The land was owned by one of Nauvoo’s first land owners, Joseph B.Teas. He purchased the property in 1827. Those who owned the land through the years include Ethan Kimball (brother of Hiram Kimball and cousin of Heber C. Kimball), Peter Fullmer, and Pulaski Cahoon (son of Reynold Cahoon).A prominent early Nauvoo resident, Adam Swartz soon aquired the property, and it was during his period of ownership that the current building was constructed. The building was constructed prior to 1860 by Michael Baumert (who also constructed the Stone Arch Bridge in Nauvoo).
Much of the building was constructed with Nauvoo Temple stone. One fragment of a star stone is still visible on the exterior.Emma Smith played organ here, and attended with her children.The church building was sold in 1925 to the American Legion, who held it until 1998 when it was sold to the Nauvoo Faith Heritage Society. In 2001 the building began its next phase, serving as a quilt shop, woodworking shop, and was even used as a costume workshop for the LDS film “Legacy”. It has now been thoroughly renovated, and serves as an elegant vacation home for those visiting Nauvoo, and looking for an historic experience, with all the modern luxuries.