Showing 97-142 of 142 items
Mt. Carroll Walking Tour
Take a self-guided walking tour through Mt. Carroll's historic district, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
CITY: Mount Carroll
Fabyan Dutch Windmill
Located on the Fox River, the 68-foot-tall Dutch Windmill was built by two German craftsmen and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Old Jail and Old School House
See the local Historical Society's authentic preservation of an 1800s school and town jail. Tours by appointment.
River Forest Methodist Church
First stop of the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trusts' River Forest Walking Tour.
CITY: River Forest
Pere Marquette Historic Site
This historical marker honors Father Pere Marquette.
Civic Opera House
The world-renowned Lyric Opera of Chicago performs in one of North America's most beautiful opera houses, the Civic Opera House. The decorative character of the entire building is a hybrid of Art Nouveau and Art Deco styles. Comedy-tragedy masks and cornucopia of instruments abound as playful ornaments around entrances, inspired by the Paris Opera House designed by Jean-Louis-Charles Garnier. The famous painted fire curtain (depicting the parade scene from Aida) and the interior decoration details of the Civic Opera House were created by American artist Jules Guerin in a palette of salmon pinks, roses, olives, golds and bronzes.
John Wood Mansion, Log Cabin & Parsonage
The John Wood Mansion is the restored home of Quincy's founder and the 12th governor of Illinois. The 1835 Pioneer Log Cabin is preserved authentically, and the Parsonage displays items depicting the history of Adams County.
Levere Memorial Temple
Home of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity headquarters, this beautiful Gothic building features stained glass windows by Louis Comfort Tiffany.
The Windmill was built in 1896 to supply water for the Oughton estate and grounds, which later became home of the Keeley Institute, an alcohol rehab center.
The entire 150-year-old German settlement is on the National Historic Register. Restoration includes a church from 1867, a one-lane stone arched bridge, Corner George Inn, general store, sweet shops, museum, and a visitor's center.
Battle of Virden Monument
The 1898 Battle of Virden, the tragic result of local coal miners fighting for worker’s rights, is memorialized on the northeast side town square by a large bronze mural created by sculptor David Seagraves of Elizabeth, IL.
Evanston Historical Center
Housed in the gracious historic mansion of former U.S Vice President Charles Gates Dawes, this stunning chateau overlooks Lake Michigan. Visitors and history buffs explore this National Historic Landmark appreciating its original furnishings and artwork. The home features exhibits focusing on the history of Evanston.
William Jennings Bryan Museum
This 160-year old home has three rooms of original furniture, pictures and personal items once owned by politician William Jennings Bryan.
French Heritage Museum at the Stone Barn
Here you can explore the French involvement in the history of the Kankakee River Valley-the first explorers and missionaries; the coureurs de bois and fur traders and the pioneer settlers from France, French Canada, and Belgium.
This nine-ton cannon, used in WW II, the Korean War and the Vietnam War, stands alongside Veterans Parkway in honor of the men and women who have served in the Armed Forces.
The Gaylord Building
A landmark in Lockport and along the I&M Canal since 1838, The Gaylord Building connects visitors to America's forgotten Canal Era. Come tour the site and enjoy fine dining in the Public Landing Restaurant. Then stroll or bike ride along the scenic canal trail or explore Lockport's National Register Historic District. Monday - Saturday 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM and Sunday 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Special group tours by appointment. The Gaylord Building is a historic site of the National Trust for Historic Preservation (www.preservationnation.org). The Gaylord Building played a vital role in one of the great enterprises of the 19th century: the Illinois & Michigan Canal. In this handsome limestone warehouse visitors will discover exhibitions illustrating the unique heritage of the site and the Canal Corridor. A landmark in Lockport and along the I&M Canal since 1838, The Gaylord Building connects visitors to America's forgotten Canal Era. Come tour the site and enjoy fine dining in the Public Landing Restaurant. Then stroll or bike ride along the scenic canal trail or explore Lockport's National Register Historic District. Special group tours by appointment. The Gaylord building is a historic site of the National Trust for Historic Preservation (www.preservationnation.org). Monday - Saturday 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM and Sunday 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM.
Chicago Water Works Visitor Information Center
Plan to visit this information center in the Historic Water Tower building and receive brochures featuring attractions and special events. Friendly information representatives will answer your questions and assist in planning an itinerary.
Joseph F. Glidden Homestead
Joseph Farwell Glidden's invention of one of the most widely-used types of barbed wire in 1873 helped change the history of the American West and had far-reaching impact throughout the world. His Homestead, a Victorian Mansion, in DeKalb, IL, is being preserved and restored by a not-for-profit organization founded in 1995. Both the home and the barn are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. We welcome your visit and encourage your membership!
A nicely renovated space (opened in early 1996 and converted from a 1912 nickelodeon), this comfortable theater offers excellent sight lines and adequate acoustics. The Mercury is located in Chicago’s vibrant Southport Corridor, the stretch of Southport Avenue between Belmont to the south and Irving Park Road to the north. A popular neighborhood for shopping and nightlife, the Corridor is home to a diverse range of restaurants, cozy pubs, and eclectic boutiques. Neighboring Wrigleyville is home to Chicago’s most popular sports bars, and of course, Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs.
Home of the Chicago Tribune newspaper offices, this Gothic-Revival landmark features flying buttresses and gargoyles This is a result of New York architects John Mead Howells and Raymond M. Hood's design that was chosen as a winner out of 263 entries from twenty-three countries during an international architectural competition to immodestly "erect the most beautiful building in the world" in 1922.
The Varsity Center for the Arts
What started as a single-screen movie house in 1940 has become a power house for live music and community theater. This gorgeous theater is one of the greatest components to Carbondale's thriving art & culture scene, as it serves as home to the Jackson County Stage Company, which presents several plays during the year, and hosts the weekly Friday Night Film series. The Varsity serves as a venue for live entertainment during the Carbondale Rocks Revival, an annual city-wide music festival in addition to accommodating local and regional musicians during the year to bring the city exceptional entertainment.
Vandalia, Illinois is where Abraham Lincoln began his historical political career and his life and achievements are commemorated on the marker.
Warren County Historical Museum
This museum features four floors of county-wide historical items and displays.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this chapel was built in 1918 with a donation from former Marion mayor Leroy Goddard. It is still used for weddings and other events, this chapel is one of the beautiful historic places to see in Williamson County.
Stone Coal Log Cabin Village
Original log buildings in this educational village are from Illinois' early prairie years.
Built in 1903, the auditorium is the largest building of its kind anywhere in the world, and is included on the National Register of Historic Places. Above the stage are Grecian statues designed by Robert Root.
Constructed in 1857 as the southern division of the Illinois State Supreme Court, Abraham Lincoln successfully argued a famous tax case in 1859. In 1888, Clara Barton used the building as a hospital. Tours are available. Please call in advance.
CITY: Mount Vernon
University of Illinois Champaign Urbana
The University of Illinois is a world leader in research, teaching and public engagement. It's distinguished by the breadth of their programs, broad academic excellence and internationally renowned faculty. This Big Ten school offers rich experiences beyond the classroom from the best in performing arts to world-class sports. Discover the scenic campus through tours of the historic buildings and those that are pushing the envelope in technology.
Bethel One Room Schoolhouse
An icon of days past, this one-room schoolhouse has been restored by the Emden Historical Society.
Norwegian Settlers Memorial
This memorial commemorates the 1834 settlement at Norway, the first permanent Norwegian settlement in the Midwest. The monument was dedicated as part of a 1934 centennial celebration.
Tutty Baker Monument
This monument honors William "Tutty" Baker, the founder of Freeport. Tutty came to this area, which was home to the Winnebago Indians, in 1835 and built a trading post along the banks of the Pecatonica River, offering travelers free ferry rides.
Village of Elsah
Travel back in time with us to the Village of Elsah. The entire village of Elsah is on the National Registry of Historic Places. This village, with a population of around one hundred people, is often referred to as the "village where time stood still." Visitors to Elsah can escape back to the Americana of the early 1800s with quiet streets and 19th century stone homes. This “picture perfect” village nestled in the valley is a perfect place for photographers – amateur and professional – anxious to capture a glimpse of the past.
This traditional one-story French Creole residence, built circa 1790, is considered to be one of the oldest surviving residences in Illinois.
CITY: East Carondelet
Elgin Area Historical Society & Museum
Experience the history of Elgin, from the Elgin Watch Factory to the first settlers. Everyone will walk out with a better understanding off Elgin's history.
Winnetka Community House
The Winnetka Community House enriches the lives of the North Shore residents, their families, visitors and friends by providing diverse educational, cultural, social and recreational opportunities for people of all ages.
Coal Miners Memorial
In the late eighteen hundreds there were many thriving communities that were totally dependent on area coal mines. Now there is a Memorial to honor all miners. Dedicated on October 14th, 2000, the Coal Miners Memorial is a tribute to all Southern Illinois coal miners of the past century. The inscription at the base of the statue reads, “In memory of coal miners who gave so much that future generations may benefit with a better life. They labored, served their country, sacrificed for their families and some lost their lives. We honor and salute them so that they will never be forgotten.”
Vin Fiz Landing
The historic flight of the Vin Fiz was the first air crossing over the United States. A marker located at the Dunlap House indicates the spot where the small airplane landed in Middletown on October 9,1911.
Phoenix Opera House
This restored 1882 opera house, now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is home to Pandora's Playhouse community theater.
Chapel in the Pines
Nestled among fragrant pines and sumptuous flower gardens stands the Chapel in the Pines, a charming Victorian-style country church.
The Heart Theatre is located across the street from the Effingham County Courthouse. The theatre is one of the two examples in Effingham of the Art Deco style that was popular from 1920 to 1940.
Mile Marker Historical Monument
This stone identifies one of the last original road markers that dotted the first road built from Vincennes to Chicago.
Comedian Brian Regan
Brian Regan has distinguished himself as one of the premier comedians in the country. Brian’s non-stop theater tour has visited more than 80 cities each year since 2005 and continues through 2014. It is the quality of his material, relatable to a wide audience and revered by his peers, which continues to grow Brian’s fan base. The perfect balance of sophisticated writing and physicality, Brian Regan consistently fills theaters nationwide with fervent fans that span generations.
Mattoon Welcome Center & Historic Railroad Depot
Mattoon Tourism & Arts Welcome Center is located in the historic Illinois Central Railroad Train Depot, which also still serves as the Amtrak Station for the Community. The original Railroad Depot was constructed in 1918 by the Illinois Central Railroad, and it was then remodeled in 2011. The Depot is still an active Amtrak Station with 3,000 passengers boarding and un-boarding per month. The welcome center offers a host of information: state-of-the-art schools & colleges, a growing economy, beautiful parks, lakes and sports amenities round out the more favorable quality of life found in Mattoon.
Glen Rowan House
The Glen Rowan House is the perfect setting for weddings, social parties, private, and corporate events. An estate on Chicago’s North Shore designed by renowned architect Howard Van Doren Shaw, this significant landmark is named for its impressive rowan oak trees and is a part of the Lake Forest College campus.
CITY: Lake Forest
Pleasant Home, also known as the John Farson House, is a landmark Prairie Style house museum located in the heart of Oak Park! It is a national architectural treasure, designed in 1897 by prominent Prairie Style architect George W. Maher for investment banker and philanthropist John W. Farson. The home is one of the earliest and most distinguished examples of Prairie School architecture and is the finest surviving example of Maher's work.
CITY: Oak Park
The Barn at Allen Acres Wedding and Reception Venue
The Barn at Allen Acres Wedding and Reception Venue sits on 3 and 1/2 acres just on the edge of town in Rock Falls IL. The property is surrounded by a cornfield and offers a serene tranquil destination for your wedding and reception. The property is less than a 5 minute drive to restaurants and hotels. The Dairy Barn was built in the 1920's and restored in 2011. It boasts a beautiful 26 foot vaulted ceiling in the upstairs haymow with some of its original architecture still intact. During the process of the restoration, reclaimed barn wood and reclaimed hardware were used whenever possible, maintaining the rustic feel of the Barn. We've added a 5 foot wide set of stairs leading to the upstairs space and a small deck with stairs, off of the back of the Barn, giving the bride a dramatic entrance down the aisle and to the alter. The upstairs haymow has a capacity of 150 people for a wedding ceremony. The downstairs area, where the dairy cows were kept, in the early years of the barn, also has a capacity for 150 people.
CITY: Rock Falls