Showing 1-24 of 63 items
One of the last remaining markers erected in 1922 marks the 8th Judicial Circuit on which Abraham Lincoln practiced law.
Has electronic audio narrated dioramas that depict Abe the railsplitter, the self-taught scholar, the story teller, the lawyer and the politician.
State fish and wildlife area with Class C camping facilities.
This library is located in the town's old jailhouse, and still features the original cells. Feel free to take a book and curl up in your favorite cell.
Brushy Ridge Motosports has over 20 miles of trails just for motorcycles and quads. Some hills at our site will test even the most skilled riders. We also have a nice riding area for novice and young riders. We offer riders two different tracks as well. Riders like our trails as we offer rock, sand and mud surfaces. Overnight camping is allowed. We ask that everyone sign in at the gate. Please see our website for fees.
The centerpiece of Clayville is the Broadwell Inn, the oldest brick building in Sangamon County, built in 1824 by the Broadwell family as a stage coach stop between Springfield and Beardstown. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is surrounded by numerous other historic buildings from Central Illinois moved to Clayville in the 1960s to recreate an early frontier pioneer village. Come see a unique piece of Illinois history.
Pioneer artisan and craftsman demonstration, historic building tours, kids activities, craft vendors, with food and refreshments. Enjoy period music and audience participation entertainment throughout the weekend in an 1820's pioneer village.
18-Hole, 6414 yard, par 72 public golf course. Front nine opened July 4, 1993; Back nine added July 4, 2002. Bentgrass greens, bluegrass/rye mix fairways, tees, and rough. Banquet facility to accommodate up to 110 guests and clubhouse seating for up to 200. Full service pro shop fully stocked with golf clubs, balls, equipment, clothing, towels, hats, and shoes. Practice facilities include drivingvrange with three target greens, chipping and putting green, practice bunker.
This beautiful 18-hole course is situated on rolling elevations, with fast and true greens. Crane Creek also has a clubhouse, driving range, food service and a bar.
Crazy Horse is a 55-acre campground blanketed with rolling hills, hiking trails through wooded land, and two large ponds for fishing, boating, and a swimming beach. A lodge for rest and relaxation and a playground for the little ones makes this campground a great place to get away for the season or the weekend! Check out our wide, level sites with full hook-ups as well as our primitive camping area. Call 217-886-2089 or stop by and see us. We're located 8 miles north of Jacksonville and 25 miles west of Springfield, and we're happy to show you around!!
The premier on-site archaeological museum, located 45 miles southwest of Peoria, interprets the 12,000 year history of American Indian cultures in Illinois through artifacts, interpretive exhibits, major multi-image productions, hands-on activities and a variety of public events in a rural setting.
This museum honors American poet Edgar Lee Masters, author of "The Spoon River Anthology." Memorabilia of his life and works are displayed in the house where he lived as a young boy.
Nestled in the historic Robins building, on the square in Petersburg Illinois, Estep & Associates have spent 20 years bringing the past to life. Filling the former dry-goods store is everything from "Antiques to Yuletide". Among the aisles of this quaint step back in time you'll find big items, small items, personal mementos and commercial oddities. With more than a dozen additional dealers showcased, Bill & Betty guarantee an encounter not to be missed as you stroll through rustic heirlooms, collectibles, antiquities, craft projects and unlimited possibilities for discovery. Overlooking the Menard county courthouse, there's a real sense of yesteryear awaiting your adventure. Come explore our treasures and enjoy the rich texture of the town Abraham Lincoln, while living in nearby New Salem, surveyed as a young man.
Peaceful country setting on 35 acres with open grassy or wooded sites. Large open and enclosed pavilions available for parties and reunions.
Four Willows Golf Course has been owned by Rodger Tucker for 20 years. It is a nine hole course that is great for beginners to those that golf regularly.
Find scotch and white pine, douglas and fraser fir trees, along with wreaths and farm-raised whole sausage.
Twelve sites with electricity and water available year-'round for nightly, weekly, and monthly camping. Close to footbridge. Complimentary firewood. One shelter.
Good American food featuring chicken, steaks, fish, burgers and cookie chops. Serving breakfast Monday through Saturday.
Hill Prairie Winery is nestled in the Sangamon River Valley outside of Oakford IL. near New Salem State Park where Abraham Lincoln settled in Illinois as a young man. Hill Prairie is owned and operated by the Lounsberry Family and is complete with a vineyard and beautiful views of restored Illinois Prairie. It has become a destination for festivals, weekly live music, dinner theartes, weddings and private events. The venue is usually booked a year in advance. Hill Prairie produces and bottles a wide selection of wines from dry to sweet and all in between. The tasting room and banquet facility are housed in a renovated turn of the century barn that celebrated one hundred years in 2011. There is outdoor seating under a pergola attached to the tasting room and a separate pavilion that can hold up to three hundred guests, all with a perfect view of the vineyard, prairie grasses and ponds. In short Hill Prairie is a place to relax, sit back and enjoy the views, have some fine wine or come at a time when we offer to entertain you.
The Historic Marbold Farmstead is a treasured jewel in Menard County, Illinois. This was the central hub of the Marbold family farmland holdings, which consisted of over 4,000 acres. It was virtually self-sufficient, with several barns, dairy, chicken house, smoke house, ice house, boiler house and pump house. The original house, called Elmwood, was build in 1850 by John Marbold, a German immigrant and prominent Greenview farmer and businessman. Restoration efforts are underway. Located at 21722 State Hwy. 29 near Greenview.