Showing 1-24 of 133 items
Located on historic Route 66, this was originally a pharmacy built in the 1880’s. The soda fountain was added to the business in the 1950’s. Stop in for an old-fashioned treat or ice-cream. Doc’s is also open for lunch and dinner.
This quirky must-see Route 66 attraction, information center and souvenir gift shop is home to rabbits of all kinds, bunny and VW, as well as Mother Road memorabilia.
The Pink Elephant Antique Mall has many hidden gems. Open daily 9:30 am - 5:30 pm.
Approximately 25 weekend sites and 200 permanent sites on the east side of Litchfield's Lake Lou Yaeger. Site offers trail hikes, lake frontage, 30 amp RV service, city water and convenience store.
They are a seventh-generation family-owned Jersey dairy farm in Greenville. They handcraft only the highest-quality artisan and farmstead cheeses. They are excited to bring our family's passion and tradition to your table! Bring your family to see all aspects of the farm from raising calves through milk, ice cream, butter and cheese production.
The Ariston Cafe was founded by Pete Adam, a Greek immigrant, in Carlinville, Illinois in 1924. The original cafe was located on Route 4, the predecessor of Historic Route 66. In 1929, the Cafe was relocated to Litchfield, Illinois and moved into its present location on Route 66 in 1935. Since 1966, Pete’s son Nick and wife, Deme, continue to offer the traditional service expected of a family-owned and operated restaurant. The cafe is believed to be one of the oldest restaurants on Route 66 and has been inducted into the Route 66 Hall of Fame and is placed on the National Registry of Historic Places.
There are four different cabins in various sizes to choose from and each one comes with a beautiful view of the lake. All the cabins have a screened in porch, a/c, full kitchen, 3/4 baths and an open floor plan.
The Livingston-Staunton Muffler Man, in his spiffy orange "Harley-Davidson" shirt, is located outside the Pink Elephant antique mall. He's clearly visible from I-55 now, but looks so tiny in the middle of a field with nothing for reference. You can see him and many other "Muffler Men" along the historic route.
Designed to reflect the Route 66 era, the museum houses exhibits which focus on the roles the railroads, Route 66, businesses, agriculture, and the military have played in Litchfield's history.
The Soulsby Service Station is a historic service station in Mount Olive, Illinois. The station is located along historic U.S. Route 66 and is the oldest usable service station on the highway in Illinois. It serves as an example of the house and canopy gas station design.
This 260-acre site offers nature trails for visitors to explore wetlands, prairie openings, and sandstone bluffs and ledges. The preserve is home to more than 700 plants and 70 bird species, including bald eagles during the winter months.
Overnight tent camping, overnight pull through spots and permanent camper sites. Call ahead -- space limited for overnight trailer sites.
A Buck or More offers flowers, gift baskets, parcels, party favors, supplies, and services.
Opened in 1990 to help raise money for the local hospital and nursing home, The Thrift Shop is filled with bargains, hard-to-find items, and new and used merchandise.
Lake Lou Yaeger, this 1400+ acre lake offers 45 miles of beautiful shoreline and several recreational opportunities. Visitors can enjoy boating, skiing, swimming, fishing, and camping. The 300 acre park has five picnic areas, two playgrounds, pavilions, grills, restrooms, and hiking trails. With miles of horse trails and a new equestrian campground with full hook-ups and shower house, Lake Lou is a great destination for horse enthusiasts. Milnot Beach has two diving platforms, showers, snack bar, and lifeguards on duty.
The Sky View Drive-In Theatre in Litchfield opened in the Spring of 1950 and has been in operation each season since then. We are a seasonal operation and run from the first or second weekend in April until the end of September. Open on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only.
Taste your way along this trail made up of unique wineries located in small towns throughout Southwest Illinois. Must-stops include Piasa Winery in Grafton, featuring live music on its riverside deck.
Looking for a challenging course? Look no further than Oak Leaf Golf Course. Situated on 40 rolling acres, Oak Leaf offers the best of golf for both beginners and pros. Established in 1924, Oak Leaf boasts a course featuring 2,236 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 32. The course has been rated at 60.6, and has a slope rating of 98 on Blue Grass. In addition to golf, the Club offers a well-stocked fishing pond, newly renovated clubhouse, and practice greens.
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is within driving distance to the University of Illinois at Springfield, Lincoln Land Community College, Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum, golf courses, and shopping areas. Guests will enjoy relaxing in the 10 acres of flowered gardens with gazebo and fish pond, an indoor pool, free wireless internet, local cuisine at the Captain’s Table Restaurant, refreshments at the Yacht Club Lounge, exercise facilities, meeting space is available, pets are welcome with additional charges and some restrictions. Rooms feature either one king bed or two double beds, patio, free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, air conditioning, free local calls, coffeemaker, hairdryer, microwave, mini-fridge, alarm clock, and iron and board. Poolside rooms may be available upon request for an additional charge.
This monument honors generations of soliders who sacrificed their lives for their country.
We raised cattle for 40 years. What would go with steak? A burgeoning industry was right under our noses and we began winemaking, the first and thus oldest winery in Montgomery County. Visits to wineries in Illinois in 2000, helped education, vineyard managers and winemakers giving valuable time and information. We refreshed old memories of chemistry, and planted grapes. Our children, friends and neighbors joined us in picking by hand, and are still with us since 2003. February 2, 2008, we opened. The winery was packed with those feisty individuals who came by the previous summers to see the building going up, only to be dragged, kicking and screaming, into the winery to taste the wines and give us an opinion. We listened. Now visitors walk the vineyards to compare the grapes with the wine in their glass. Wine tastings are offered without charge. We are open year-round Friday through Sunday. Both indoor and outdoor seating is available for over 200. Today, we produce 5000 gallons of wine from grapes, and we encourage wine education from both sides of the tasting room table. Come join us!