Showing 1-24 of 133 items
Farm, Fresh, Fun! Explore acres of pumpkins, a giant interactive adventure corn maze, farm-fresh produce, a petting zoo, craft barn, tree house and playground. Hayrack and pony rides, Mine for gems, ride the famous cow train. Special event weekends and concessions are also offered.U-pick pumpkins, interactive adventure corn maze and flashlight maze available in month of October. Ample parking and a nominal charge for activities.
Opening April 1, 2013, this Nicklaus Design championship golf course features fairways that wind through a hardwood forest in a scenic lakefront setting. The public is welcome to tee off at this Quad Cities-area course that offers challenges for golfers of all levels. Brush up your skills with a lesson from the professional teaching staff.
Four historically significant buildings are owned by the State of Illinois and are maintained as part of the Bishop Hill State Historic Site. These architectural treasures are the two-story Colony Church (1850), the three-story Colony Hotel (1852-ca. 1860), the Boys Dormitory (ca. 1850), and the Colony Barn (mid-1850s) that has been relocated behind the Hotel. In addition, the central village park contains a reconstructed gazebo and war monuments. On the south edge of the village, stands a new brick Museum to house a comprehensive collection of paintings by colonist and self-taught artist, Olof Krans (1838-1916). Hours and days of operation change with the season. Please call to confirm your visit.
This historic building showcases warmth and spirit and is stocked with primitive favorites: cupboards and buckets featuring folk art, early country in old paint & original surface, barrels & quilts, tables and bowls. Peruse through garden accents, textiles, pottery, yellowware, treenware, handmades and dried everlastings to accent your home décor.
This restored 1902 hotel features four sleeping rooms, kitchen, living room, and meeting rooms with free parking.
This former home of August Rehnstrom was a temporary haven for Swedish immigrants in the 1860s. The lawn features the bell from the area's first two-story school and millstones from the historic Edwards River Mill.
Enjoy watching the potter in an open air studio creating artwork on the potter's wheel. The center also features rug, broom, weaving and spinning artisans.
The Outsider Gallery is filled with whimsical, elegant, and functional items from regional artisans Steve and Marsha Carleson. Marsha makes handmade paper, 3-dimensional paper pieces, bowls, vases, bottle cap tables and other objects of whimsy. Steve makes glass ornaments, beads, and fused glass pieces with the occasional traditional Swedish tina boxes combined into the mixture.
Museum celebrating the shared histories of Galesburg and the railroad. Tour a real steam locomotive. See the authentic railroad memorabilia. Great for kids and rail fans! Right next door to the Amtrak Depot.
Enjoy this 411-acre park and 132-acre lake. Biking/running trails, beach/swimming boats, canoeing, fishing, lakes and rivers. Sight of the Heritage Days Festival, the Cardboard Boat Regatta, & the Great Balloon Race.
A delightful artist haven offering a mix of Victorian eggs, feathered masks and wreaths, floral arrangements and intimate miniature portrait silhouettes. Windy Corner Farms and The Feathered Nest gardens and studio are an experience soon to be a cherished memory.
Encompassing more than 3,000 acres along the Mississippi River, Big River State Forest is a remnant of woodland that once bordered the vast prairies. The 1-½ mile Lincoln Hiking Trail commemorates Abraham Lincoln's march through the area in 1832.
Hillcrest Resort and Event Center features a clubhouse with fireplace and large screen TV's. You will also enjoy the restaurant, sports club, swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and weekly entertainment. This camping and RV resort offers fishing for bass, blue gill, and catfish, hiking trails, children's swings, horseshoe pits, sand volleyball, bags, a beverage store, and wireless Internet at the clubhouse. Secluded from the highway, but only ten miles to Quad Cities Airport in Moline and six miles to Interstate 80 in a beautiful country setting. The Event Center offers seven events per season: Hillcrest Music Fest, Illinois BBQ Fest, American Country Music Fest, and Quad Cities Haunted Woods. The center is also the home of reality TV show, American Resort. Camping and RV reservations can be made online or by phone. For information on upcoming festivals at the event center visit www.hillcresteventcenter.com.
Stay for a night, a weekend, or longer in the peaceful beauty of historic Bishop Hill. The Gallery Inn, located on the 2nd floor of the original 1856 Bishop Hill Colony Administration Building, offers three tranquil guest rooms, each with a queen bed and private bath, and a large shared sitting room overlooking the village park. It’s the perfect spot to enjoy Bishop Hill’s festivals and special events.
Discovery Depot Children's Museum is a non-profit institution providing fun and educational programs for children and families. Interactive exhibits, programs, and collections will stimulate curiosity, promote discovery and encourage learning. Creative playground facilities outside for children too. Through these resources, visitors will gain a better understanding of our world.
This historical tour of Old Main at the Knox College campus includes stories about the Lincoln-Douglas debate held at Old Main, the sole remaining original site of the famed political debates.
The Alexis Museum houses numerous fascinating displays that depict the early days of the community.
Celebrate Bishop Hill’s agrarian heritage, this event features traditional 19th century harvest activities and demonstrations, hands-on activities, music, farm produce, and Colony stew. Hours: 10am to 5pm.
Step away from the everyday to the ultimate retreat. The Twinflower Inn features four suites and two guest rooms. Built as the original Colony Hospital in 1855, the inn is one of 10 original buildings lovingly restored in the village of Bishop Hill a national historic landmark. It's your home base for a weekend adventure to begin.
Return to the serenity of an earlier time with a visit to this restored Swedish village. See traditional craftsmen at work, explore our museums, visit our numerous and unique shops and dine in one of our Swedish-American restaurants.
In this 1940s romantic comedy a middle-aged couple looks back on their college days and courtship. The movie was filmed at Knox College in Galesburg, the alma mater of writer George Fitch (a Saturday Evening Post staffer), whose novel inspired the film. The “Old Main” building at Knox College is the only remaining original site of the 1858 Lincoln-Douglas senatorial debates.
The museum offers agricultural history exhibits and programs from the period 1820-1920 when horses were the man source of power for farming and transportation. With 6000 square feet of display area featuring eight interactive touchscreen kiosks with 80 video clips making Henderson county horse era come alive again. Over 50 equipment pieces are on exhibit.
Author-poet Carl Sandburg was born in the the three-room cottage at 331 E. Third Street in Galesburg on January 6, 1878. The modest house relfects the typcial living conditions of a late-nineteenth-century working-class family and features many furnishings that once belonged to the Sandburg family. Behind the home stands a small wooded park which features the Quotation Walk, a celebration of the Prairie Poet's work and words. It is in this tranquil setting that the ashes of Carl Sandburg and his wife Lilian were liad to rest beneath Remberance Rock.