, also has a capacity for 150 people.
Rock Run Country Historical Society Museum
Open: Wednesday: 1 pm to 3 pm; or by appointment This museum, in an 1870's building, features artifacts from the Rock City area including pictures, clothing, articles and more.
Atwood Park War Memorial
The memorials here are a tribute to veterans of the Vietnam War, Korean War, Gulf War and World War II. The war memorials are the only ones built in the U.S. by youth, constructed by Boy Scouts of Troop 312 Rochelle as Eagle Projects.
Rochelle Railroad Park
View trains from the Union Pacific and BNSF railroads as they rush by the park pavilion and browse the railroad-themed gift shop.
Crawford County VFW 459 Military Museum and Memorial Wall
The remodeled ICCR depot features an etched granite memorial wall and various artifacts of military memorabilia.
Henderson County Museum
This museum preserves Henderson County's rural American heritage, with the primary focus of the exhibits on the first half of the 20th century.
Chanute Air Museum
The Chanute Air Museum celebrates the 76 year legacy of the former Chanute Air Force base and the development Illinois aviation. The Museum showcases over 30 aircraft, including a rare P-51H Mustang and XB-47 Stratojet, while exhibits include "Life at Chanute" and "The 99th Pursuit Squadron: From Rantoul to Ramitelli and Beyond." Bus parking and a gift shop are available.
Preserving Agriculture History Museum
The museum includes the agricultural machinery that you would find on a typical 80-120 acre farm in the Midwest. It also includes many of the items that would be found in a 1930s farmhouse.
World Aero Space Museum
The World Aero Space Museum displays aircraft from the Cold War era, and is the only museum in the world preserving these types of aircraft in one location. Most of the aircraft displayed are in working, flying condition.
Housed in a historic 1890s home, this museum covers everything from the history of the Mississippi River to dinosaurs, Native Americans and NASA.
Governor John Wood Mansion
The Governor John Wood Mansion is the restored home of Quincy's founder and 12th governor of Illinois. This building is the first example of historic preservation in the state of Illinois.
John Wood Mansion, Log Cabin & Parsonage
The John Wood Mansion is the restored home of Quincy's founder and the 12th governor of Illinois. The 1835 Pioneer Log Cabin is preserved authentically, and the Parsonage displays items depicting the history of Adams County.
Dr. Richard Eells House
The Dr. Richard Eells House was a stopping point on the Underground Railroad in the 1840s, and is the oldest standing two-story brick home in Quincy.
Dollhouses Then & Now
Museum that houses over 70 vintage furnished doll houses from the 1920’s- to current. The architectural designs and fashions depict and present the evolution of homes and furnishings from then to now. The Then and Now gift shop is complete with collectable doll house furnishings for sale. Children enjoy playing the scavenger hunt and viewing the 1949 “Disney House” and the 1924 Tootsie Toy house furnished with Tootsie toy pieces. Located inside Taylor’s Furniture Store, along the square in Quincy’s downtown business district.
East End Historic District
The East End Historic District is distinquished by its grand collection of homes of every period and style since 1850. Most have been painstakingly restored with lawns of beautiful planted sugar maples, tulip trees, flowering dogwood and redbud trees. Enjoy Quincy's several historic districts through the Quincy Area Convention & Visitors Bureau's Self Guided Driving Tour, available online at www.seequincy.com.
Ancient Stone Inspirations/ Mac's Home Brew
Jewelry, books, gifts and home brew retail supply store for beer and wine making. Located in the Historic Quincy Business District. Hours are Monday-Saturday, 9am-5pm.
This 7,000 lb, 15 ft, 8-sided section of a communnications tower that supported a television broadcasting antenna and a 5lb, 1 ft piece of the antenna were located on World Trade Center Tower One when it was attacked on September 11, 2001. The antenna was designed and manufactured by Harris Corporation at its Quincy plant.
Dr. Richard Eells House
The oldest standing two-story brick house in Quincy, Dr. Eells home was a station on the Underground Railroad in the 1840's. Quincy was the first stop for fugitives this side of the Mississippi from the slave state of Missouri. Dr. Eells is credited with helping several hundred slaves make their way North to freedom.
Illinois Veterans' Home All Wars Museum and Deer Park
Dedicated in 1886, the Illinois Veterans' Home is one of our nation's largest and oldest veterans home. It has often been labeled "the city witin the city" because of its size and unique set up. It is equipped with its own post office, bank, chapel, cemetery, television station and utility system. Also on the grounds is the All Wars Museum, which has 10,000 artifacts and exhibits spanning from the American Revolution to the War on Terrorism.
John Wood Mansion
The Mansion is the restored home of Quincy's founder and the twelfth Governor of Illinois. It's one of the Midwest's finest existing examples of Greek Revival architecture. Also on the grounds are the History Museum & Visitor's Center houses a gift shop (Quincy's History Shop) & The Lincoln Gallery.
1930's Ag Museum
This privately owned museum houses forty-two John Deere farm implements manufactured in the late 1920's through 1940. Showcased is a 1936 Model B John Deere Tractor, fully restored. The Ag Museum also features an antique horse equipment collection and period farm house furnishings, as well as equipment and hand tools found on a 1930's farmstead. All free of charge, open by appointment, located on the northern edge of Quincy.
Asa Crook Home
The Asa Crook Home is the first frame house built in 1839 by Whiteside County's first settler. The restored home is open for tours.
Civil War Monument
This monument features a statue of a Civil War soldier.
Princeville Heritage Museum
The Princeville Heritage Museum opened to the public in 1999. The museum is a part of the Historical Association of Princeville (incorporated in 1987). The 15,000 square foot handicap accessible facility features antique agriculture equipment, steam powered tractors and threshers, area artifacts, a genealogy research area, and much more. In 2004 the Akron Townhouse School was moved to the museum grounds. The townhouse school allows children and adults alike to take a step back in time and participate in a day in the life of a student in the early 1900’s. With seating for 35, the conference facilities are equipped with state of the art audio visual equipment and wireless internet connection. The facility also includes a full kitchen.
Princeton Main Street
Two and a half miles of magnificent shopping! Unique specialty shops, antique malls and services. So many shops...so little time.
Bureau County Historical Museum
The Bureau County Historical Society Museum is located behind the Courthouse square at the intersection of beautiful Park Avenue West and Pleasant Street in Princeton, Illinois. The museum consists of two buildings that are next door to each other: the Clark-Norris Home, a handsome Prairie Square mansion built in 1900, and the Newell-Bryant House, a stately Greek Revival house dating back to 1853. The Museum is behind the Courthouse. There is free parking on Park Avenue in front of the Museum.
Hoffman's Patterns of the Past
Hoffman’s Patterns of the Past (located in historic Princeton,Illinois) is home to the “Sea of China,” a unique treasure trove of china and crystal patterns dating back to the 19th century; most of it new “store stock” patterns acquired directly from the manufacturer. Hoffman's has been a Princeton institution since 1944, when the J. A. Murphey family purchased the business, which had existed since the mid 1800s. Patterns of the Past also offers appraisals and has one of the largest gift shops in central Illinois, stocking over 75 of the major collectible lines, including Swarovski, Jim Shore, Fenton, Department 56, and Willow Tree by Demdaco. Store hours are 9 to 5, Monday through Saturday, with special holiday hours. Large or small groups are welcome; for best service, please call or e-mail in advance since the research process can take some time.
Owen Lovejoy Homestead
The Owen Lovejoy Homestead, built in 1838 was the home of the famous abolitionist minister. Part of the Underground Railroad, rooms are furnished with period furniture and visitors can peer into the hidden area above the stairs where runaway slaves hid. The 1849 Colton One-Room Schoolhouse is behind the house. Located on East Peru Street a half mile from downtown Princeton. Call for dates and times open.
Princeton Public Library
Princeton's Library contains an outstanding collection of Bureau County genalogical referencematerial including history books, census and cemetery records, indexed newspaper, city directories, atlases, and family histories. New location and building at 698 East Peru Street.
Red Covered Bridge
This covered bridge is located 1 1/2 miles north of Princeton on Rt. 26. One of five remaining covered bridges in Illinois, this bridge was built in 1863 and is still open to traffic. It crosses Big Bureau Creek and was once part of the Peoria-Galena Trail. This beautiful landmark is a delight for artists, photograpers and nature lovers. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The 149 foot span was built at a cost of $3,148.57.
Unique floral designs, exquisite silk florals enhance all decors and lifestyles. Accent lamps, framed prints, decorative home accessories all beautifully displayed.
This Lower Mississippi-style house was built in the early 1800s, and has been completely restored to reflect life during this period.
CITY:Prairie du Rocher
The Creole House
The house, built in 1800, is an example of French and American architecture.
CITY:Prairie du Rocher
Fort de Chartres State Historic Site
This former French military stronghold has been partially rebuilt and turned into a museum. Regular living history events shed light on colonial life in Illinois, and include 18th-century crafts, food, music, hundreds of historically dressed participants, flintlock rifle and musket contests, cannon and mortar competitions, traders and much more. There are also guided tours of the 1800 Creole House, which was designed in the French-American Transitional Architecture style.
CITY:Prairie du Rocher
Poplar Grove Vintage Wings & Wheels Museum
The museum was established to preserve history and educate youth about the significant contributions made to our country by winged and wheeled vehicles.
Vintage Wings and Wheels Museum
Located at the Poplar Grove Airport, this musuem has a variety of vintage autos, trucks and other equipment including aircraft.
Route 66 Association of Illinois Hall of Fame and Museum
See the finest collection of memorabilia from the historic Mother Road in Illinois. The free-admission Hall of Fame features nostalgic photos and displays, plus attractions that include Route 66 artist and icon Bob Waldmire's bus and van, and the world's largest Route 66 shield.
Livingston County Courthouse
Located on the square in downtown Ponitac, the courthouse was built in 1875 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Abraham Lincoln tried some of his earlier cases here.
Catherine V. Yost Museum and Art Center
The Yost house was built in 1898 by Z.F. Yost. The museum portrays the life of an upper-middle class family during the late 1800s and early 1900s.
Route 66 Murals - Pontiac
These murals bring back the memories of the heyday of Route 66 in Pontiac, Illinois.
Pontiac Visitor's Center
Be sure to stop by and pick up local Pontiac and tourist information for area attractions, dining, coupons and shopping. Located inside the Route 66 Hall of Fame and Museum building.
Illinois Route 66 Hall of Fame and Museum
See the finest memorabilia associated with the history of the Mother Road in Illinois. Among the artifacts, you’ll find the bus and van of Route 66 icon, Bob Waldmire—a true legend of the Mother Road. During your visit, you’ll likely spot Bob’s brother, Buz Waldmire, sharing stories of his late brother’s famous travels up and down Route 66. Be sure to step around back for a great photo op in front of the World's Largest Route 66 shield and other great murals. Admission is free.
Livingston County War Museum
Walking through Livingston County War Museum is like taking a tour of the 20th Century, including artifacts, films, books, uniforms and weapons of several wars. The museum does not glorify war, but shows the best attributes of men and women caught up in war. In doing so, we respectfully honor the service of America's veterans, and the men and women from the area who served in the military.
International Walldog Mural and Sign Art Museum
Free admission to a museum featuring the history of outdoor sign and mural art. Videos, drawings, and artifacts tell the story of advertising art. Art work for sale. The International Walldog Mural & Sign Art Museum is dedicated to the preservation and appreciation of the outdoor wall advertising signs painted in the days before electronic mass media. The painters who created those early signs called themselves "Walldogs." The displays which are found at the museum tell the history of the early sign painters who created their art on the sides of brick buildings, barns, and other structures. Examples of those early signs can still be seen throughout the Midwest and, though faded, peeling, and sometimes barely readable, these "ghost signs" remain an important part of our collective cultural and commercial history.
Pontiac-Oakland Automobile Museum & Resource Center
The history of the Oakland and Pontiac car brands as seen through 15 classic cars, dealer artifacts, a complete print library and memorabilia. Free admission-open year round.
Historic Swinging Bridges
Three bridges which cross the Vermillion River. Built as early as 1898 and one of the most popular attractions in Pontiac. Bridge 1 connects Riverview Drive and Play Park. It was built in July 1898 by Joliet Bridge Company with an iron structure, 190 feet long and 4 feet wide and supported by cables swung from masonry piers. The current bridge is a wooden structure. Bridge 2 connects the Play Park and Chautauqua Park - Eden M. Johnson Memorial circa 1926. Bridge 3 connects the south side and Riverside-Humiston Park. It was built in connection with the adjoining park, circa 1978: Illinois Contractors, Inc.
Built in the 1850's, this home welcomed Abraham Lincoln in 1860. Among the many connections Pontiac has to Abraham Lincoln, one of the most interesting revolves around Lincoln's friendship with local attorney, Jason W. Strevell. Strevell was born in New York and migrated to Illinois in 1855. He was admitted to the Illinois bar that same year, and began his practice in Pontiac. He was involved in his legal practice here for twenty-four years. He served in the Illinois House of Representatives, and also had one term as a Senator. The house is currently being restored by the Livingston County Historical Society.
Looking for Lincoln Exhibits
Pontiac’s historic connections to Abraham Lincoln date back to Lincoln’s early days as a young lawyer traveling the 8th Judicial District. Lincoln visited Pontiac many times, represented a number of local citizens in legal actions, and made connections here that helped him to rise to prominence in state and national politics. Nine outdoor story boards help tell the stories associated with Lincoln's many visits to Pontiac. Pick up a map at the Visitor Center.
Route 66 Heritage Wayside Exhibits
Five wayside story boards that highlight the history of Route 66 in Pontiac. Pick up a map at the Route 66 Museum.
Old Log Cabin Restaurant
Situated along the historical old route 66, this small town restaurant is authentic and rich with history. Opened in 1926 by Joe & Victor Seloti it still contains the knotty pine walls that were crafted from cedar telephone poles. Stop by to enjoy classic home cooking and take a step back in time.
The 1878 Henry School, located on the Galena Trail, was used as an operating school until 1957. The Polo Historical Society has turned it back into an old country school, which includes displays on the Black Hawk War of 1832.
The first brick home built in Polo is now a tourist information center and home of the local Convention and Visitors Bureau.
Polo Historical Society/Aplington House
Lincoln slept here two nights in 1856, as the guest of his friend Senator Aplington, the founder of the village of Polo. Learn about the history of Polo and view the Ogle County Military Museum, which showcases artifacts from all wars.
Barnacopia is a farm museum, events venue and Bed & Breakfast featuring two fully appointed guest rooms with full bathrooms and hot tubs all located in a silo next to the barn and the top floor of the silo is a library.
Clayville Historic Site
The centerpiece of Clayville is the Broadwell Inn, the oldest brick building in Sangamon County, built in 1824 by the Broadwell family as a stage coach stop between Springfield and Beardstown. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is surrounded by numerous other historic buildings from Central Illinois moved to Clayville in the 1960s to recreate an early frontier pioneer village. Come see a unique piece of Illinois history.
Selected by Warner Bros to represent Smallville in the filming “Man of Steel”, Plano is now the home of the Smallville Museum. The museum collection contains a variety of props and other items used in the filming of the latest Superman movie.
Abe Lincoln's Talking House Driving Tour
Tune your vehicle's radio to 1650 AM or 1620 AM and listen to the history behind 14 homes in Pittsfield that have a connection to Abe Lincoln. Front yard signs also explain each home's historical significance.
Edgar Lee Masters Memorial Museum
This museum honors American poet Edgar Lee Masters, author of "The Spoon River Anthology." Memorabilia of his life and works are displayed in the house where he lived as a young boy.
The grave site of Ann Rutledge, Abraham Lincoln's first sweetheart, is located at Oakland Cemetery. Her tombstone bears an inscription written by poet Edgar Lee Masters, who is burried nearby.
Surveyed by Abraham Lincoln in 1836, the Petersburg Historic District is included on the National Register of Historic Places and has many outstanding examples of architectural styles.
Menard County Historical Museum
Housed in an 1890 Victorian building, the Menard County Museum contains documents, records, clothing and artifacts related to Menard County.
Stier Trolley Express
Climb aboard the Trolley, sit back and relax as we bring the history of historic Petersburg Illinois and the surrounding area to you. We will take you past several points of interest along your journey back in history. Petersburg is rich in Victorian Homes, most of which were built in the 1860's and 1870's. During your journey into history, you will be entertained by points of interest along the way. We will stop for a short while in downtown Petersburg. At this time, you may choose to disembark and enjoy the downtown area on foot. There are a variety of shops and eateries to wander through. Don't worry, the trolley will return to pick you up. Your ticket includes a round trip back to Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site. The Trolley runs on an hourly schedule. Consult with your conductor as to the return pick up times as well as the time of the last trolley of the day. Charter Available.
Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site
Step back in time and explore historic New Salem just as Lincoln knew it. This meticulously reconstructed 1830s village is where Lincoln lived as a young adult, studied law and began politics. Everything from the people to the blacksmith’s workshop gives visitors a glimpse into what pioneer life was really like when young, burly Abe was throwing down his axe.
Pettengill - Morron House Museum
An 1868 Victorian mansion in the historic Moss-High District. The museum houses decorative arts, fine textiles, antique furniture and silver collections.
Contemporary Art Center of Peoria
Peoria's cultural hub featuring art exhibitions, artist studios, art instruction, comedy improv, poetry nights, yoga and tai chi classes, and jazz and blues performances. The Contemporary Art Center exhibits the work of living artists at the forefront of their fields. About 20 resident artists are constantly creating art on-site, and prolific artist and co-founder Preston Jackson continues to maintain his sculpture and painting studio. The Contemporary Arts Center is also a great choice for your next event from club meetings to wedding receptions. The beautiful facility offers a meeting space of nearly 3,000 square feet, tables, chairs, a full kitchen, a stage with lighting and sound system, restroom facilities, plenty of parking space and lots more. The wheelchair accessible facility is located on Peoria’s RiverFront on the 2nd floor of the building in an old warehouse with original exposed red brick and wood floors. Your guests can enjoy the art exhibit during your event as well. You may use any caterer you wish or cater the event yourself.
John C. Flanagan House Museum
The John C. Flanagan House Museum was built in 1837 on Peoria’s east bluff by John C. Flanagan and is the oldest standing house in Peoria. This American Federal style house offers a spectacular view of the Illinois River Valley.
Bradley University is an independent, privately endowed, coeducational institution. With an enrollment of approximately 6,000 students, Bradley University is the ideal size for living and learning. The University offers a full range of baccalaureate and graduate level programs as well as personal attention, from a faculty dedicated to student learning.
An elegantly appointed venue along Peoria’s Riverfront, the Gateway offers the finest surroundings for your next business or social function. Constructed in 1997, this beautiful building was designed and created to be the focal point of Peoria's Riverfront. The Gateway is conveniently located downtown just one block from Interstate 74 and is within walking distance of hotels, major businesses, and many restaurants. The Riverfront provides a spectacular backdrop with its stunning views and the vibrant nightlife offers a unique and festive atmosphere. This is an affordable, convenient site for any meeting, banquet, or conference occasion. With the comfort and versatility the Gateway offers, you will want to make this the new home for your annual banquets and weekly meetings.
Shoppes at Grand Prairie
The Shoppes at Grand Prairie ~ a vibrant, open-air lifestyle center in Peoria ~ is the premier dining and shopping destination for the region. The Shoppes features an exciting blend of retailers and restaurants, along with our anchor stores: Bergner's, DSW, Jillian's and Dick's Sporting Goods. The center is highlighted by an inviting, lushly landscaped outdoor environment that features animal sculptures throughout the center, the nationally acclaimed Holocaust Memorial Button exhibit filled with 11 million buttons, the Caterpillar children's play area, and weekend entertainment.
Caterpillar Visitor's Center
Opened in October 2012, this new visitor's center celebrates the long history of the Caterpillar Company. Visitors can explore the past by taking a journey back in time via historic photos and antique equipment. Visitor favorites include a 24-foot tall 797 mining truck that doubles as a movie theater and a product floor complete with simulators to explore its world-famous product line.
Peoria Riverfront Museum
Opened in October 2012, this brand new 80,000 square-foot building is a world-class facility located on Peoria’s downtown riverfront. The museum features a 3D giant screen theater and digital planetarium, as well as history, science, art and achievement exhibits for all ages.
Peoria Historical Society
Our mission is to preserve and celebrate Peoria's story. We own two historic house museums and provide certified guides for the History Trolley and other tours. The focus has changed and evolved through the years, but our commitment to preservation remains strong. programs are offered for both local residents and out-of-town visitors. We seek to entertain the eye and stimulate the mind as well as support historical scholarship and collaborate with other preservation organizations. We look to the future with a vision to be the resource and advocate for historical preservation and research on the Peoria area, its organizations and its people. As a collaborative partner of the Peoria Riverfront Museum, we are pleased to have the opportunity to display some of the Society's artifacts and present the history of the Peoria area in the museum.
Illinois Central Railroad Historical Society Headquarters
The Illinois Central Railroad Historical Society is dedicated to preserving historical and educational information about the Illinois Central Railroad and the many predecessor railroads that have been part of the IC system. This headquarters feature a depot, museum and library.
1950s Park Forest House Museum
Operated by the Park Forest Historical Society, this house museum depicts a rental home as it might have appeared in a post-World War II fully planned community. A docent on duty describes the history of the home.
Park Forest Rail Fan Park
Viewing platform and educational displays at one of the country's largest rail intersections, where the Canadian National main line connects with the Metra line. A must-visit attraction for area visitors!
Allis Chalmers Tractor Musuem
Come visit this private collection of Allis Chalmers tractor models made from 1914-1957. Open for free by appointment or chance.
Mile Marker Historical Monument
This stone identifies one of the last original road markers that dotted the first road built from Vincennes to Chicago.
Edgar County Historical Society
Compare pioneer and Victorian lifestyles when you visit the log cabin and brick Italianate home. An exhibition gallery in an adjacent building features rotating exhibits of the historical society's collection.
Edgar County Genealogical Library
Trace your Edgar County roots at this library that has genealogical tools, manuscripts, books, filmed records, micro-fiche, and computerized data based on Edgar County families.
Indian Treaty Site
A marker commemorates the point where two important trails intersected on the prairie: Detroit to St. Louis and Peoria to Terre Haute. In 1765, the British and the Illinois Indians signed a peace treaty here.
Grave Of Sarah Hanks Varnell
Abraham Lincoln's aunt was buried in the Ogden County cemetery in 1876 after living a long life in Edgar County.
Edgar County Courthouse
This elegant 1893 brick and stone building is on the National Register of Historic Places.