Showing 1-96 of 149 items
The Colonel Davenport House, located on Arsenal Island, is the oldest residence in the Quad Cities. Guided tours of this furnished home will reveal interesting facts about Quad Cities' history, and the tragic ending for Colonel Davenport. Open May through October on Thursday through Sunday from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m.
The first space in Chicago dedicated solely to the art of poetry, the Poetry Foundation building realizes Harriet Monroe’s dream, set out in her very first editorial, that Poetry magazine would help poets pursue their art, increase public interest in poetry, and raise poetry’s profile in our culture. It also is Poetry’s first permanent home in its 100-year history. Designed by the Chicago firm John Ronan Architects, the building helps the Foundation to carry out its mission: to discover and celebrate the best poetry and place it before the largest possible audience. The facility includes a 30,000-volume poetry library, an exhibition gallery, a performance space for the Foundation's extensive roster of public events and the Poetry Foundation's programming offices, including those of Poetry magazine.
The David Adler Music and Arts Center is dedicated to promoting music and the arts as an integral part of everyday life. Its year-round activities are designed to foster critical thinking and interpretation, participation, entertainment, and achievement in music and the arts for the people of Northern Illinois. The David Adler Music and Arts Center maintains and interprets the historic home of architect David Adler, which is the base of its activities, and a visual image of the harmony between music, the arts and daily life.
The Dotty Event Center with catering by the Annex is Located in the center of downtown Herrin between Baldwin Piano and Organ Center and the Annex Coffee & Deli, Dotty Event Center is the perfect spot for your next reception, meeting or party! Call for information or availability! Amy Scutt at the Annex 618-942-3354 (DELI), or Tara Howell, Events Center coordinator at 618-727-4025. Thanks!!
The Fred G. Harrison Annex at the Carterville Community Center is a large banquet facility that offers the renter options such as using a full kitchen or just renting one half of the banquet hall. Special events such as bridal showers, baby showers, and children's birthday parties, reunions and other events can be held here.
The Fine & Performing Arts Center (FPAC) presents quality cultural programs and popular entertainment in the 600-seat Dorothy Menker Theater, 150-seat Oremus Theater and the Robert F DeCaprio art gallery.
Culture Stock is a social venture that operates as a hub for cultural activities and community programs while serving as a used book and media re-seller. Culture Stock, located in the heart of Downtown Aurora, offers up-and-coming musicians, poets and other artists a place to display their talents. Stop in for a taste of Aurora's culture, read a good book in a cozy corner, listen to a new performer or join a language circle. Kids have events at Culture Stock too. Check their Facebook page for a Downtown Aurora cultural experience update today!
Come discover Calumet City's fascinating heritage and history.
This historic Italianate home is a learning center for art and music, showcasing exhibits of local and regional artists. The gallery shop has ceramics and fine gifts.
World class music, dance and theatre. Enjoy an evening out, entertainment for the family, or a chance to satisfy your cravings for culture.
The Paderewski and Kosciuszko memorial rooms, folk art, photos and documents all tell the fascinating history of the Polish immigration to America and Chicago, where the largest Polish population outside of Warsaw resides.
AACGS promotes and provides resources and education on the history of the African American. Embracing all cultures, it offers (in part), genealogy workshops, museum displays, storytelling, essay & poetry contests and the promotion of Cultural Arts. Three main annual community events sponsored are Black History Month, Juneteenth National Freedom Day, and Kwanzaa Celebration
This 1905 Neo-Classical building features a stained glass dome, the longest-serving courtroom in Illinois, a mosaic of the state seal, a statue of Abraham Lincoln and murals of Logan County.
This 50-acre forest preserve houses the Philip B. Elfstrom Stadium (home of the Kane County Cougars minor league baseball team), the Roberta Campbell Cultural & Conference Center (used for art exhibits and community activities) and a picnic/park area.
This memorial in Valley View Cemetery honors Edward Coles, the second governor of Illinois (1822-1826). A former slaveowner from Virginia, Coles became an abolitionist and won the 1822 gubernatorial election as the candidate of anti-slavery forces.
Focusing on the art, history and culture of the American Indian. Permanent exhibits are dedicated to the Native cultures of the Woodlands, Plains, Southwest, Northwest Coast and Arctic regions of North America. Each gallery contains a “touching table” where visitors can handle real examples of Indian artifacts, as well as feel the raw materials—including snakeskin, caribou fur, birch bark, turquoise and buffalo skin—that were used by native Americans. Temporary exhibits showcase emerging and established contemporary Native artists. Lectures and performances throughout the year provide a venue for multicultural education.
The Macoupin County Courthouse, built in 1870, used to be the largest county courthouse in the United States, with the possible exception of one in New York City. It was even larger than the Illinois Statehouse. While the courthouse still serves as the seat of county government, it has also become a showplace that attracts tourists, architects and artists from across the country, as well as overseas.
A bronze statue of Ronald Reagan, astride the likeness of a palomino horse he rode nearly 60 years ago, sits at the head of the Heritage Crossing Riverfront Plaza located on River Street in downtown Dixon. The statue, created by local artist Don Reed, serves as the centerpiece of Heritage Crossing, an open-air plaza that looks out onto the Rock River.
The Winnetka Community House enriches the lives of the North Shore residents, their families, visitors and friends by providing diverse educational, cultural, social and recreational opportunities for people of all ages.
The National Shrine of St. Therese is a Roman Catholic shrine, chapel, and museum dedicated to St. Therese of Lisieux. The Shrine is home to the most wonderful collection of relics, personal effects and memorabilia of Therese outside of France. The Shrine chapel celebrates Mass every weekday at 11:30 am. Tours are available for groups of 20 or more, including a private tour of an exact replica of St. Therese's monastery cell in France. The shrine sits peacefully on a 50-acre estate owned and operated by the Carmelites of the Most Pure Heart of Mary. Adjacent to the Shrine is the Carmelite Spiritual Center, offering meeting room rental, lodging, meals and spiritual retreats as well as organized Shrine tours.
A Victorian town square, complete with bandstand and gazebo, is the setting for many unique shops, eateries, antiques stores and art galleries. The square is home to many events, and was the film site for the hit movie Groundhog Day.
This historical courthouse, built in 1872 for $155,000 and still in use today, features its original stone, brick and walnut detail.
The first burial at Woodlawn Cemetery was that of a Union Soldier in 1861. The plot is the resting place for over 80 Civil War Soldiers. An interpretive sign provides history of the plot and a listing of the soldiers buried there. Also located here are Civil War era cannons. Several others buried outside of the Civil War Soldiers plot were contemporaries of Abraham Lincoln.
Lyons school is the host to the Glenview Art Fair that showcases over 110 jewelers, printmakers, stain and fused glass artists, representational and abstract artists, photographers, potters, ceramists and more.
A marker commemorates the point where two important trails intersected on the prairie: Detroit to St. Louis and Peoria to Terre Haute. In 1765, the British and the Illinois Indians signed a peace treaty here.
Home of the Elgin Symphony Orchestra, this facility contains a 1200-seat theatre and an 11,340 square foot exhibition hall with fully equipped banquet kitchen. Host to many well-known artists.
Franklin Creek Grist Mill, 1893 Twist Road off Old Mill Road, Franklin Grove. Covered wagon tours. Interpretive Center.
The Genealogical Society is a research resource where you can find history on your family background, microfilm and microfiche, and books. The Society will also research your family for a donation.
Built in 1889 as City Hall, the Woodstock Opera House has long been one of the top performing arts centers in the Midwest. Its illustrious history also includes a cameo in Groundhog Day.
A state of the art history museum dedicated to collecting and sharing the history of the greater Grayslake area. The Grayslake Heritage Center offers programs, exhibitions and special events all year round and includes two galleries, a community room and classroom.
Wonderful place to shop for Chinese gifts. You'll find something that will please any age. Don't forget to stop by bakery stores for some delicious Chinese baked goods.
Compare pioneer and Victorian lifestyles when you visit the log cabin and brick Italianate home. An exhibition gallery in an adjacent building features rotating exhibits of the historical society's collection.
Home of the Skokie Art Guild and Devonshire Playhouse, the Cultural Center offers children's and adult theater, as well as visual and performing arts.
The historic 1869 Macoupin County Jail was designed by E.E. Meyers. It was built using the "cannon ball" method which prevented jail breaks by making it nearly impossible to remove the blocks. This unique medieval-inspired fortress housed many lawbreakers during its 119 years of use, but only one prisoner escaped. He was soon apprehended a few blocks from the jail.
Downtown Charleston includes a historic courthouse and many historic homes listed on both the Coles County Register for Significant Places and the National Register of Historic Places.
Jane Addams, born and raised in Cedarville, was an internationally famous humanitarian and social work pioneer who founded Hull House and won the Nobel Peace Prize. She is buried in this lovely old hillside cemetery.
The Irish American Heritage Center provides community events, a historic museum, musical programs, an Irish history library and a place for Irish Chicagoans to gather to celebrate their heritage.
The Joiner History Room is a cooperative effort of the DeKalb County Board, the County Judiciary, the County Clerk’s Office, the County Facilities Management Office, Sycamore Library and DeKalb County Citizens concerned with safeguarding their historical documents. The Joiner History Room is an archives that has many items of museum quality. Our historical materials date back to the hand written minutes of the first session of the County Commissioners in 1837. As there has never been a fire to destroy any of the county valuable historical files, they have been meticulously preserved to meet the needs of today’s researchers. The collection includes Civil War papers, newspaper files, old photographs and numerous boxes of manuscript materials.
The Skokie Valley Symphony Orchestra features local and national musical talents, and perfoms four concerts each year.
This chapel, once a Catholic church, was purchased by the Best family who now offers it for weddings. Built in the 1870s, the chapel has its original 14-foot stained glass windows that complement the 33-foot cathedral ceiling.
The Asa Crook Home is the first frame house built in 1839 by Whiteside County's first settler. The restored home is open for tours.
Incorporated in 1964, the Will County Historical Society exists to connect people and organizations to the county's rich history. The Society's museum is housed in the original headquarters of the I&M Canal. Built in 1837, the structure played a central role in the design, financing, and construction of the Canal and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972. Changing exhibits highlight the history of Will County and the Canal. The Society's extensive collection includes significant county and canal-related records, including maps, plats, land records, obituaries, photographs, newspapers, receipts, and correspondence.
See the majestic Coles County courthouse and discover historic murals in Charleston's Courthouse Square.
On the Mississippi River in an old 12-acre quarry is where you will find a restored and furnished mid-1800s settlement. Paths through the wooded hillsides lead from one home site to another.
This cultural center is a restored train station in the heart of Evanston. Home of the Piccolo Theatre and Custer’s Last Stand Festival which takes place each June.
Most recognized for the production of the Chicago Latino Film Festival, ILCC has screened more than 900 films and videos, including many award-winners that otherwise would have never been shown in Chicago.
The Noyes Cultural Arts Center is host to 30 resident artists, and shows eight exhibitions a year at the Noyes Gallery, with a special commitment to the work of emerging artists.
Rotating exhibits of St. Charles history, including Civil War artifacts, local industry and other fascinating facts. Local history research archives available by appointment. Gift shop too.
Built in 1878 and restored in 1986, the Opera House today provides performing arts from classical to country, dance, student recitals, summer theatre workshops and children/senior citizen series. A new Elizabeth Holdeman visual art gallery now graces entrance hall.
After the Civil War, Confederate shipbuilder Joe Minch was looking for a fresh start. He made his way back to the Rockbridge area and traded his building expertise for a set of tools. That first project of building a barn set into motion a new trend in barn design. Joe placed round windows, now know as portholes, in the barn. Travel through Greene County today to view the highest concentration of Porthole Barns in the country.
The Windmill Cultural Center houses an extensive collection of 21 European windmills representing ten European countries. Interpretive exhibits provide unique information on the products produced by windmills, country of origin, windmill specifications, and the cultural impact of windmills. The Education Area features video presentations of the windmill countries and an education area contains children's activities including coloring, puzzles, and toys promoting scientific concepts. The gift shop sells fresh stone-ground flour, Delft pottery, and souvenirs of Fulton, the Windmill Cultural Center and the windmill.
In 1977, the Kishwaukee Valley Heritage Society was formed to bring together area people who had an interest in local and regional history and its preservation.
The Historic District includes the Macoupin County Jail, Million Dollar Courthouse, and the largest collection of Sears & Roebuck mail-order homes in the U.S.
Check out this pioneer cabin that gives a glimpse of Illinois' earliest settlers' way of life on the frontier. It is located in a majestic park setting along the Kankakee River.
Dating back to 1855, the chapel is Kendall County's oldest church building, adorned with stained glass windows and a restored 1899 pipe organ. The adjacent hall houses local artifacts, including photographs and clothing.
Special events, shows and auctions are held at this convention center that features a large dance floor and antique Art Deco bar.
View the burial site of Abraham Lincoln's tutor in the Old City Cemetery.
Covering history from Quashquema to present, visitors will see items of Dr. John Weld, pioneer physician. Rooms of this Greek revival style home circa 1837 feature artifacts covering Nauvoo's long rich history. A 900-piece arrow-head collection, a river history display, pioneer artifacts, copies of Joseph and Hyrum's death masks, 1895 wedding garments, old Nauvoo business artifacts and photos spanning over 100 years of Nauvoo history on display.
Musicals, comedies and mysteries are performed August-May at this civic center located in Byron High School.
Originally called the Mount Airy School, the Little Red Schoolhouse was moved to its present location in 1983. This 1850's school house has been restored and contains period memorabilia and artifacts. (Circa 1853). Open by appointment only.
Blacksmithing, as well as artistic and functional iron work, is performed in this smithy that was erected in 1928.
This historic train depot features a preserved facade and a renovated interior that houses specialty shops.
Built in 1893, this historic masonry courthouse sits at the center of town and serves as the hub of activity for the entire county. The courthouse is currently listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Tours of the courthouse are available for groups with reservations. Hours: Monday - Thursday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Friday, 8 a.m. to noon
Visit this log home village from the early 1800s, including a blacksmith shop, church and schoolhouse.
Created by Colonel and Mrs. George Fabyan, who lived on the 600-acre estate from 1905 to the 1930s, the estate includes a restored villa with diverse collections, a Japanese garden and a Dutch windmill.
Mennonite museum, archives, historical and genealogical library, farm museum, restored barn, and grandfather house. Surrounded by native Illinois trees, prairie grasses, and flowers. Please call for a guided tour.
The Bedford Park Heritage Corridor Visitor Center is full of information and literature of exciting things to do and see throughout the Heritage Corridor. The Visitor Center provides National Heritage Corridor promotional literature and I&M Canal related resources to the public. It is operated by the Civic Center Authority in partnership with Heritage Corridor Convention and Visitors Bureau and the Village of Willow Springs. The Center is staffed by volunteers recruited and managed by the Civic Center Authority. Open Saturday 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM and Sunday 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM.
Rammelkamp Chapel is the home of religious life on campus as well as the site for various events ranging from weekly chapel services, mass, convocations, concerts and ceremonies.
The traditional Victorian home belonged to Matthew T. Scott, a well-known agriculturalist, and his wife Julia Green, one of the founders of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
Abe Lincoln often stayed at Deskin's Tavern when he traveled to Postville. A well where he is said to have quenched his thirst is also located on this site.
Built in 1896, the 100-foot-tall tower is believed to be one of only three in Illinois of similar construction, and has become the symbol of the Village of Lena.
DuPage County, Chicago’s Western Suburbs - Housed in historic Turner Town Hall (National Register site), the museum features community history exhibits and a research collection including local history and railroad materials. The Kid Zone Gallery offers changing hands-on displays for all ages.
The first brick home built in Polo is now a tourist information center and home of the local Convention and Visitors Bureau.
This local history research archives houses historic photos, books, documents and maps covering Aurora's history from the 1830s to the present. Open by appointment only.
Winner of the Broadway in Chicago 2013 Emerging Theater Award and named Chicago Magazine's Best Emerging Theater of 2013, 16th Street Theater presents award-winning new plays at affordable prices. A nationally-recognized professional Equity theater, 16th Street is a program of the North Berwyn Park District and operates year round out of the Berwyn Cultural Center just 9 miles west of downtown Chicago. Come engage with us!
The historic Peterson House is a part of Peterson Park in Mattoon, and houses the Mattoon Chamber of Commerce. This beautiful building is rich in architectural history and is an key part of Mattoon's cultural story.
The genealogical and historical society encourages the preservation of Logan County's history and maintains a research center that treasures and collects Logan County family histories. They're the only research center that includes ALL of Logan County. Their research resources include historical books, maps, obituaries, cemetery records, marriages, births, family surname genealogy and more! Stop by for a visit to see the artifacts, old photographs, museum pieces, veteran's exhibit, as well as the new "Abraham Lincoln Room."
In 1779 George Rogers Clark led his army from Kaskaskia through this area to Vincennes, Indiana, where they captured Ft. Sackville from the British. At the time, this building was named for being near the midpoint of the Vincennes-St. Louis Trail.
The memorials here are a tribute to veterans of the Vietnam War, Korean War, Gulf War and World War II. The war memorials are the only ones built in the U.S. by youth, constructed by Boy Scouts of Troop 312 Rochelle as Eagle Projects.
Native American Art Gallery. Movies and music performed to enrich the public on Native American culture.
The museum offers agricultural history exhibits and programs from the period 1820-1920 when horses were the man source of power for farming and transportation. With 6000 square feet of display area featuring eight interactive touchscreen kiosks with 80 video clips making Henderson county horse era come alive again. Over 50 equipment pieces are on exhibit.
This monument honors generations of soliders who sacrificed their lives for their country.
Return to the serenity of an earlier time with a visit to this restored Swedish village. See traditional craftsmen at work, explore our museums, visit our numerous and unique shops and dine in one of our Swedish-American restaurants.
The warm, welcoming and slightly funky Madden Arts Center is a richly renovated hub where the Decatur Area Arts Council makes its home. The building houses galleries, classrooms, an art shop, photo lab and rehearsal spaces. The Anne Lloyd Gallery showcases local exhibits as well as extraordinary traveling collections. The gallery spotlights an International Arts Experience exhibition over an 8-week period each summer. Participating in the downtown Decatur “art walks” the gallery holds a “First Friday” reception on the first Friday evening of each month, showcasing a different artist or artistic medium each time.
Fine Line Creative Arts Center is a nonprofit educational art school that offers classes for adults in a wide range of fine arts, as well as workshops taught by guest artists from around the world. Two galleries are included on the Fine Line campus, where local, national and international artists' works are featured year-round. Special events are hosted by Fine Line throughout the year, including Fine Line Arts Festival, Uncommon Threads, and Christmastime at the Fine Line Show & Sale.
The Golden Windmill was built in 1872, and is the only smock mill that still has its original stones and gears in place. Today it is home to the Windmill Museum and gift shop.
1828 Stagecoach Inn -- Abe Lincoln stayed here as he was campaigning. White County artifacts also on display.
This bronze statue was originally dedicated in 1931 to commemorate Lincoln's "Fool the People" speech.
Located within the John A. Logan Community College, this 316 seat theater is host to many collegiate and community performances.
This Lower Mississippi-style house was built in the early 1800s, and has been completely restored to reflect life during this period.
CITY:Prairie du Rocher
This unique artwork is one of only a handful of sculptured tributes to the African American Civil War soldier in the entire United States. Commissioned by the City of Decatur, the work was designed and created by renowned artist, Preston Jackson. Jackson created several concepts for the statue and allowed the citizens of Decatur to vote to select the final design.
Hyde Park Hair Salon, originally Joe’s Barbershop, was founded in 1927 by young entrepreneur Joe Taylor. The salon began as an entrance to the Hyde Park Theatre but was soon sectioned off and transformed into a unique neighborhood barbershop. Years later, Joe’s Barbershop was sold to a new owner, the name of the shop was later changed, becoming Hyde Park Hair Salon. In 2007, the Hyde Park Theatre building was sold to the University of Chicago. The entire building was vacated which caused Hyde Park Hair Salon to relocate to its current location on Blackstone. The overall atmosphere combined with a trendy service menu has maintained a loyal and successful clientele during the past 83 years including celebrities Spike Lee, Phil Gates, Devon Hester, Bill Veeck, Suge Knight, Muhammad Ali, Harold Washington, and President Barack Obama, a patron of more than 17 years. President Barack Obama’s recent election caused a spike in the number of tourists visiting the barbershop.
Visit the James J. Eldred House, completed in 1861, and step back in time to view one of the most elegant residential structures in the region and an important surviving example of Greek Revival architecture. The home had fallen into disrepair over the years, but with the creation of The Illinois Valley Cultural Heritage Association, the Eldred House has come back to life and is being painstakingly restored. The home is open for tours during the annual Greene County Days celebration.