Showing 1-24 of 164 items
Dating back to 1855, and built from hand-hewn oak and walnut beams cut from woods along the nearby Fox River, this structure holds the unique distinction of being Kendall County’s oldest church building. With it’s “New England-style” charm, 1899 pipe organ, and original stained glass windows, the Chapel on the Green is one of the most architecturally and historically significant structures in the county. Nestled in the heart of the city’s north side, the Chapel on the Green is located one block west of Route 47 (Bridge Street) at the northeast corner of Church and Center Streets, adjacent to the historic Town Square Park.
Victorian Italianate structure opened in 1964 that towers proudly over the Fox River and the City of Yorkville. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Olde Courthouse Gallery graces the main hall with shows featuring the work of artists from Kendall County and beyond. Laws of Nature exhibit focuses on the natural resources of the county. Tours available.
One of only seven in the world and the only one in North America, the Baha'i House of Worship is the largest and oldest surviving Baha'i Temple. Standing on the shores of Lake Michigan, the auditorium, with its walls of lace-like ornamentation and its dome rising 135 feet above the main floor, offers a scene of unsurpassed beauty. It is surrounded by exquisite gardens and fountains. This imposing and dramatic structure has received numerous design awards, and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The opulent Cuneo Museum and Gardens, located on 75 acres and dotted with formal gardens and statuary was the perfect setting for the wedding scenes in "My Best Friend's Wedding." The gazebo where the best friends were caught kissing was built specifically for the film, but Cuneo's owners liked it so much they decided to keep it permanently. Take a guided tour through the historic Mediterranean-style Cuneo mansion to see Renaissance artworks and lavish European furnishings.
Nestled among fragrant pines and sumptuous flower gardens stands the Chapel in the Pines, a charming Victorian-style country church.
Unique, historic, elegant venue located in the former Masonic Temple in downtown Streator. Available for weddings, receptions, or any special occasion. Tours by appointment.
Designed by R. Harold Zook and D. Coder Taylor, 1940 Arte Modern building is constructed with black granite base, white Georgian marble, and 84 feet tower with stained glass windows, pierced grillwork, and diamond shaped translucent top.
One of the best-preserved examples of famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright’s Prairie design, this 35-room mansion contains some 100 pieces of original Wright-designed furniture and stunning art glass. Open 7 days a week.
Built in 1903, the auditorium is the largest building of its kind anywhere in the world, and is included on the National Register of Historic Places. Above the stage are Grecian statues designed by Robert Root.
Built in 1878 and restored in 1986, the Opera House today provides performing arts from classical to country, dance, student recitals, summer theatre workshops and children/senior citizen series. A new Elizabeth Holdeman visual art gallery now graces entrance hall.
A four-floor large museum located in a former stone mill, including items from the area and a room dedicated to Native America artifacts. A 24' long mural depicts the different eras of Indians and a buffalo hide nearby showing life of an Indian tribe. Built in 1859 as a steam-run flour mill named Sandwich Steam Mill. Open Sundays 1-4 pm from April to October. Tours by appointment.
The area's oldest outdoor summer theatre with four musical productions in June and July. Starlight's home, the Bengt Sjostrom Theatre, features more than a thousand seats, a stunningly artistic and creative retractable roof, new seating and an improved stage. Starlight Theatre has been named one of Illinois' 150 Great Places by the American Institute of Architects, Illinois Council. This prestigious award is given to places that have been identified by leading architects as contributing to their communities' quality of life.
Frank Lloyd Wright’s Laurent House in Rockford, Illinois is the only building ever designed by the famed architect for a person with a disability. Kenneth and Phyllis Laurent commissioned and lived in the home from 1952 until early 2012, when it was acquired by a private foundation and added to the National Register of Historic Places. This single-story Usonian home is both functional and beautiful, decades ahead of ADA accessibility requirements. The home features a solar hemicycle footprint, patio, fishpond, carport, and outdoor connectivity to the natural landscape. The modest home is built of Chicago Common Brick and Red Tidewater Cypress and much of the labor and materials were sourced locally from Rockford. - Reservations are required for all tours of the Laurent House. - Tours will be hosted the first full weekend (Saturday and Sunday in the same month) and the third weekend of each month. - All tours begin on a shuttle bus at Midway Village, 6799 Guilford Rd., Rockford, IL, after checking-in at the Guest Relations table, in the Midway Village Museum lobby. - Please arrive at Midway Village 15 minutes prior to your tour. - The bus leaves on the hour, at 11 a.m., 12 p.m., 1 p.m., 2 p.m., and 3 p.m. each day that tours operate. - There are no restrooms or parking available at the Laurent House. During the winter and early spring months, small private and large group tours are encouraged to tour the Laurent House. For private tours of fewer than 10 guests there is an additional charge. Regardless of size, all special tours are arranged by calling 815-877-2952, or by emailing email@example.com. We welcome the opportunity to assist guests with disabilities at the Laurent House. For assistance and information on accessibility call 815-877-2952, or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Barn at Allen Acres Wedding and Reception Venue sits on 3 and 1/2 acres just on the edge of town in Rock Falls IL. The property is surrounded by a cornfield and offers a serene tranquil destination for your wedding and reception. The property is less than a 5 minute drive to restaurants and hotels. The Dairy Barn was built in the 1920's and restored in 2011. It boasts a beautiful 26 foot vaulted ceiling in the upstairs haymow with some of its original architecture still intact. During the process of the restoration, reclaimed barn wood and reclaimed hardware were used whenever possible, maintaining the rustic feel of the Barn. We've added a 5 foot wide set of stairs leading to the upstairs space and a small deck with stairs, off of the back of the Barn, giving the bride a dramatic entrance down the aisle and to the alter. The upstairs haymow has a capacity of 150 people for a wedding ceremony. The downstairs area, where the dairy cows were kept, in the early years of the barn, also has a capacity for 150 people.
Take a walk through Riverside's history by spending the afternoon with the Frederick Law Olmsted Society, your guide to learning more about the village's unique community and landscape design. Riverside was designed in 1869 by famous landscape architects Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux.
First stop of the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trusts' River Forest Walking Tour.
Villa Kathrine is a unique example of Mediterranean architecture in the Midwest. Located on the bluffs of the Mississippi, Villa Kathrine houses Quincy's tourist information center.
Master architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created the ultimate minimalist masterpiece, the Farnsworth House, in pastoral Plano. The stellar structure of floor-to-ceiling glass seemingly "floats" above the rambling Fox River. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2015! Moonlight Tours: Experience Farnsworth House as the sun sets in the west. Evening tours are back by popular demand, occurring one Friday and Saturday a month from May to October. Tours begin at dusk. For more information and to book this exclusive tour, see our Moonlight Tours page of their web site.
Surveyed by Abraham Lincoln in 1836, the Petersburg Historic District is included on the National Register of Historic Places and has many outstanding examples of architectural styles.
As you drive by this farm, your eye is drawn upward to a towering brick structure located near the modern home. The structure, erected around 1913, is one of a dozen brick water towers still standing in Illinois.
Stop by the Visitors Center for an audio walking tour, maps, books, souvenirs and unique gifts. Tickets are available for Hemingway's Birthplace Home and Museum, Frank Lloyd Wright's Unity Temple, Historic Pleasant Home and the Historical Society of Oak Park & River Forest.
Scoville Square was designed by E.E. Robers, and is one of the few examples of Prairie-style architecture applied to commercial buildings.
This landmark structure in suburban Oak Park served as Wright's private residence and studio from 1889 to 1909—the first 20 years of his career. Wright used his home as an architectural laboratory, trying out design concepts before sharing them with clients. With 25 Wright-designed buildings in the neighborhood surrounding the Home & Studio, Oak Park is an outdoor museum of architecture.
Guided and self-guided tours of historical district containing the greatest concentration of Wright-designed structures. A virtual outdoor museum of architectural history in America.