Showing 193-288 of 1,048 items found in History
The residence of the founder of the City of Zion, Dr. John Alexander Dowie, is a stately 23-room mansion that was built in 1901-02 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
This 1840s farmhouse features reproductions of Sheldon Peck's folk paintings, exhibits on the area's first school, the underground railroad, farming and pioneer life.
Historical items are displayed throughout this former jail and previous sheriff's residence. Tour the basement where the old jails cells are located, or trace your family tree.
Hours: Tuesday and Thursday: 9:00am-11:30am & 12:30pm-3:00pm; Saturday: 9:00am-11:00am This museum holds a large collection of historical information pertaining to the surrounding communities. Admission is free.
Tour the oldest remaining structure in the village. The home was originally owned by Montgomery’s founder, Daniel Gray. A museum offers an educational history of the Village of Montgomery. Open 2nd Tuesday and 3rd Sunday of each month, 12:30-2:30 p.m. May-October.
When looking for the perfect personal gift, adding to someone's collection or decorating your home. Sentimental Journey should be the place to shop. They carry a large selection of Vera Bradley, Isabel Bloom, Crabtree & Evelyn, Jewery, New Baby, Inspirtational and Specialty Occasion gifts, along with Wee Forest Folk, Dept 56 and Byers' Choice Carolers. Sentimental Journey also offers a large selection of pictures, decorating and home accessories to help you make your house a home!
Seminary Street is one of the Midwest's success stories in downtown restoration and revitalization, featuring historic Galesburg buildings that now thrive as restaurants and specialty shops.
Chicago's only Segway-authorized touring company has locations at Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue, plus certified tour docents who will ensure a memorable, safe experience.
Historical and sightseeing motorcoach day-tours of Chicago and the suburbs. Tour packages available for out-of-town groups, conventions, family reunions, local groups and organizations. Call for group tour details.
This turn-of-the-century Victorian house was ordered through the Sears Roebuck catalog and assembled for only several hundred dollars.
Scottish Rite Cathedral is on the former site of the Stillman Wheelock mansion, this Gothic Revival style cathedral was built in 1930.
Visit the Schuyler Jail Museum to view a fascinating showcase of pioneer life on the Illinois frontier. A special section displays memorabilia from the Scripps family, early Rushville citizens who became nationally known in the worlds of newspapers and philanthropy, and who in 1926 donated their family farm to the city for use as a park. Displays showcase soldier's uniforms of many wars, Native American relics, pioneer furniture, farming implements, an early barber shop, and much more!
This historic non-denominational chapel served as a house of worship for thousands of servicemen and women passing through this military base. After the Glenview Naval Air Station closed, the building was moved from its original location and painstakingly restored by the Village of Glenview and Kimball Hill Builders. Now owned by the Park District, it is available for rental by groups, individuals and organizations.
Hundreds of interesting items amassed over a lifetime are housed in this unique gallery that was formally a working farm barn.
This 3 story historic building contains artifacts telling the story of this Mississippi River community. Noteworthy displays include over 80 mannequins dressed in authentic Civil War uniforms, native son & famous big-band musician Wayne King memorabilia, railroad artifacts and running model RR layout Savanna Ordnance Depot artifacts and much more.
Featuring local and Illinois made gifts, foods, and specialties. Enjoy specialty coffees, muffins, desserts and other goodies in their historic building built in 1906 which boasts the original art deco soda fountain from the 30's.
A friend of Abraham Lincoln, Samuel Parks shared a law office with the future president and served on the Eighth Judicial Circuit with him.
The Salt Kettle Rest Area is accessible from the westbound lands of I-74, between Danville and Oakwood, and is located near the original pioneer salt mines. A monument stands at the site in honor of the area's first industry.
This fascinating pioneer village includes the original Saline County Pauper Farm (now a three-story museum), an old jail, an 1859 one-room schoolhouse, the Cain Church, several 1800s log cabins, a barn and country store.
A beautiful sculpture of Sacagawea graces the campus of Lewis and Clark Community College in Godfrey, Illinois. The piece was crafted by Glenna Goodacre who also designed the image on the Sacajewea $1 coin.
Tour this centennial barn, one of the largest in the country and one of forty-two left in the State of Illinois. It stands 80 feet high and 85 feet in diameter and features a 16-foot diameter floor to ceiling silo. A farm implement museum in on the main floor. Tours are provided by Friends of Johnson’s Park Foundation and groups of ten or more asked to call ahead. Open the first, third, and fifth Saturday beginning May through October. Hours: 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
This private residence was once a historic inn where a group of counterfeiters met to hatch a plot to steal Abraham Lincoln's body from his tomb in Springfield. Walk up to view the marker only.
"Where History Comes Alive." The Russell Military Museum has over 100 military vehicles on display from WWI to present day. The museum offers a 10,000 sq ft indoor display area and 8 acres of outdoor display. Birthday party and group packages available. Guided tours can also be arranged for groups. The museum closes during the winter months and is primarily outdoors, so please check the weather or call ahead before planning your trip.
Located near the convergence of the Mississippi and Illinois rivers is Grafton - a little town steeped in history. In the heart of that history is the Ruebel Hotel. The Ruebel was built in 1884, caught fire in 1912 and was rebuilt and completely renovated in 1997. The Ruebel Hotel has a magnificently restored bar from the 1904 Worlds Fair in St. Louis. The Ruebel Saloon offers excellent food and a great variety of beer and wines.
This small park is right on Route 66, and it's a great place to check out the town of Atlanta. It is a great park, including flat area to run and playground for the kids to climb and run on, you and your family are sure to enjoy.
These murals bring back the memories of the heyday of Route 66 in Pontiac, Illinois.
Stop by this eclectic museum to explore the history of Route 66, car culture and local history. There is even a Rolls-Royce on display! The collection was brought together by a local historian with great stories to share. Located just a few doors from the Palm's Grill this museum is a must see.
This hand-built chapel in Lincoln is open for prayer and meditation 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Five wayside story boards that highlight the history of Route 66 in Pontiac. Pick up a map at the Route 66 Museum.
Restored and reopened drive-in located along historic Route 66 in Springfield. Single screen drive-in with double features nightly.
See the finest collection of memorabilia from the historic Mother Road in Illinois. The free-admission Hall of Fame features nostalgic photos and displays, plus attractions that include Route 66 artist and icon Bob Waldmire's bus and van, and the world's largest Route 66 shield.
The Rt. 66 Arcade Museum is chock full of vintage pinball and video games from the 1930s-1970s - most of which can be played. It's the perfect place to misspend your youth all over again, one quarter at a time!
The Rossville Depot Railroad Museum features a collection of material from various railroads in East Central Illinois including the C&EI, Wabash, Illinois Terminal and NYC. The depot also includes a HO scale model railroad with over 1,000 feet of total track and 130 switches.
American taphouse serving flatbreads, burgers & pasta. Located in Downtown Bloomington in Abraham Lincoln's former law office.
The Sumner home, along with two others, features historical displays and replicas. One of the houses is restored as a 1920's working-class home.
Located on a high mound overlooking the prairie, this cemetery is home of the famous Lincoln the Orator statue by artist J. Mulligan and the Lincoln-commissioned cannon called Mary Lincoln.
A self-guided driving tour that celebrates the hometown values and heritage of our 40th President.
Housed in the Donald B. Cerf Center at Eureka College, the museum collection numbers over 10,000 items from President Reagan's Eureka College student days, his movie and TV career, his governorship of California and two terms as president of the United States. The Reagan Peace Garden located on the historic campus includes a bust of the 40th president and a section of the Berlin Wall.
Tour the restored home that the Reagan family resided in from 1920-1923, and meander through the Visitor Center and Gift Shop which features books and gifts highlighting the Reagan legacy. The tour includes the four-room Presidential Timeline exhibit and the viewing of a Reagan biographical video.
This quaint apartment, featuring the bedroom where the President was born, restored and decorated to its original 1900's style, sits on the second floor at the site of the First National Bank which has also been restored. Next door is a gift store and museum of Reagan memorabilia.
Rock Springs Center is the largest park in the Macon County Conservation District properties with a total of 1,343 acres in the southwest area of Decatur, IL. The Sangamon River runs through Rock Springs and several small ponds dot the landscape. A wide range of terrain including forest, wetland, grassland, and restored Illinois prairie make Rock Springs a destination for nature lovers. Rock Springs is also home to a large nature center, a museum, a restored farmhouse, nearly nine miles of hiking trails, and a paved bike trail. Rock Springs is a favorite for families all year round. Rooms and pavilions are available for rent for meetings and events.
Open: Wednesday: 1 pm to 3 pm; or by appointment This museum, in an 1870's building, features artifacts from the Rock City area including pictures, clothing, articles and more.
The entire village of Maeystown is on the historic register with much of the history preserved in the museum.
The nation's second-oldest US Army museum features exhibits that highlight the history of the island, items manufactured there, and a display of firearms portraying the history of small arms development.
View trains from the Union Pacific and BNSF railroads as they rush by the park pavilion and browse the railroad-themed gift shop.
In 1918, Alton became the famous birthplace of Robert Wadlow, "The Gentle Giant." Born a normal eight pounds in 1918, Wadlow suffered from a pituitary gland problem. He was almost nine feet tall and 500 pounds when he died of complications from a foot infection at age 22. He is noted in the Guinness Book of World Records as the tallest man alive. A life-sized statue on College Avenue lifts visitors' heads in amazement. The Alton Museum of History and Art have devoted an entire room to Wadlow, including his third-grade desk and oversized grade school ring.
This beautiful, historic 1865 mansion was once owned by the Halliday Family, and is now owned by the City of Cairo and open for tours.
Built in 1853, the restored house of blacksmith Robert Ingle has undergone extensive restoration, and features antiques, a family bible and the town's first piano. Reservations required.
There is a large collection of machinery and primitives dating back to the 1800s.
This self-guided audio tour takes you through one of the "Prettiest Painted Places in America," the Ridgeland Historic District, to view great architecture and hear stories of famous Oak Lawn natives.
Historic Vaudeville Movie Theatre listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Wide variety of performances.
Located in the Nauvoo State Park next to the oldest vineyard of Nauvoo, this original brick home highlights an Abraham Lincoln room, quilt room, Icarian room, Victorian parlor, toy and doll antiques, summer kitchen and original underground arched wine cellar. View antiques of local families and churches. Most recent donations are Bibles, a spinning wheel, and the framed Lincoln prints of Lane K. Newberry.
A Lionel train set shares space with a Li'l Abner Dogpatch Band windup toy and British toy soldiers. Antique collectibles, clothing, glassware, a mule deer antler chandelier, and many more unusual items fill the 2,000 sq. ft. "extra room" added onto the house.
If motorcycles are your thing, check out Reiman’s Harley Davidson. Roger Reiman, the original proprietor, is a 1998 inductee into the American Motorcycle Association’s Hall of Fame and a three-time winner of the Daytona 200. A top competitor in the AMA’s Grand National Circuit during the 1960s, Reiman cut back on his racing schedule to manage the family Harley Davidson dealership in Kewanee during the 1970s. It was during this time that he became famous as motorcycle stuntman Evel Knievel’s head mechanic. Since Reiman’s death in a racing accident in 1997, the Packee family has owned and operated the dealership. One of the top Harley Davidson dealerships in the Midwest, Reiman’s can meet every motorcycle enthusiast’s needs and desires. Stop by and visit the Racing Museum and check out the history of Roger Reiman and Evel Knievel. Axle will be there to greet you!
Tour this farm, which is a commercial embryo transfer station that uses donor cows.
One of Ottawa's greatest treasures. Built in 1858, this three story, 22-room Italianate mansion was possibly the most expensive private home in Illinois at that time. Tours available 6 days a week - 11am to 3pm. Closed Tuesdays & major holidays.
This covered bridge is located 1 1/2 miles north of Princeton on Rt. 26. One of five remaining covered bridges in Illinois, this bridge was built in 1863 and is still open to traffic. It crosses Big Bureau Creek and was once part of the Peoria-Galena Trail. This beautiful landmark is a delight for artists, photograpers and nature lovers. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The 149 foot span was built at a cost of $3,148.57.
At this real haunted house, built in 1870, you'll hear about the inn's spooky history on a tour that takes you through the twists and turns of this creepy building.
1828 Stagecoach Inn -- Abe Lincoln stayed here as he was campaigning. White County artifacts also on display.
Built in 1864, the museum is a repository for French-Colonial-era records and special exhibits. Next door, the Randolph County Courthouse offers a panoramic view of the Mississippi River Valley from a 5th-floor, glassed-in observation deck, a mini-museum in the Jail lobby, and a flag display in the courtyard.
Rammelkamp Chapel is the home of religious life on campus as well as the site for various events ranging from weekly chapel services, mass, convocations, concerts and ceremonies.
Housed in a historic 1890s home, this museum covers everything from the history of the Mississippi River to dinosaurs, Native Americans and NASA.
Visit this railroad museum that features transportation displays and model railroads.
Tours of the recently restored, redecorated 1844 Pulsifer House. Genealogical historical research facilities. Open Wed & Fri from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM. Agricultural Museum open by appointment.
Stop here for exhibits and tours of the historic town of Pullman, built in 1880 by railcar magnate George M. Pullman. Several buildings remain on this landmark site.
The site preserves surviving portions of the industrial complex developed in the early 1880s by George M. Pullman to build luxury railroad passenger cars. The plant was the centerpiece of a company-owned town planned under Pullman's direction.
The Pritzker Military Museum & Library offers books, audiovisuals, prints, regalia, magazines, speakers and online resources concentrating on military history, specifically the role of the Citizen Soldier.
The Princeville Heritage Museum opened to the public in 1999. The museum is a part of the Historical Association of Princeville (incorporated in 1987). The 15,000 square foot handicap accessible facility features antique agriculture equipment, steam powered tractors and threshers, area artifacts, a genealogy research area, and much more. In 2004 the Akron Townhouse School was moved to the museum grounds. The townhouse school allows children and adults alike to take a step back in time and participate in a day in the life of a student in the early 1900’s. With seating for 35, the conference facilities are equipped with state of the art audio visual equipment and wireless internet connection. The facility also includes a full kitchen.
Princeton's Library contains an outstanding collection of Bureau County genalogical referencematerial including history books, census and cemetery records, indexed newspaper, city directories, atlases, and family histories. New location and building at 698 East Peru Street.
Two and a half miles of magnificent shopping! Unique specialty shops, antique malls and services. So many shops...so little time.
The museum includes the agricultural machinery that you would find on a typical 80-120 acre farm in the Midwest. It also includes many of the items that would be found in a 1930s farmhouse.
This museum is home of the annual Steam Show and Fall Festival, as well as the Prairie Land Liberty Church, which was built in 1900. Enjoy antique tractors, train rides and local history.
The library was originally built in 1896 as a carriage house, and later transformed into a treatment and recreation building for the Keeley Institute, a well-known alcohol rehab center in the late 1800s.
Prairie Aviation Museum has displays, static aircraft, education programs, air shows, group tours, and special aviation events for over 30 years. As an aviation and space museum, we honor military and civilian aviation. While visitors are quick to notice our displays, we love to tell the stories of the men and women who have contributed to the creation, development, expansion, and promise of aviation and space exploration. We are a family friendly museum, where visitors of all ages can touch our displays and static aircraft and visit with members who flew and maintained the aircraft in the Air Park. We love to hear visitor’s stories about experiences that they and/or members of their family have had related to aviation and space.
Postville Courthouse is the original seat of County Government in Logan County. The Courthouse site is a reproduction of the original courthouse where Abraham Lincoln practiced law. They offer a wonderful guided tour for all visitors. They also have Mary Todd's Medicinal Garden that is highlighted during the summer months.
After the Civil War, Confederate shipbuilder Joe Minch was looking for a fresh start. He made his way back to the Rockbridge area and traded his building expertise for a set of tools. That first project of building a barn set into motion a new trend in barn design. Joe placed round windows, now know as portholes, in the barn. Travel through Greene County today to view the highest concentration of Porthole Barns in the country.
The museum was established to preserve history and educate youth about the significant contributions made to our country by winged and wheeled vehicles.
The history of the Oakland and Pontiac car brands as seen through 15 classic cars, dealer artifacts, a complete print library and memorabilia. Free admission-open year round.
Be sure to stop by and pick up local Pontiac and tourist information for area attractions, dining, coupons and shopping. Located inside the Route 66 Hall of Fame and Museum building.
Lincoln slept here two nights in 1856, as the guest of his friend Senator Aplington, the founder of the village of Polo. Learn about the history of Polo and view the Ogle County Military Museum, which showcases artifacts from all wars.
The Polk-a-Dot Drive In was founded over 50 years ago has become one of the most memorable attractions along Illinois Route 66. Stop in and see the collection of memorabilia and enjoy a great meal.
Explore the opulent 30-room mansion designed by prominent Prairie School architect Geroge H. Maher
Explore this opulent 30-room mansion designed by prominent Prarie School architect George H. Maher, which today serves as a museum.
Pleasant Home is an architectural gem that showcases 19th century craftsmanship and artistry. Designed in 1897 by prominent architect George W. Maher, the home is a National Historic Landmark and the only Maher building open to the public as a museum. You and your guests will be surrounded by rich custom woodwork, extraordinary art glass windows, intricate woodcarvings, and the glowing warmth of light from another era. The Pleasant Home's 1st floor includes of the Great Hall, Living and Dining Rooms and enclosed circular porch. The front porch is a great addition to the 1st floor during warmer weather. It is perfect for wedding ceremonies, smaller banquets or cocktail parties. The Library is slightly off the beaten path, but is a great place for a buffet station for a cocktail reception. It is also perfect for small lectures of meetings that do not require the use of the whole house.
Restored, One-room schoolhouse serves as living museum. Open June to early September. Groups welcome by appointment. They actually sit at desks in the one room schoolhouse while a docent explains how teaching was done in 1872. They also participate in playing the games the students played during their recess periods.
Built in 1857, this church is a fine example of Carpenter Gothic Architecture. Pointed arched windows and doors as well as board and batten frame construction characterize this style. King Edward VII worshipped at the church in 1860, while on a hunting expedition in the area. The church was named as one of the “150 Architectural Treasures” in the State of Illinois by the Association of Illinois Architects in 2007, and is listed on the National Historic Register.
The Pink Elephant Antique Mall has many hidden gems. Open daily 9:30 am - 5:30 pm.
This marker tells the story of the Pig Hip Restaurant and its famous sandwiches. A fire took the museum building in 2007.
(TEMPORARILY CLOSED beginning 10/08 except for special events.) Pierre Menard, an important political figure in 1818, built this home. It is furnished with many of the Menard family's personal possessions and other period pieces. The surrounding grounds and outbuildings include an herb garden, smokehouse, springhouse, and adjoining kitchen.
Located on the edge of Alton, Piasa Park is an attractive stop for motorists, picnickers and bicyclists. The park is set at the base of the giant Piasa Bird mural that is painted on the side of a huge bluff. A large granite arrowhead tells the story of the Piasa Bird, which, according to legend, Chief Ouatoga and his 20 warriors killed with poison darts.
Built in 1895, the red brick for the building came from the Lincoln Coal Company. A unique telephone booth on the roof was added later and was used by weather spotters to phone in sighted storms. Lincoln City Hall anchors the downtown National Historic Registered District and is one of the city's most visible symbols.
This restored 1882 opera house, now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is home to Pandora's Playhouse community theater.
An 1868 Victorian mansion in the historic Moss-High District. The museum houses decorative arts, fine textiles, antique furniture and silver collections.
Built in 1830, this is the only stagecoach stop still intact along the 60-mile Kaskaskia-Cahokia trail.
The historic Peterson House is a part of Peterson Park in Mattoon, and houses the Mattoon Chamber of Commerce. This beautiful building is rich in architectural history and is an key part of Mattoon's cultural story.