Showing 1-24 of 134 items
Cheif Keokuk Campground
The Chief Keokuk Campground features 70 pads with electrical hook-ups for trailers, plus 25 tent sites (All camping Class B/E). There is a shower building on site. A sanitary dump station is near the camping area. A primitive cabin, Chief Tecumseh, is also available. The cabin is located on a slope overlooking Johnson Lake. A fire grill, table and BBQ grill are provided outside. A full size bed, two sets of bunk beds, a table and benches are provided inside. The cabin has heat and air conditioning as well as two ceiling fans. Reservations can be made, for dates between May 1st and November 1st, at ReserveAmerica.com for the campgrounds and cabin.
History in the Paint Public Art Tour
In the summer of 2013, a collective of artists, called the Walldogs, came to Kewanee, IL to paint 15 historic murals depicting the long history and heritage of the city. These paintings can be found on many downtown facades, as well as at the Amtrak Station that brings new people to the area, every day. About this mural: Kewanee was founded in May of 1854, when the Military Tract Railroad was routed to the north of Wethersfield. The town founders were from Wethersfield Township to the south, Sylvester Blish, Ralph Tenney, Henry Little and Sullivan Howard, plus Nelson Lay from Wisconsin. Colonel Berrian, civil engineer who supervised the laying of the track through this area, was asked to choose a name and he decided on “Kewanee,” a Winnebago Indian word for “prairie chicken.” In 1921, Wethersfield’s 2,000 people asked to be annexed to Kewanee with its 16,000. That 18,000 would turn out to be Kewanee’s peak population.
Bishop Hill State Historic Site
Four historically significant buildings are owned by the State of Illinois and are maintained as part of the Bishop Hill State Historic Site. These architectural treasures are the two-story Colony Church (1850), the three-story Colony Hotel (1852-ca. 1860), the Boys Dormitory (ca. 1850), and the Colony Barn (mid-1850s) that has been relocated behind the Hotel. In addition, the central village park contains a reconstructed gazebo and war monuments. On the south edge of the village, stands a new brick Museum to house a comprehensive collection of paintings by colonist and self-taught artist, Olof Krans (1838-1916). Hours and days of operation change with the season. Please call to confirm your visit.
Sweet Annie Primitives
This historic building showcases warmth and spirit and is stocked with primitive favorites: cupboards and buckets featuring folk art, early country in old paint & original surface, barrels & quilts, tables and bowls. Peruse through garden accents, textiles, pottery, yellowware, treenware, handmades and dried everlastings to accent your home décor.
Central Illinois' most unique farm market. Wagon rides, playground, corn maze, farm animals, Apple Express train. Farm market filled with unique gifts, fresh produce and specialty foods such as jams, salsas, soups, etc. The large bakery provides an assortment of fresh baked goods and a great lunch on weekdays. Lunch served on weekends in September and October from The Old Market Eatery.
Andover Historical Museum & Grounds
This former home of August Rehnstrom was a temporary haven for Swedish immigrants in the 1860s. The lawn features the bell from the area's first two-story school and millstones from the historic Edwards River Mill.
Windmont Park, a 20-acre site on the city’s southwest side, is one of the most attractive settings of any park in the Midwest. A lagoon is surrounded by a large variety of trees and shrubs, and the eye is drawn to an iron footbridge that crosses the lagoon. There’s also a sidewalk that circles the water. A fountain donated to the park by a group of citizens adds a finishing touch to the scene. Recently installed at Windmont were an disabled accessible fishing pier, a new shelter, playground equipment and wider sidewalks for walkers enjoying the jaunt around the lagoon.
Bishop Hill Prairie Arts Center
Enjoy watching the potter in an open air studio creating artwork on the potter's wheel. The center also features rug, broom, weaving and spinning artisans.
The Outsider Gallery is filled with whimsical, elegant, and functional items from regional artisans Steve and Marsha Carleson. Marsha makes handmade paper, 3-dimensional paper pieces, bowls, vases, bottle cap tables and other objects of whimsy. Steve makes glass ornaments, beads, and fused glass pieces with the occasional traditional Swedish tina boxes combined into the mixture.
Galesburg Railroad Museum
Museum celebrating the shared histories of Galesburg and the railroad. Tour a real steam locomotive. See the authentic railroad memorabilia. Great for kids and rail fans! Right next door to the Amtrak Depot.
The Feathered Nest at Windy Corner Farm
A delightful artist haven offering a mix of Victorian eggs, feathered masks and wreaths, floral arrangements and intimate miniature portrait silhouettes. Windy Corner Farms and The Feathered Nest gardens and studio are an experience soon to be a cherished memory.
Lake Storey Park
Enjoy this 411-acre park and 132-acre lake. Biking/running trails, beach/swimming boats, canoeing, fishing, lakes and rivers. Sight of the Heritage Days Festival, the Cardboard Boat Regatta, & the Great Balloon Race.
Bishop Hill Gallery Inn
Stay for a night, a weekend, or longer in the peaceful beauty of historic Bishop Hill. The Gallery Inn, located on the 2nd floor of the original 1856 Bishop Hill Colony Administration Building, offers three tranquil guest rooms, each with a queen bed and private bath, and a large shared sitting room overlooking the village park. It’s the perfect spot to enjoy Bishop Hill’s festivals and special events.
Christmas Market "Julmarknad"
The holiday festivities in Bishop Hill begin with Julmarknad, or Christmas Market. This event is based on Scandinavian customs dating back to the Middle Ages when farmers and artisans would gather in the village squares to sell their wares. Bishop Hill businesses will be offering unique gifts, handmade wares, antiques, quilts, collectibles, baked goods, delicious foods, and Swedish imports. Scandinavian foods such as herring, lutfisk, and rye bread are also in abundance. Select from a large array of delicious holiday cookies, homemade by community bakers on Friday and Saturday.
Henry County Courthouse
One of Illinois' finest examples of courthouse architecture, this stately structure was built in 1878. The main courtroom ceiling is decorated with murals depicting the principal communities of the county.
Good's European Bed & Breakfast Suites
If you’re traveling in Western Illinois, stop in at Good’s, then stay overnight in one of four European Bed & Breakfast Suites! Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast at the Rathskeller, and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Each room is tastefully appointed with furniture collections featured in Good’s American Furniture Showplace store.
Old Main at Knox College
This historical tour of Old Main at the Knox College campus includes stories about the Lincoln-Douglas debate held at Old Main, the sole remaining original site of the famed political debates.
Bishop Hill Arts Council
Return to the serenity of an earlier time with a visit to this restored Swedish village. See traditional craftsmen at work, explore our museums, visit our numerous and unique shops and dine in one of our Swedish-American restaurants.
Sunnyfield Greenhouse & Garden Center
Professional growers offering 1200 varieties of annuals, perennials, grasses, vegetables & vines. Heirloom tomatoes a specialty. Visit the expanded display gardens to gather ideas and shop a variety of unique gifts and planters for your garden. Landscape design and installation available. Open April 1 through October 31.
Indian Creek Vineyard
This unique winery includes a remodeled barn that serves as a wine shop and a bed and breakfast in a historic home overlooking the vineyard, all located on a sesquicentennial farm.
The Alexis Museum houses numerous fascinating displays that depict the early days of the community.
Jordbruksdagarna – Agriculture days
Celebrate Bishop Hill’s agrarian heritage, this event features traditional 19th century harvest activities and demonstrations, hands-on activities, music, farm produce, and Colony stew. Hours: 10am to 5pm.
Discovery Depot Children's Museum
Discovery Depot Children's Museum is a non-profit institution providing fun and educational programs for children and families. Interactive exhibits, programs, and collections will stimulate curiosity, promote discovery and encourage learning. Creative playground facilities outside for children too. Through these resources, visitors will gain a better understanding of our world.
Those Were the Days - Knox College
In this 1940s romantic comedy a middle-aged couple looks back on their college days and courtship. The movie was filmed at Knox College in Galesburg, the alma mater of writer George Fitch (a Saturday Evening Post staffer), whose novel inspired the film. The “Old Main” building at Knox College is the only remaining original site of the 1858 Lincoln-Douglas senatorial debates.