Showing 289-384 of 1,048 items found in History
Our mission is to preserve and celebrate Peoria's story. We own two historic house museums and provide certified guides for the History Trolley and other tours. The focus has changed and evolved through the years, but our commitment to preservation remains strong. programs are offered for both local residents and out-of-town visitors. We seek to entertain the eye and stimulate the mind as well as support historical scholarship and collaborate with other preservation organizations. We look to the future with a vision to be the resource and advocate for historical preservation and research on the Peoria area, its organizations and its people. As a collaborative partner of the Peoria Riverfront Museum, we are pleased to have the opportunity to display some of the Society's artifacts and present the history of the Peoria area in the museum.
Formerly known as the Illinois Asylum for the Incurable Insane. Come take a tour and hear stories of the history of the hospital, employees and the inmates. See how this nationally recognized historic
Home of the largest and best collection of farm equipment and antiquites of yesteryear. Over 700 cast iron implement seats, 50 antique tractors, windmills, windmill weights, and antique washing machines. Wagons, spreaders, cultivators, planters, and the most extensive collection of Rockford, Illinois-made Emerson Brandingham equipment. A model tractor and toy collection is as large as it is unique. Individual tours available. The main building is heated and available all year round for weddings, birthdays, social gatherings, or auctions.
Standing 19 feet tall and clutching a giant hot dog, this Paul Bunyon statue, not “bunyan” purposely spelled with an “o”, is one of Route 66’s mythic Muffler Man Statues. A few of these giants still proudly grace the roadsides of historic Route 66. This one is located in Atlanta, just across the street from the Palms Grill Café, which features fine fare from The Mother Road’s golden age.
The Patton Cabin was built in June 1829 by John Patton, one of the area's first settlers. The cabin was constructed with the help of Native Americans who lived in the area.
This locally-owned pub traces its roots back to 1928. Its scenic location across from Miller Park, Forrest Park and on Historic Route 66 makes this restaurant a popular stop for Route 66 travelers. They offer a variety of food specials, drink specials, video gaming, and lottery. Plus you can watch the game on the big screens. Stop by and try some delicious broasted chicken, walleye, burger's and more!
Viewing platform and educational displays at one of the country's largest rail intersections, where the Canadian National main line connects with the Metra line. A must-visit attraction for area visitors!
The Owen Lovejoy Homestead, built in 1838 was the home of the famous abolitionist minister. Part of the Underground Railroad, rooms are furnished with period furniture and visitors can peer into the hidden area above the stairs where runaway slaves hid. The 1849 Colton One-Room Schoolhouse is behind the house. Located on East Peru Street a half mile from downtown Princeton. Call for dates and times open.
Open 7 days a week to service the traveling public. The Ottawa Visitors Center is your one stop shop for information on the Starved Rock Areas special events, lodging, and outdoor activities. Stroll our turn-of-the-century Old Town with its lush walkways, boutique shops and unique restaurants. Stop here for your "Scenic Route to the Rock."
A museum to promote and preserve the colorful and proud traditions of Boy/ Girl Scouting and Campfire.
A museum established to promote and preserve the history of the Ottawa area and the colorful and proud traditions of Boy/Girl Scouting and Camp Fire. Features national traveling exhibits from museums and libraries. Open Thursday-Monday 10:00 AM-4:00 PM, Closed on Holidays.
This beautiful 1.4 mile long piece of restored hand-laid brick road is a segment of 66 done in 1931 and placed over a concrete roadbed. Route 66 at its best.
Located in the Hyde Park neighborhood on the University of Chicago campus, the Oriental Institute Museum showcases the history, art and archaeology of the ancient Near East. Permanent collections focus on ancient Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Syria and Turkey. World-famous collection of artifacts from the ancient Middle East, including a recreation of an Assyrian palace and a 17-ft.-tall statue of King Tut.
Located in the former home of Justus Schlotzhauer, advance man for Ringling Brothers Circus, this museum focuses on local river history.
This museum features exhibits of local history and antique farm tools.
Bring your children and show them a glimpse into education before the 20th century. Located on the Jr. High grounds, this schoolhouse was restored by the Bond County Retired Teachers Association.
The cemetery is the eternal home of Timothy Webster, a Civil War spy.
Honoring the extraordinary achievements of Champaign County residents who have participated in the Olympic and Paralympic Games, this granite platform inscribed with the names of the athletes and the Olympic symbol is surrounded by playing fields, gardens and a community college campus. Tribute to Olympic Athletes rises from an ordinary prairie landscape transformed by playing fields, gardens and a community college campus.
Board a genuine open-air antique fire truck and take a tour that focuses on the Chicago FIre, and stops at two Chicago fire stations. Reservations required.
Used as a refuge for women and children of the Galena area during the Blackhawk War of 1832, the Old Stockade brings Galena's earliest history to life in this 1820's log building. Come, share!
Bronze markers give biographical information about prominent citizens from the earliest history of the community. Every fall, volunteers in period dress "resurrect" their ancestors and tell their stories during an annual cemetery walk.
Located in the Old State Capitol where Abraham Lincoln gave his "House Divided" speech. Here you'll find tourism information for the whole state. Many free events and performances throughout the year.
The Old State Capitol is a reconstruction of Illinois' fifth statehouse, the first to be located in Springfield. It is here that Lincoln practiced law, served as a legislator and gave his famed House Divided speech on slavery in 1858. The building served as the seat of state government and a center of Illinois political life from 1839-1876. The current State Capitol Building is the center of state government, where visitors can watch Illinois politics in action when the legislature is in session. Open 7 days a week.
This 158-year-old home has displays of historic items including Civil War artifacts, a Native American collection, and 1830s furnishings.
Celebrate the 171st anniversary of the Bishop Hill Colony and the 121st year of the Old Settler’s Association. Enjoy a traditional chicken dinner, the High Society Band Concert and program featuring Bishop Hill Colony descendants’ speakers. Sunday a reunion of students and teachers from the Bishop Hill Colony School takes place and memories are shared. Hours: 11:30 am to 3 pm.
The now renovated Old School Museum offers visitors a view of the history of Scott County and Winchester. This museum preserves and displays artifacts related to local history, agriculture, transportation, communication and public education. Also included is a collection of interesting/unique artifacts from the businesses and society of early Scott County. The Romanesque style building was Winchester’s public elementary school from 1901 through 1958.
This residential district includes original Freeport and the city's first street, Monterey, and was later known as the "Gold Coast". Points of interest include Freeport's oldest house (built in 1838), the childhood home of famed Hollywood gossip columnist Louella Parsons, a monument honoring Freeport's founder, William "Tutty" Baker, and the Van Buren Bridge, built in 1885 of wrought iron.
This 165-year-old building was the center of Galena's community life during the town's Golden Era. The Ulysses S. Grant exhibit features several artifacts from this president and Civil War hero.
This historical tour of Old Main at the Knox College campus includes stories about the Lincoln-Douglas debate held at Old Main, the sole remaining original site of the famed political debates.
Situated along the historical old route 66, this small town restaurant is authentic and rich with history. Opened in 1926 by Joe & Victor Seloti it still contains the knotty pine walls that were crafted from cedar telephone poles. Stop by to enjoy classic home cooking and take a step back in time.
See the local Historical Society's authentic preservation of an 1800s school and town jail. Tours by appointment.
Built in 1903 by the Illinois Central Railroad, the Old Railroad Passenger Depot has since been restored and now serves as home to the Carbondale Train Museum. Filled with information, artifacts and souveniers, the museum contains significant facts relating to Carbondale's history. Ring the bell of an original train car from the Illinois Central Railroad, which still sits on the track!
Learn how firemen fought fires throughout history. See all of the antique firefighting memorabilia.
Step back in time and view memorabilia that traces the history of Northern Illinois.
Ocean Farm is working to make a harmonious place where nature and agriculture complement each other. A contour strip rotation uses corn, soybeans, oats, alfalfa, and buckwheat. 56 acres are used in the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program.
The Obama family home is a lovely red brick manse located on a tree-lined street in the historic Kenwood neighborhood, near the University of Chicago. Chicago Neighborhood Tours regularly offers tours of the area.
The grave site of Ann Rutledge, Abraham Lincoln's first sweetheart, is located at Oakland Cemetery. Her tombstone bears an inscription written by poet Edgar Lee Masters, who is burried nearby.
Stop by the Visitors Center for an audio walking tour, maps, books, souvenirs and unique gifts. Tickets are available for Hemingway's Birthplace Home and Museum, Frank Lloyd Wright's Unity Temple, Historic Pleasant Home and the Historical Society of Oak Park & River Forest.
This memorial commemorates the 1834 settlement at Norway, the first permanent Norwegian settlement in the Midwest. The monument was dedicated as part of a 1934 centennial celebration.
Founded in 1851, Northwestern University is a renowned educational institution rich in history and architecture. More than 150 historically significant and interesting sites on campus are featured in various 30-minute walking tours.
A Big Ten school and one of the leading universities in the U.S. Its Evanston campus is on the shores of beautiful Lake Michigan. Founded in 1851, this renowned educational institution is rich in stunning architecture. More than 150 historically significant and interesting sites on campus are featured in various walking tours, each taking approximately 30 minutes to complete. Highlights include the Arch, University Hall and the Arts Circle.
The Northwest Territory Historic Center is a History Research and Learning Center housed in President Ronald Reagan's boyhood South Central School; located in his hometown of Dixon, Illinois. Beautifully restored with the dedicated support of the townspeople and Reagan colleagues, the Center is proudly affiliated with the Smithsonian Institution and houses the Veterans History Project Regional Center, auditorium, research library, historical exhibits, art gallery, surround-sound theater and museum store. A visit to the Northwest Territory Historic Center includes: The Unchanged Land-an interactive exhibit on Native American & Black Hawk War; The Changing Land-an interactive exhibit on early American Farming; Ronald Reagan's Restored Classroom; Rock River Assembly Diorama; Chautauqua Assembly Building Model; Earth from Space Poster Exhibit; President Reagan History Room, changing historical exhibits, a museum store and much more.
Come tour the Northern Illinois University, catch a show preformed by their Theatre or Dance department, or explore one of their Art Galleries. There is much to do on campus including their new Anthropology Museum, an Observatory, the Huskies Den or take in a game! Their Museums are free to visit, some fees may apply for shows or School of Music Concerts. There is never a dull moment on campus!
Enjoy the main floor museum with antiques and a replica of an 1890s home. Open the first Sunday of every month, or by appointment.
North Grove School, 3 miles northwest of Sycamore, was built in 1878 by the Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church as a parochial and Sunday school. Pupils of diverse ethnic backgrounds learned their lessons in Swedish, even several years after the DeKalb County public school system purchased the school in 1880. The Sycamore unit district acquired the school in 1949, and it continued as a school until 1952, when it was closed. The North Grove community continued to lovingly maintain the building and used it as a neighborhood social center for many years. Classroom in School Upon the closing of North Grove School in 1952, all furnishings were removed. However many furnishings from old Sycamore schools were still in storage in the 1960s when the Natural Resource Center in Genoa began using the site for special education programs. The school was refurbished and re-supplied using these furnishings, with additional period pieces being donated by private citizens. In 1970 North Grove School at 26745 Brickville Road (Map) was listed in the Illinois Directory of Historical Buildings. On May 24, 2012 the United States Department of the Interior placed the school and its outbuildings on the National Register of Historical Places. Today the school is still owned by the Sycamore School District but is leased to and lovingly cared for by the North Grove School Association, whose goal is to preserve this educational icon for future generations.
The Newberry Library is an independent library free and open to the public for research and reference in the humanities. The library offers a vast array of lectures, seminars, concerts and exhibits related to its collections.
Spanning the entire Fox River, features include the circa 1930 “Memory” and “Victory” statues in honor of fallen soldiers from World War I. In 1930, Chicago sculptor Emory P. Seidel designed the original plans for the bridge. As a period publication stated, using an artist made the bridge “remarkable in its beauty and unique in its design."
See model trains in operation, an HO-scale model of the Chesapeake & Ohio RR circa 1950s West Virginia, and running diesel and steam locomotives on a double main line.
The Nehring Gallery is a space within DeKalb dedicated to promoting arts and culture. It is currently the home of the DeKalb Area Agricultural Heritage Association, an organization dedicated to preserving and sharing the storied history of agriculture in northern Illinois, through exhibits, educational programs and community outreach. Visit their website to see what exhibit is on display today!
The Nauvoo Temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints was rebuilt in Nauvoo, one of the early settlements of the Mormon people. The structure is 150 ft tall and overlooks the Mississippi River. The temple was reconstructed on the site of the original, which was built between 1841 and 1846. The temple is a beautiful building and a "must-see" when visiting Nauvoo. The interior is not open to visitors, however gardens on the grounds and stunning exterior architecture bring visitors to the top of the bluffs to see the structure.
The Nauvoo Temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints was recently rebuilt in Nauvoo, one of the early settlements of the Mormon people. The structure is 150 feet tall and overlooks the Mississippi River. The temple was reconstructed on the site of the original temple which was built from 1841-1846, but later destroyed by arson after the Mormons left Nauvoo. Sacred ordinances are performed daily in the Nauvoo Temple, therefore the building is not available for tourist visits. The beautiful gardens and grounds are open to the public, located just north of the temple. The temple Information Cernter presents a free 14-minute virtual tour.
The National Veterans Art Museum inspires greater understanding of the real impact of war with a focus on Vietnam. The museum collects, preserves and exhibits art inspired by combat and created by veterans.
The Shrine has 200 beautifully landscaped acres of gardens and devotional areas, including the Outdoor Amphitheatre, Shrine Church, Lourdes Grotto, Stations of the Cross, Millennium Spire, the Visitors Center with a restaurant and gift shop, and the Shrine Hotel.
The National Road Interpretive Center in Vandalia, Illinois tells the story of the surveyors, laborers and travelers of the National Road, sometimes called the Cumberland Road or National Pike. The Interpretive Center is a museum with hands-on activities for children including a Conestoga wagon that the youngsters can load for its journey. Abraham Lincoln’s connection to Illinois National Road towns is also spotlighted. One of the largest artifacts is an original National Road timber dating to the 1830s. Visitors will develop a better understanding of the importance of this road to Illinois and American history as well as an appreciation for the people that were involved in its construction.
The Embarras River, near Greenup, was the site of a covered bridge built by Abe and Thomas Lincoln and Dennis Hanks. The original bridge was 200 feet long. The reconstructed bridge was dedicated in 2000.
Come to The National Museum of Mexican Art, where you can immerse yourself in the richness of Mexican art and culture right here in Chicago. Whatever your background, you’ll connect to this museum on a very personal level. We showcase 3,000 years of creativity from both sides of the border, connecting museum visitors to the diversity of Mexican culture. You’ll find us in Chicago’s Pilsen neighborhood. Here, in the heart of the city’s Mexican community, our 8,500-piece permanent collection meets the highest museum standards.
The NIASHF is a museum and educational institution whose mission is to preserving honorable values through sports by honoring and promoting the history and heritage of Italian Americans who have made significant contributions to sports and society.
The National Hellenic Museum is the only major museum in the United States dedicated to telling the story of Greek history, culture and arts from ancient times to today. It's mission is to preserve and explore Hellenism and to chronicle the Greek American journey through exhibitions, oral histories, archival collections and education programs. It's purpose is to inspire in people of all backgrounds a curiosity for their own story through a greater connection to Greek history, culture and the arts.
Located adjacent to the Melvin Price Locks and Dam, this museum is dedicated to telling the story of the Mississippi River, from its colorful history to its modern-day role as a major transportation corridor. The museum features kid-friendly, interactive and computer animated exhibits. Steer a towboat through the locks and dam via simulator, measure your water consumption or come face-to-face with river fish in the aquarium. Open daily 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
One of the smallest country chapels in the world was built in Nashville in the late 1980s. Thousands of travelers from all over the globe have stopped to visit this miniature chapel.
Enjoy a culinary and cultural walking experience through Naperville's historic neighborhood. One delicious taste at a time! Sample some great food and drink tastings from family run restaurants and shops. Along the way you will discover beautiful downtown Naperville, the Riverwalk and fun facts on the rich history that makes Naperville amazing.
Naper Settlement welcomes visitors to explore our outdoor history museum that features fun, immersive learning experiences for all ages. Engaging exhibits, professional educators and hands-on activities teach visitors about the history of Naperville from the pioneer times to present day. Our 12-acre museum campus features: award-winning Brushstrokes of the Past exhibit, the Martin Mitchell Mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Harvard Early Learning Playscape, Century Memorial Chapel, Blacksmith Shop, Log House, Paw Paw Post Office and more!
This company offers group cultural and educational tours. Reservations are required.
Showcasing classic and one-of-a-kind Corvettes and memorabilia, My Garage Museum is a must-see attraction for any car enthusiast. Corvettes on display include Indy pace cars, racing machines, the last C-4 and the first 21st century model.
History and artifacts of the Matteson area; obituaries, maps, oral histories, library of antique books and newspaper clippings can be found at this informative resource.
History and artifacts of the Matteson area; obituaries, maps, oral histories, library of antique books and newspaper clippings.
The Museum of the Grand Prairie has an extensive collection interpreting 19th and early 20th century life in east-central Illinois. Two floors of exhibits present architecture, trades and occupations, decorative arts, and childhood and domestic life of the time. The Discovery Room offers hands-on opportunities for children to interact and learn about the residents of the Grand Prairie. Educational programs are offered for all ages throughout the year.
A world of discovery awaits at the largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere. Explore more than 800 exhibits, including the legendary U-505, a German submarine captured on the high seas during World War II; take off on a Boeing 727 airplane for a simulated cross-country flight; descend down a mineshaft for a tour of a realistic coal mine; and witness robots at work in a toy factory. Take a seat at the museum’s Omnimax Theater and watch awesome 3D flicks on a giant screen.
The Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC), at 360 North State Street in Chicago, is an Illinois non-profit corporation and manages two subsidiaries --Museum.TV and the National Radio Hall of Fame (NRHOF) and its website radiohof.org. The MBC’s mission is to collect, preserve and present historic and contemporary and television content as well as educate, inform and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screening, exhibits, publications and online access to its resources.
Take a self-guided walking tour through Mt. Carroll's historic district, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
This museum contains numerous artifacts and memorabilia from the Mt. Pulaski area, as well as Abraham Lincoln items and information.
This wayside interprets the career connection between Logan County and Abraham Lincoln.
This original 1844 building was once a stagecoach stop, tavern, post office, town hall and candy store. Completely restored by the Village of Gurnee, this historical home is reported to have been part of the Underground Railroad.
This original 1844 building was once a stagecoach stop, tavern, post office, town hall, and candy store. Completely restored by the Village of Gurnee, this historical home is reported to have been part of the Underground Railroad. Slaves would be housed in the basement or the barn. View artifacts from the Civil War, see the "Crystal Ballroom" where traveling guests would be entertained or the room dedicated to the family of a local man that died on the Titanic.
The Mother Jones Monument, located in the Union Miners Cemetery, honors the crusader for coal miners' rights.
Located in Harrer Park, this 1888 Victorian farmhouse features period furnishings and a museum on its lower level with rotating displays.
The only Moravian church in the state was built by German settlers in Southern Illinois.
This is the preserved home of Reuben Moore and his wife Matilda, who was a daughter of Sarah Bush Lincoln and stepsister of Abraham Lincoln. The frame Moore Home dates back to the late 1850s.
Built in 1899, the restored depot is the departure point for a weekend afternoon train ride to the Monticello Railway Museum. It also serves as a visitor center for Monticello and Piatt County.
View various pieces of steam and electric railroad equipment. Offers vintage train rides on Sat. and Sun. May through Oct., as well as a number of special events throughout the year.
You're welcome to visit the Monsanto Facility at Monmouth, home to many exciting facets of agricultural research and training.
This privately-owned, 1890'a depot was restored in 2001 and contains photos and artifacts relating to Momence's railroading history.
Depicting everyday life in the late 1880’s, this 1869 home features period furnishings throughout. It originally served as a private residence. The Momence Women’s Club was instrumental in preserving this lovely house museum. The home is maintained by the City of Momence. The arbor and gardens were created by the Momence High School Shop Class and Main Street Momence.
Designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Renzo Piano, this 264,000 sq. foot building provides a new home for the museum’s renowned collections of modern painting and sculpture, contemporary art, architecture and design, and photography. Be among the first to see this dramatic addition that makes the Art Institute of Chicago the second largest art museum in the United States.
View navigation and learn about the Mississippi River past and present. Located on historical Rock Island Arsenal Island at Lock & Dam 15, you can watch barges lock through and make reservations for Lock & Dam Tours during the Summer weekend months. Call ahead for reservations for guided Lock & Dam tours.
Grand Tower is a city rich in history that is inseparable from the history of the Mighty Mississippi River itself. To preserve the history and culture of life on the water dating back to the heyday of steamboats, the museum houses artifacts from this bygone era. For a step back in time and a glimpse of the life experiences along the Mighty Mississippi River, stop by this newly opened museum and explore.
Share evidence and peruse scientific research on the paranormal at one of the most haunted buildings in Alton -- the former Mineral Springs Hotel -- now the home of the Mineral Springs Paranormal Research Center. Overnight paranormal events are held at the site, in addition to meetings with other paranormal experts, investigators and researchers. Ghost hunting equipment is used in every investigation and there are over 140 EVPs obtained over the years at the hotel and at other investigation sites.
Take an eight-block tour of some of the haunted locations in downtown Alton, investigate the four floors of the Mineral Springs Hotel, be part of a seance and top the evening off with a tarot card reading. All tours begin and end at the Mineral Springs Mall. Tour options include New Moon Haunted Tours, Waking the Dead Walking Tours, Cemetery Tours and Haunted Overnights.
Opened in the late 1800's, this city zoo began to house exotic animals after a traveling circus left behind a lion cub. Located on Historic Route 66 the zoo became a popular attraction among travelers. It is also the only Illinois zoo to feature the endangered Sumatran tiger. They offer many exhibits and zookeeper interaction opportunities that are enjoyed by the whole family. Some highlights include: sun bear, reindeer, Harbor Seals, red pandas, lemurs, Galapagos Tortoise, Bald Eagles, Pallas' Cat, Snow Leopards, gibbons, and Red Wolves. The Zoo features many large indoor and outdoor exhibits such as a Tropical America Rainforest, ZooLab, Katthoefer Animal Building, Wallaby WalkAbout, Children's Zoo, and Animals of Asia.
This unique landmark was restored in 1977, with its Korean/Vietnam War Memorial dedicated in May of 1988.
The Millennium Carillon, a unique musical instrument consisting of 72 bells, is one of only four Grand Carillons in the world. Carillonneurs from around the world perform during the summer concert series. Climb 253 steps to the observation area to marvel at the views.
Miles Davis was born on in Alton, IL on May 26, 1926 and is noted as one of the most influential jazz muscians of the 20th century. Over his lifetime, Davis won nine Grammy awards and recorded more than 100 albums. In 2006 he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Created by sculptor Preston Jackson, the bronze statue stands in the middle of the Miles Davis Memorial Plaza.
The Milan Township District #83 Schoolhouse served as a center for learning from the turn of the century until 1942. In 1942, it was closed and left to deteriorate. However, the schoolhouse was given a new lease on life when it was donated to the Blackwell History of Education Museum in 1996 and then rebuilt on the campus of Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, IL. Since 1999, the Milan Schoolhouse has been available to teachers at elementary and middle schools for re-enactment of a typical day in a one-room schoolhouse, professors at NIU and other institutions, and teachers at high schools for classes, other events, and families and organizations for various activities. We wish to thank Dr. Eui-Kyung Shin, assistant professor in the Department of Teaching and Learning, for her guidance of Rebecca Edwards in the development of this curriculum.A Blackwell Museum staff member has created lesson plans for students in 1st through 8th grade that allow them to experience a school day in the early 1900s, depending on the teacher's preference. The one room school is currently unavailable for visits, but we hope to have it open again in the Spring of 2014. If you have any questions or comments, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Midwest SOARRING (Save Our Ancestors Remains & Resources Indigenous Network Group) Foundation was formed in November of 1996. They are a Native American non-profit organization who assists with repatriation, protection of sacred sites and educates the public about Native American culture, through Pow Wows, cultural programs and environmental issues. The new Cultural Center is made possible by a lease obtained through the City of Lockport.
The museum campus consists of a Victorian village with 26 historical buildings filled with artifacts of the era as well as several beautiful 19th century gardens that depict life in northern Illinois from 1890 to 1910. Interpreters in authentic period dress are available seasonally for guided tours. The main museum building holds large group meeting rooms and exhibit space with a number of permanent exhibits reflecting Rockford's history and culture. Special events throughout the year include a World War II re-enatment, Sock Monkey and Scarecrow Harvest Festivals, and more. Free recreational path located on property.